Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Aarghhh

Saturday, October 13, 2018

The Seven Forges Novels

The Seven Forges Novels

“Moore has created a brilliantly realised world here; his characters continue to get better with each book. It’s still exciting, it’s still fresh, and brilliantly vivid. Fantasy does not get much better than this.”
– Morpheus Tales

All four volumes of the extraordinary, and vivid Seven Forges series: epic fantasy to devastate your world. The whole brutal saga of Seven Forges, The Blasted Lands, City of Wonders and The Silent Army.

Collects the complete Seven Forges series: Seven Forges, The Blasted Lands, City of Wonders and The Silent Army.

The people of Fellein have lived with legends for many centuries. To their far north, the Blasted Lands, a legacy of an ancient time of cataclysm, are vast, desolate and impassable, but that doesn’t stop the occasional expedition into their fringes in search of any trace of the ancients who once lived there… and oft-rumoured riches.

Warriors from the hard-pressed land of Fellein go in search of the mythical people of the Blasted Lands – and are startled not only to find them, but that they were expected.

The emperor of Fellein is dead, and the newly-appointed commander may be the only one capable of keeping Fellein from annihilation, as former allies become a deadly threat. But out in the Blasted Lands, a more terrifying enemy emerges.

Open war rages between the kingdom of Fellein and the Sa’ba Taalor. Refugees seek safety and the leaders on both sides pursue their agendas while ancient forces take notice of the conflict and stir from their slumber.

The City of Wonders has been saved by nearly miraculous forces and the Silent Army is risen, ready to defend the Fellein Empire and Empress Nachia at any cost from The Great Wave of the Sa’ba Taalor.

JAMES A. MOORE is the best-selling and award winning author of over forty novels, thrillers, dark fantasy and horror alike, including the critically acclaimed Fireworks, Under The Overtree, Blood Red, the Serenity Falls trilogy (featuring his recurring anti-hero, Jonathan Crowley) and his most recent novels, The Tides of War series (The Last Sacrifice, Fallen Gods and the forthcoming Gates of the Dead). In addition to writing multiple short stories, he has also edited, with Christopher Golden and Tim Lebbon, the British Invasion anthology for Cemetery Dance Publications. The author cut his teeth in the industry writing for Marvel Comics and authoring over twenty role-playing supplements for White Wolf Games. Moore’s first short story collection, Slices, sold out before ever seeing print. Along with Golden and Jonathan Maberry he is co-host of the Three Guys With beards podcast. More information about the author can be found at his website: jamesamoorebooks.com.

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Time’s Children by D B Jackson


Time’s Children by D B Jackson


A time traveller trapped in a violent past must protect the orphaned child of a murdered sovereign, and find a way back to his own time in this astonishing epic fantasy novel.

Fifteen year-old Tobias Doljan, a Walker trained to travel through time, is called to serve at the court of Daerjen. The sovereign, Mearlan IV, wants him to Walk back fourteen years, to prevent a devastating war which will destroy all of Islevale. Even though the journey will double Tobias’ age, he agrees. But he arrives to discover Mearlan has already been assassinated, and his court destroyed. The only survivor is the infant princess, Sofya. Still a boy inside his newly adult body, Tobias must find a way to protect the princess from assassins, and build himself a future… in the past.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

A Breach in the Heavens by N S Dolkart


A Breach in the Heavens
by N S Dolkartvens by N S Dolkart

Wizards war against gods to save the world, in the electrifying conclusion to the Godserfs epic fantasy series.

The End Times have arrived. For over a decade, the sorceress Phaedra has had a single, vital task: to keep the world of the elves separated from humanity’s. But when her world experiences its first skyquake, it’s clear that something is very wrong. Has all Phaedra’s work been for nothing? She’ll need a new plan – and her friends’ help – to keep the worlds from smashing into each other and shredding all of creation. Unfortunately, not everyone likes the new plan. To the God of the Underworld, destroying creation doesn’t seem like such a bad idea…

Monday, October 8, 2018

Friday, October 5, 2018

Happy Anniversary...


After being married for 45 years, I took a careful look at my wife one day and said, "Forty-five years ago we had a cheap house, a junk car, slept on a sofa-bed and watched a 10-inch black and white TV. But hey I got to sleep every night with a hot 26-year-old girl.

Now ... I have a $1,000,000 home, a $45,000 car, a nice big bed and a large screen TV, but I'm sleeping with a 70-year-old woman. So I said to my wife "it seems to me that you're not holding up your side of things." My wife is a very reasonable woman. She told me to go out and find a hot 26-year-old girl and she would make sure that I would once again be living in a cheap house, driving a junk car, sleeping on a sofa bed and watching a 10-inch black and white TV.

Aren't older women great? They really know how to solve an old guy's problems!

Thursday, October 4, 2018


Ever Wonder

 Ever Wonder ... Only in This Stupid World ......do drugstores make the sick walk all the way to the back of the Store to get their prescriptions while healthy people can buy cigarettes at the front

 Ever Wonder ... Only in this stupid world do people order double cheeseburgers, large fries, and a diet coke.

 Ever Wonder ... Only in this stupid world do banks leave vault doors open and then chain the pens to the counters..

 Ever Wonder ... Only in this stupid world do we leave cars worth thousands of dollars in the driveway and put our useless junk in the garage.

 Ever Wonder ... Only in this stupid world do we buy hot dogs in packages of ten and buns in Packages of eight..

 Ever Wonder ... Only in this stupid world do they have drive-up ATM machines with Braille lettering.

 Ever Wonder ... Why the sun lightens our hair, but darkens our skin?

 Ever Wonder ... Why don't you ever see the headline 'Psychic Wins Lottery'?

 Ever Wonder ... Why is 'abbreviated' such a long word?

 Ever Wonder ... Why is it that doctors call what they do 'practice'?

 Ever Wonder ... Why is lemon juice made with artificial flavor, and dishwashing liquid made with real lemons?

 Ever Wonder ... Why is the man who invests all your money called a broker?

 Ever Wonder ... Why is the time of day with the slowest traffic called rush hour?

 Ever Wonder ... Why isn't there mouse-flavored cat food?

 Ever Wonder ... Why didn't Noah swat those two mosquitoes?

 Ever Wonder ... Why do they sterilize the needle for lethal injections?

 Ever Wonder ... You know that indestructible black box that is used on airplanes? Why don't they make the whole plane out of that stuff?!

 Ever Wonder ... Why don't sheep shrink when it rains?

 Ever Wonder ... Why are they called apartments when they are all stuck together?

 Ever Wonder ... If con is the opposite of pro, is Congress the opposite of progress?

 Ever Wonder ... If flying is so safe, why do they call the airport the terminal?

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

15 Things to think about


15 things to think about.

1. If 4 out of 5 people SUFFER from diarrhea...does that mean that one out of five enjoys it?

2. Why do croutons come in airtight packages? Aren't they just stale bread to begin with?

3. If people from Poland are called Poles, then why aren't people from Holland called Holes?

4. If a pig loses its voice, is it disgruntled?

5. Why is a person who plays the piano called a pianist, but a person who drives a race car is not called a racist?

6. If it's true that we are here to help others, then what exactly are the others here for?

7. If lawyers are disbarred and clergymen defrocked, then doesn't it follow that electricians can be delighted, musicians
denoted, cowboys deranged, models deposed, tree surgeons debarked, and dry cleaners depressed?

8. Do Lipton Tea employees take 'coffee breaks?'

9. What hair color do they put on the driver's licenses of bald men?

10. I thought about how mothers feed their babies with tiny little spoons and forks, so I wondered what do Chinese
mothers use, Toothpicks?

11. Why do they put pictures of criminals up in the Post Office? What are we supposed to do, write to them? Why
don't they just put their pictures on the postage stamps so the mailmen can look for them while they deliver the mail?

12. Is it true that you never really learn to swear until you learn to drive?

13. Why isn’t tossing and turning all night considered exercise?

14. If a cow laughed, would milk come out of her nose?

15. Whatever happened to Preparations A through G?

Sunday, September 30, 2018

Jefferson Airplane co-founder Marty Balin dead at 76


Marty Balin, the co-founder of Jefferson Airplane and the band’s lead singer and guitarist, has died at age 76.

Billboard confirmed Balin’s death, although the cause is not clear. He died Thursday.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Review of Pain Management Services in Veterans Health Administration Facilities


Review of Pain Management Services in Veterans Health Administration Facilities
09/16/2018 08:00 PM EDT

The VA Office of Inspector General (OIG) conducted a healthcare inspection at the request of several members of Congress to assess pain management practices including opioid prescribing and the treatment of substance abuse at Veterans Health Administration (VHA) medical facilities. The OIG found that pain management services were offered at most VA medical facilities, and nearly all facilities offered substance abuse treatment using either methadone or Suboxone®. While the OIG was able to characterize the distribution of pain specialists and pain clinics in VHA, a staffing standard was not identified that would allow determination as to whether this pattern of staffing sufficed to meet demand for pain services. Of the more than 5.7 million VA patients (non-hospice/palliative care) with at least one clinical encounter in fiscal year 2015, the OIG found that 16.7 percent were dispensed opioids. The OIG observed that 93.9 percent of this population had been diagnosed with pain or mental health issues and 56.7 percent of patients with both. The OIG assessed the frequency of higher-risk groups including those veterans prescribed opioid doses greater than 200 morphine equivalents per day or those prescribed both opioids and benzodiazepines. The OIG also examined other practices that reduce the risk of opioid prescribing including the frequency of urine drug testing, use of non-opioid pain treatments such as psychosocial and integrative health, and substance abuse treatment. The OIG made 10 recommendations to the VHA Executive in Charge related to state prescription drug monitoring programs, the number of patients on chronic opioid therapy on a primary care provider’s panel, pain management specialists, pain assessment tools, complementary and integrative health services, urine drug testing, concurrent use of benzodiazepines and opioids, and medication reconciliation.

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Earthling Publications Newsletter

Earthling Publications Newsletter


Halloween Series book 2018...and 2019


Many of you have been asking about our annual Halloween Series book for this October. As I posted on Facebook a few weeks back, there won't be one this year, I'm sorry to say. Schedules for all involved parties just didn't synch up...first time in 14 years. I sincerely appreciate all the emails that have come in asking about the book, and I apologize for any disappointment. I am saddened too.

But...you can look forward to one next October....and why not reveal it now, a novel for which the contract was just finalized. James A. Moore will return to the town of Blackstone Bay one final time, in the third novel in the Blood Red trilogy: BLOODLINES. Jim recently told me that it will be "a final showdown between Jason Soulis and the town of Blackstone Bay, this time with the promise that one of the arch vampires will fall and never rise again. The detectives will be back, of course, and the secret reason for Jason Soulis's visiting the town repeatedly will be revealed. Let's call it a secret history written in sin." I, for one, am counting the days until Jim turns in the manuscript!


GLIMPSES finally at the printer!


A decade in the works and the deluxe edition of GLIMPSES is finally at the printer. (Seriously. Proofs are on their way to me as I type this.) The dustjacket is below. At this point, given there are several other less expensive editions folks can choose from, I've dropped the price of this limited edition hardcover from $85 to $75 and the print run from 250 to 100 copies. No slipcase. Signed by the author, with page ribbon marker, nice endsheets, etc. Foreword by Iain Matthews. A brilliant and comprehensive introduction by Richie Unterberger, award-winning rock music journalist, that is nearly 7000 words in length! With period pictures, one of which has never been published before (of Hendrix). Small print run. If you love this book, this is the edition you must have!


Earthling to publish NOTHING TO DEVOUR

Glen Hirshberg's latest and final novel in the Motherless Child series, NOTHING TO DEVOUR, just received a Starred Review in Publisher's Weekly (the first two books did as well) -- congrats, Glen! They say:

"It's quite a feat to write a vampire novel without ever once invoking the V-word, but Hirshberg does so with consummate skill in this wrenching third Motherless Children horror novel. His novel is a dramatic tour de force that compels reader sympathy for mortals and monsters alike."

We will be publishing a deluxe version of this book, with similar design details and cover art by Vincent Chong, early next year. There will also be an optional/separate special slipcase to hold all 3 books. More about this project in the coming months!

Thanks and all best,
Paul Miller, Publisher
Earthling Publications

Thursday, September 6, 2018

BURT REYNOLDS HAS DIED


Burt Reynolds, whose blend of machismo and wise-guy playfulness helped him become a Hollywood action star in the 1970s, dies at 82

Monday, September 3, 2018

The Dreaming Stars by Tim Pratt



The Dreaming Stars by Tim Pratt

The crew of the White Raven returns to save the galaxy, in this brilliant space opera sequel to The Wrong Stars

Ancient aliens, the Axiom, will kill us all – when they wake up. In deep space, a swarm of nanoparticles threatens the colonies, transforming everything it meets into computronium – including the colonists. The crew of the White Raven investigate, and discover an Axiom facility filled with aliens hibernating while their minds roam a vast virtual reality. The treacherous Sebastien wakes up, claiming his altered brain architecture can help the crew deactivate the swarm – from inside the Axiom simulation. To protect humanity, beleaguered Captain Callie Machedo must trust him, but if Sebastien still plans to dominate the universe using Axiom tech, they could be in a whole lot of trouble.

Available September 4 from Angry Robot Books

Sunday, September 2, 2018

Daughters of Forgotten Light by Sean Grigsby



Daughters of Forgotten Light by Sean Grigsby

A floating prison is home to Earth’s unwanted people, where they are forgotten… but not yet dead, in this wild science fiction adventure.

Deep space penal colony Oubliette, population: scum. Lena “Horror” Horowitz leads the Daughters of Forgotten Light, one of three vicious gangs fighting for survival on Oubliette. Their fragile truce is shaken when a new shipment arrives from Earth carrying a fresh batch of prisoners and supplies to squabble over. But the delivery includes two new surprises: a drone, and a baby. Earth Senator Linda Dolfuse wants evidence of the bloodthirsty gangs to justify the government finally eradicating the wasters dumped on Oubliette. There’s only one problem: the baby in the drone’s video may be hers.

Available September 4 from Angry Robot Books

Saturday, September 1, 2018

Hidden Sun by Jaine Fenn



Hidden Sun by Jaine Fenn

An eccentric noblewoman scientist’s journey into a strange new land will change her world forever, in this enthralling fantasy novel.

Rhia Harlyn is a noble in Shen, one of the dozens of shadowlands which separate the bright, alien skyland. She has a missing brother, an unwanted marriage proposal and an interest in science considered unbecoming in her gender. Her brother’s disappearance coincided with a violent unsolved murder, and Rhia impulsively joins the search party headed into the skyland – a place whose dangers and wonders have long enthralled her. The dangerous journey brings her into conflict with a young rebel stuck between the worlds of shadow and light, and a charismatic cult leader who believes he can defeat death itself.

Available September 4 from Angry Robot Books

Sunday, August 26, 2018

Bubba and the Cosmic Bloodsuckers by Joe Lansdale


Bubba and the Cosmic Bloodsuckers by Joe Lansdale, Subterranean Press $40-signed limited edition, $250-lettered edition, reviewed by Jim Brock.

Before there was BUBBA-HO-TEP there was a little fracas between Bubba and an outfit of Cosmic Blood-Suckers. Only the mind of Joe Lansdale could create "hive-minded, shape-shifting, vampire-like creatures from a dark dimension who have taken up residence in a New Orleans junkyard."

If you visualize as you read (as I do), I tell you it would take some serious stretches of the imagination to picture the action in this book. That is part of the genius of Lansdale that he can take us on such wild journeys in multiple genres and please us so vividly in each of them.

Joe Lansdale need bow to no one in coining a phrase. He generally does more in one page than many authors do in several chapters. Being a son of the south and a devoted reader, I love each and every one of them. Elvis' team against the Blood-Suckers is led by Colonel Tom Parker, a strategist named Jack, Elvis; right hand man Johnny (who also chronicles things), a descendant of John Henry (the steel driving man), a blind man with exceptional and valuable sight, and a female recruit and new pop star named Jenny (stage named Raven).

Done correctly this could be one hell of a movie. It already is one hell of a book. Since it was written by Joe R. Lansdale it couldn't be any less than fantastic.

Thursday, August 23, 2018

Ed King Passes


Ed King, retired guitarist of Lynyrd Skynyrd has passed. He was 68. Besides being a master guitarist, he was the co-writer of SWEET HOME ALABAMA. It and FREE BIRD are probably the two most popular songs that have made the legend that is SKYNYRD.

Rest easy and say "Hello" to Ronnie and Steve for me.

Monday, August 20, 2018

NOHO GLOAMING... POEMS BY DANIEL KNAUF

From the creator of Carnivàle and writer/executive producer of Blacklist, comes a poetry collection from a cult icon. Daniel Knauf brings the darkness and surrealism fans have grown to love, but brings a vulnerability and intimacy that makes each poem memorable and enjoyable. It is noir with heart and a coda for the soul. Darkness and light vying for dominance in poems that go from personal and confessional to rambunctiously fantastical. A heady dive into the abyss of love and other monsters. Daniel Knauf is a true storyteller.


"Written as a soul song for longing, Knauf's collection is both a dream and an awakening." -Stephanie M. Wytovich, Bram Stoker award-winning author of Brothel.

"In Daniel Knauf's two-part composition of poetry, the first passage is a kaleidoscope of the landlocked in endless roles, trying to believe in true love/magic while submerged in self-destruction & redemption. The coda is more than curious, it's an adrenaline rush, a noir dance of the impossible, delivered straight-up in a splintered glass." --Linda D. Addison, award-winning author of "How to Recognize a Demon Has Become Your Friend" and HWA Lifetime Achievement Award winner.

Knauf's poetry is cinematic, creating vast landscapes and scenes, on bridges, between land and sky. The multitude of characters create a rich, nonlinear story that mimics our memories, and our moments, and intertwines various worlds and moods, from all-consuming love, loneliness, superheroes, mythology, texting, technology, and Dante. Knauf is both direct and strangely surreal." -Joanna C. Valente, author of Marys of the Sea, Sexting Ghosts, and the editor of A Shadow Map: Writing by Survivors of Sexual Assault

aVAILABLE FROM aMAZON.COM

Sunday, August 12, 2018

Implanted by Lauren C Teffeau


Implanted by Lauren C Teffeau

The data stored in her blood can save a city on the brink… or destroy it, in this gripping cyberpunk thriller

When college student Emery Driscoll is blackmailed into being a courier for a clandestine organisation, she’s cut off from the neural implant community which binds the domed city of New Worth together. Her new masters exploit her rare condition which allows her to carry encoded data in her blood, and train her to transport secrets throughout the troubled city. New Worth is on the brink of Emergence – freedom from the dome – but not everyone wants to leave. Then a data drop goes bad, and Emery is caught between factions: those who want her blood, and those who just want her dead.

Forthcoming from Angry Robot Books

Saturday, August 11, 2018

FEROCIOUS by Paula Stokes

In Ferocious, Paula Stokes returns to the world of Vicarious in this sequel, a high-action psychological thriller with a protagonist out for vengeance.

When Winter Kim finds out that her sister is dead and that she has a brother she never knew about, only two things matter—finding what’s left of her family and killing the man who destroyed her life. Her mission leads her from St. Louis to Los Angeles back to South Korea, where she grew up.

Things get increasingly dangerous once Winter arrives in Seoul. Aided by her friends Jesse and Sebastian, Winter attempts to infiltrate an international corporation to get close to her target, a nefarious businessman named Kyung. But keeping her last remaining loved ones out of the line of fire proves difficult, and when all seems to be lost, Winter must face one last devastating decision: is revenge worth sacrificing everything for? Or can she find a spark of hope in the darkness that threatens to engulf her?

“A total mind-bending thrill ride with a heroine that's as smart as she is strong.”—Lindsay Cummings, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Murder Complex

“A powerful, kick-ass girl caught up in a high-tech, twisty mystery. But buckle up! This thrill ride travels at breakneck speed.”—Justine Magazine

“Reading Vicarious is like tiptoeing across a field of landmines. Blindfolded. In other words, I loved this book!”—Victoria Scott, author of Titans


PAULA STOKES grew up in St. Louis, Missouri, where she studied psychology and nursing. In between pursuing her degrees, she spent a year teaching English in Seoul, South Korea. Stokes is the author of several novels, including Liars, Inc. She currently lives in Portland, Oregon.

On Sale August 28, 2018 from Tor Teen. 9780765380975. $9.99 USD.


Friday, August 10, 2018

ENHANCED by Carrie Jones

Carrie Jones, the New York Times bestselling author of Flying, presents another science fiction adventure of cheerleader-turned-alien-hunter Mana in Enhanced.

Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but her work isn’t done yet. Her mother may be out of alien hands, but she’s in a coma, unable to tell anyone what she knows.

Mana is ready to take action. The only problem? Nobody will let her. Lyle, her best friend and almost-boyfriend (for a minute there, anyway), seems to want nothing to do with hunting aliens, despite his love of Doctor Who. Bestie Seppie is so desperate to stay out of it, she’s actually leaving town. And her mom’s hot but arrogant alien-hunting partner, China, is ignoring Mana's texts, cutting her out of the mission entirely.

They all know the alien threat won't stay quiet for long. It’s up to Mana to fight her way back in.

“Witty dialogue and flawless action.”—VOYA

“YA readers, you’re in for a treat this week. Hilarious and action-packed, this novel is sure to be the perfect summer read.”—Bookish


CARRIE JONES is the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of the Need series, as well as After Obsession with Steven E. Wedel. She is a distinguished alum of Vermont College's MFA Program and a volunteer firefighter in Maine.

On Sale August 28, 2018 from Tor Teen. 9780765336606. $9.99 USD

Thursday, August 9, 2018

Invisible Planets, Chinese Science Fiction

Invisible Planets, edited by multi award-winning writer Ken Liu--translator of the bestselling and Hugo Award-winning novel The Three Body Problem by acclaimed Chinese author Cixin Liu--is his second thought-provoking anthology of Chinese short speculative fiction. Invisible Planets is a groundbreaking anthology of Chinese short speculative fiction.

The thirteen stories in this collection, including two by Cixin Liu and the Hugo and Sturgeon award-nominated “Folding Beijing” by Hao Jingfang, add up to a strong and diverse representation of Chinese SF. Some have won awards, some have garnered serious critical acclaim, some have been selected for Year’s Best anthologies, and some are simply Ken Liu’s personal favorites.

To round out the collection, there are several essays from Chinese scholars and authors, plus an illuminating introduction by Ken Liu. Anyone with an interest in international science fiction will find Invisible Planets an indispensable addition to their collection.

"These stories, along with the rest of the anthology, represent the best in both science fiction and works in translation, detailing situations that appear alien on the surface but deftly reframe contemporary issues to give readers a new view of familiar human experiences.A phenomenal anthology of short speculative fiction." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Greatly varied in theme and approach, all of these stories impress with their visionary sweep and scope...superb compilation." —Publishers Weekly, starred review


KEN LIU (translator) is a writer, lawyer, and computer programmer. His short story "The Paper Menagerie" was the first work of fiction ever to sweep the Nebula, Hugo, and World Fantasy Awards.

On sale August 21, 2018, from Tor Books. 9780765384201. $16.99 USD.

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

A New Civil War Novel

The fifth historical novel of New York Times bestselling author Ralph Peters's breathtaking, Boyd Award-winning Civil War series

Written with the literary flair and historical accuracy readers expect from Ralph Peters, Judgment at Appomattox takes readers through the Civil War’s last grim interludes of combat as flags fall and hearts break.

A great war nears its end. Robert E. Lee makes a desperate, dramatic gamble that fails. Richmond falls. Each day brings new combat and more casualties, as Lee’s exhausted, hungry troops race to preserve the Confederacy. But Grant does not intend to let Lee escape. . . . In one of the most thrilling episodes in American history, heroes North and South battle each other across southern Virginia as the armies converge on a sleepy country court house.

Capping the author’s acclaimed five-novel cycle on the war in the East, this “dramatized history” pays homage to all the soldiers who fought, from an Irish-immigrant private wearing gray, to the “boy generals” who mastered modern war. This is a grand climax to a great, prize-winning series that honors—and reveals—America’s past.

“For those who want to truly understand what the war was like for the men who fought and endured it, there is no better reference than Ralph Peters’ five Civil War novels . . . superbly researched, richly imagined, brilliantly written.” —America’s Civil War

"Epic . . . battles explode from Ralph Peters' pen . . . with his five-novel masterwork—from Gettysburg to Appomattox—Peters has become one of our most important historians." —Washington Times


RALPH PETERS is an award-winning, bestselling novelist; a retired U.S. Army officer and former enlisted man; the author of numerous works on strategy; and a popular media commentator. In uniform and as a researcher and journalist, he has covered numerous conflicts and trouble spots, from Africa to the Caucasus, from Iraq to Pakistan.

Renowned for accuracy and authenticity, his Civil War writing, under his own name and as Owen Parry, has won numerous prizes, including the American Library Association’s Boyd Award (three times), the Hammett Prize, the Herodotus Award, the Grady McWhiney Award, and the Meade Society’s Order of Merit. Peters was the recipient of the 2015 Andrew J. Goodpaster prize as an outstanding American soldier-scholar, and in 2017 he was inducted into the U.S. Army's Officer Candidate School Hall of Fame.

His Civil War series, the Battle Hymn Cycle, spans five books: Cain at Gettysburg, Hell or Richmond, Valley of the Shadow, The Damned of Petersburg, and Judgment at Appomattox.

On Sale August 21, 2018 from Forge Books. 9780765371729. $17.99 USD.

Monday, August 6, 2018

A short neurological test



1- Find the C below - Please do not use any cursor help.

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOCOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

2- If you already found the C, now find the 6 below.

999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999
999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999
999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999
699999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999
999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999
999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999

3 - Now find the N below. It's a little more difficult.

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMNMM
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

This is NOT a joke. If you were able to pass these 3 tests, you can cancel your annual visit to your neurologist.
Your brain is great and you're far from having a close relationship with Alzheimer.

Sunday, August 5, 2018

See You at Walmart


Yesterday, I wore my Korean War Veterans’ cap to Walmart. There was nothing in particular that I needed at the
world's largest retailer; but, since I retired, trips to "Wally World" to look at the Wal-martians is always good for some
comic relief. Besides, I always feel pretty normal after seeing some of the people that frequent the establishment.

But, I digress, . . . enough of my psychological fixations. While standing in line to check out, the guy in front of me,
probably in his early thirties, asked, "Are you a Viet Nam Vet?"
 "No," I replied.
 "Then why are you wearing that cap?"
 "Because I couldn't find the one from the War of 1812 . . ." I thought it was a snappy retort.
 "The War of 1812, huh?" the Wal-martian queried, "When was that?"
 God forgive me, but I couldn't pass up such an opportunity. "1946," I answered as straight-faced as possible.
 He pondered my response for a moment and responded, "Why do they call it the War of 1812 if it was in 1946?"
 "It was a Black Op. No one is supposed to know about it." This was beginning to be way fun!
 "Dude! Really?" He exclaimed. "How did you get to do something that COOOOL?"
 I glanced furtively around me for effect, leaned toward the guy and in a low voice said, "I'm not sure. I was the only Caucasian on the mission."
 "Dude," he was really getting excited about what he was hearing, "that is seriously awesome! But, didn't you kind of stand out?"
 "Not really. The other guys were wearing white camouflage."
 The moron nodded knowingly. "Listen man," I said in a very serious tone, "You can't tell anyone about this.
It's still 'top secret' and I shouldn't have said anything."
 "Oh yeah?" he gave me the 'don't threaten me look.' "Like, what's gonna happen if I do?"
 With a really hard look I said, "You have a family don't you? We wouldn't want anything to happen to them, would we?"

The guy gulped, left his basket where it was and fled through the door. The lady behind me started laughing so
hard I thought she was about to have a heart attack. I just grinned at her. After checking out and going to the parking
lot, I saw dimwit leaning in a car window talking to a young woman. Upon catching sight of me he started pointing
excitedly in my direction. Giving him another 'deadly' serious look, I made the 'I see you' gesture. He turned kind of
pale, jumped in the car and sped out of the parking lot.

And these people actually VOTE !!! What a great time! Tomorrow I'm going back wearing my Homeland Security
cap. Then the next day I will go to the driver's license bureau wearing my Border Patrol hat and see how long it takes
to empty the place. Whoever said retirement is boring? You just need to wear the right kind of cap!

See you at Walmart

Saturday, August 4, 2018

SENIOR CITIZENS ARE THE NATION'S LEADING CARRIERS OF AIDS !


HEARING AIDS
BAND AIDS
ROLL AIDS
WALKING AIDS
MEDICAL AIDS
GOVERNMENT AIDS
MOST OF ALL,
MONETARY AIDS TO THEIR KIDS !
Not forgetting HIV (Hair is Vanishing)
[Source: USS Samuel Gompers | Harry Hudson | July 18, 2018 ++]

Friday, August 3, 2018

Heaven


Stormy Daniels and Queen Elizabeth went to the Pearly Gates on the same day, and both met with an angel to find
out if they would be admitted to Heaven. The Angel said: "Unfortunately, there's only one space available in Heaven
today so I must decide which one of you will be admitted." The Angel then asked Stormy if there was some particular
reason why she should go to Heaven.

Stormy took off her top and said: "Look at these, they're the most perfect breasts God ever created and I'm sure it
will please God to be able to see them every day, for eternity." The Angel thanked Stormy, and asked Her Majesty,
Queen Elizabeth the same question. The Queen walked over to a toilet, pulled the lever and flushed it without saying
a word. The Angel immediately stated: "Okay, your Majesty, you may go into Heaven."

Stormy was outraged and asked, "What was that all about? I showed you two of God's own perfect creations and
you turned me down. She simply flushed a commode and got admitted to Heaven! "Could you explain that to me?"
"Sorry, Stormy," said the Angel, "but even in Heaven, a royal flush easily beats a pair, no matter how big they are!"

Thursday, August 2, 2018

a love for words


Lexophile describes those that have a love for words, such as "you can tune a piano, but you can't tuna fish," or "To
write with a broken pencil is pointless" An annual competition is held by the New York Times to see who can create
the best original lexophile. Here are some of the submissions:

 No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll still be stationery.
 If you don't pay your exorcist you can get repossessed.
 I'm reading a book about anti-gravity. I just can't put it down.
 I didn't like my beard at first. Then it grew on me.
 Did you hear about the crossed-eyed teacher who lost her job because she couldn't control her pupils?
 When you get a bladder infection, urine trouble.
 When chemists die, they barium.
 I stayed up all night to see where the sun went, and then it dawned on me.
 I changed my iPod's name to Titanic. It's syncing now.
 England has no kidney bank, but it does have a Liverpool.
 Haunted French pancakes give me the crepes.
 This girl today said she recognized me from the Vegetarians Club, but I'd swear I've never met herbivore.
 I know a guy who's addicted to drinking brake fluid, but he says he can stop any time.
 A thief who stole a calendar got twelve months.
 When the smog lifts in Los Angeles U.C.L.A.
 I got some batteries that were given out free of charge.
 A dentist and a manicurist married. They fought tooth and nail.
 A will is a dead giveaway.
 With her marriage, she got a new name and a dress.
 Police were summoned to a daycare center where a three-year-old was resisting a rest.
 Did you hear about the fellow whose entire left side was cut off? He's all right now.
 A bicycle can't stand alone; it's just two tired.
 The guy who fell onto an upholstery machine last week is now fully recovered.
 He had a photographic memory but it was never fully developed.
 When she saw her first strands of gray hair she thought she'd dye.
 Acupuncture is a jab well done. That's the point of it.
 Those who get too big for their pants will be totally exposed in the end

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Nine Important Facts to Remember as We Grow Older


God's Plan for Aging ….


Most seniors never get enough exercise. In His wisdom God decreed that seniors become forgetful so they would have
to search for their glasses, keys and other things, thus doing more walking. And God looked down and saw that it was
good. Then God saw there was another need. In His wisdom He made seniors lose co-ordination so they would drop
things, requiring them to bend, reach, and stretch. And God looked down and saw that it was good. Then God
considered the function of bladders and decided seniors would have additional calls of nature, requiring more trips to
the bathroom, thus providing more exercise. God looked down and saw that it was good. So if you find as you age,
you are getting up and down more, remember it's God's will. It is all in your best interest even though you mutter
under your breath.

Nine Important Facts to Remember as We Grow Older

#9 Death is the number 1 killer in the world.
#8 Life is sexually transmitted.
#7 Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die.
#6 Men have 2 motivations: hunger and hanky panky, and they can't tell them apart. If you see a gleam in his eyes, make him a sandwich.
#5 Give a person a fish and you feed them for a day. Teach a person to use the Internet and they won't bother you for weeks, months, maybe years.
#4 Health nuts are going to feel stupid someday, lying in the hospital, dying of nothing.
#3 All of us could take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism.
#2 In the 60's, people took LSD to make the world weird. Now the world is weird, and people take Prozac to make it normal.
#1 Life is like a jar of jalapeno peppers. What you do today may be a burning issue tomorrow.

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Conversations with Caity & Candice: Sexism

Conversations with Caity & Candice: Sexism
by Caity Lotz and Candice Patton
COPYRIGHT 2018 FOR THE AUTHORS AND THE BARYON REVIEW.

THIS IS SHARED FROM SHETHORITY.COM, A NEW WEBSITE CREATED BY THESE TWO AMAZING LADIES TO SHARE THEIR AND OTHERS THOUGHTS ON A NUMBER OF SUBJECTS. AT THE END OF THE ARTICLE, THEY SAID "PLEASE SHARE" AND I AM DOING JUST THAT.

In these interview series we ask each other questions and try to get to the bottom of some taboo and controversial topics. We don’t have all the answers, but our hope to start a conversation. This is part of one of the series on sexism.

Candice: What’s one of the most pressing ways sexism and gender bias is affecting your life currently?

Caity: I think the biggest way it’s affected me are the expectations and limitations I put on myself as a result of it. I had self esteem issues when I was younger because I felt like I wasn’t pretty enough and as a result, I was letting people down and had less to offer to offer the world. I feel like little boys were encouraged to be successful, build businesses, invent things, and make their mark in the world. Which, granted is its own pressure, but at least it’s something you can work hard at and have a chance at achieving. Whereas there’s only so much you can do about the way you look. It took a lot of self work but I stopped associating my value with my looks. There’s an amazing quote that nails all of this on the head, “You Don’t Have to Be Pretty. You don’t owe prettiness to anyone. Not to your boyfriend/spouse/partner, not to your co-workers, especially not to random men on the street. You don’t owe it to your mother, you don’t owe it to your children, you don’t owe it to civilization in general. Prettiness is not a rent you pay for occupying a space marked ‘female.’”

Candice: I love that.

Caity: I hope things continue to change and little girls will grow up knowing they have so much more to offer than their looks. I have a 2-year-old niece and I try to always compliment her attributes rather than her looks. So instead of “You’re so pretty” I say “You’re so smart/kind/strong.” I want her to get attention for who she is not how she looks.

Candice: Yeah, my niece is 1 and a half and I try to do the same thing. She’s so beautiful (at least to me) and I worry that will be the predominant compliment she’ll get. Sometimes when that’s all you hear, you start to think that’s all you have to offer, so I want to be an influence in her life that reminds her she’s so much more than that.

Candice: We hear this phrase “toxic masculinity” more and more. I know I’ve experienced it in my personal and professional life. Have you? What do you want young men to understand about women and about toxic masculinity?

Caity: For those of you not familiar with the term, it’s about the negative effects created when a man is restricting his emotions and actions to adhere to strict male gender role. When men aren’t allowed to express all their emotions it all becomes anger, and they feel pressured to act as the alpha and assert themselves. I think it’s pretty easy to see how that could create problems. I’ve definitely felt the toxicity of it especially in relationships.

We talk a lot about how gender stereotypes negatively effect women, but it can be just as damaging for men. It’s like we make people fit in to a box with a label and if they don’t they are ostracized. So people over compensate and suppress their true-self, which creates problems for everyone. I think what’s happening right now with gender is going to be really good for the world. It’s like we are tearing down the gender walls and rebuilding it all to be more fluid and accepting.

Caity: I think sometimes about raising a son one day and how best to do it. What do you think is important for him to value and respect about women?

Candice: Our strength for sure. Our complexities. Our boundaries. What about you?

Caity: I hope by being a good mother he would respect women because he would respect me. If you teach him to be a good human he will be a good man (or whatever gender identity he decides to be). I think you would really enjoy this NYTimes article:

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/01/well/family/metoo-sons-sexual-harassment-parenting-boys.html


Caity: I didn’t realize some of the negative effects of sexism until I was older and then it was like a flood gate of realizations for me. From major to minor things that affected the way I thought, dreamed, and acted. What was the experience like for you?

Candice: I agree. My experience was similar. I didn’t really understand or see the negative effects of sexism till later in life. I’ve been thinking about feminism a lot lately and how I came to really care about these issues and why I didn’t see it as much when I was younger. And I realized a lot of it came from my father. My dad was always extremely proud and supportive of me. He believed I could do anything I wanted. He treated me just like my brother. My goals and limitations were never set by my gender (or my race for that matter). So I moved through the world subconsciously believing I could do whatever my heart dreamed of. And it wasn’t until I got older and into the real world that I realized other men and even other women didn’t think that way. I was angry. Feminism wasn’t something we discussed in my household, it was just a way of life in terms of women being equal. My parents shared responsibilities. Both parents worked. Both paid bills. And both were respected. And that was my model. So I was confused as I got older and saw that that wasn’t the norm everywhere.

Caity: Speaking of parents, what’s something your parents said to you when you were younger that was annoying but now you get it?

Candice: My mom would say two things that annoyed me. lol

“You can catch more bees with honey than with vinegar” and “Pick your battles.” I think both of them speak to an issue I had when I was younger and something I’ve gotten better about. Naturally I’m a fighter. I believe in righteousness and justice. And boy would I fight. I wanted every wrong (at least in my eyes) righted. In my mind I had the energy to fight every battle and my mom said, “Candice as you get older you won’t have the energy, and you’ll have to choose.” Boy, was she right! I’m tired, girl.

So I’m conservative with my energy and my time. Not everything gets a response. Not everything gets a fight. And not every wrong gets righted. And that’s ok, because when the big battles hit in my life, you better believe I’m coming with everything I’ve got.

Candice: What’s been your relationship with women throughout your life. I know you have a lot of the same friends from when you were in grade school. How important is that to you? And how to you work to maintain those relationships.

Caity: My tribe! I would not be who I am today without my girlfriends. Most of my crew have been friends and entrenched in each other’s lives since grade school. I can’t even describe how grateful I am to have found such supportive, smart, spiritual, curious, and generous friends. They make me brave because I know they have my back. You (Candice) have met them, they’re the shit right?

Candice: Your friends are amazing!

Caity: I really do mean it when we say we want you in the tribe. We’re always looking to extend the family.

Candice: I accept this rose!

Candice: So you went to Italy recently and said you went to a restaurant that gave your boyfriend a menu with prices and gave you the “lady menu” without prices. How did you feel about this? I know for me there are traditional roles men and women play that I still very much adore and find beautiful. Holding open doors for example. I’m sure for men, as women become more self assured and independent in many areas of their life, it makes it hard for them to understand what things to keep doing and what to not. What are your thoughts on that? And what are a few traditional gender roles regarding men that you still find endearing?

Caity: Don’t forget, at the end of the meal they handed him the bill and me a cute box with cookies in it! I mean I loved it, but then I was like, wait am I not supposed to like it?! It is pretty presumptuous. What if I’m the one paying the bill? Or what if the guy wanted to split and now he feels pressure? I think we’re in an interesting time where gender roles are being blurred or redefined and we’re all just trying to figure it out. So it’s a good time to not be easily offended and have a lot of open dialogue.

It must be confusing for guys. “Treat me like a powerful capable woman, but also treat me like a delicate flower and take care of me. Take charge and be a man, but don’t tell me what to do.” A guy friend told me a woman got mad at him for opening the door for her, which I don’t think is fair. If it makes you feel offended having someone open the door for you than maybe just say, “after you, please” and hold the door for him.

Personally, I love it when a guy helps me with my bags, pulls out my chair, or gives me his jacket when I’m cold. I like the idea that the guy picking up the check, but I recognize that totally unfair to have to do all the time. All the sweet things from old traditions I like, but I’m not into the women can’t work, make decisions, and are basically property of men things.

Candice: I love chivalry as well. I find all of those gestures extremely endearing. I had a boyfriend once who would open the passenger door for me to get in and buckle my seatbelt and then kiss me on his way out. I loved it every single time. I think every woman is different though. For me personally I like a man who enjoys being chivalrous because I don’t think it takes ANYTHING away from my strength. I think once that occurs, then there’s a problem.

Caity: Ya, I do wonder if that means we’re trying to have our cake and eat it too? Though, when I think about it…I guess I do all those things for people as well. If my friend is freezing I’ll give them my jacket, I open the door for strangers, help if someone has lots of bags, etc. When I’m with my boyfriend, he usually prefers to be the one doing these things for me, and it makes us both feel good. Though he doesn’t mind when I pick up the check sometimes lol.

I think it’s just both finding ways to show your love, it can’t be one sided. Both people in a relationship need to feel like you’re taking care of each other. Those can be “traditional” ways if it works for you or you can mix it up. It’s up for you and your partner to decide.

Candice: Equal pay is such a big topic right now and one we’ve discussed on many occasions. Even recently it was discovered Claire Foy was getting paid less than her male co-star for The Crown in which she was clearly the lead. How do we assure that women are being paid equal to their male counterparts in industries like ours where the lines are blurry? What’s the biggest factor/hurdle in addressing equal pay?

Caity: It drives me nuts when people think that a wage gap doesn’t exist. There are so many layers to this issue it’s hard to explain, but it goes way beyond women just needing to not settle for less than they should be getting. It happens in every industry but I’ll focus on the one I know best. The entertainment industry works off a quote system, meaning your next job goes off of how much you got paid on your last job. Women and minorities have traditionally had fewer opportunities for leading roles, so less of a chance to get their quote up. So even as the tides start to change our quotes are a lot less so we get paid a lot less.

Candice: SAY IT LOUDER!

Caity: Lol, I’ll keep going then! A lot of the decision makers in the industry, who are mostly white men, either consciously or subconsciously view white men as more valuable than women and minorities. There is this very real feeling of, “You should be grateful, and if you don’t take this offer, we’ll find some other pretty girl that will.” Like it’s just filling the spot of “love interest” or “token black guy”. Like you’re easily replaceable. Now that we’re starting to tell more diverse stories and consumers are supporting it, we are seeing some real change. We still have a lot of catching up to do but I feel optimistic about the direction we are heading. We’ll see!

Candice: (singing) “PAY ME WHAT YOU OWE ME!” I love that song.

It’s an interesting time. I think #MeToo and #TimesUp and other similar initiatives have made people see that women are not afraid to speak up. I think it’s put a lot of industries on notice. Our voices are so powerful. We truly are stronger together. It’s still a complex topic though. I think we are conditioned not to speak about pay. It’s not “polite,” but you know what? Where has that gotten us?

I also think this is where our male counterparts can be a huge help to our fight. If they used their privilege to share information about their salaries and if they used their voices to fight for parity that would be huge asset in the fight for equal pay.

Caity: I may have gone on a rant there and I don’t want men to feel attacked, because that’s not what the feminist movement is about. So to all the men out there… We love you and value everything you bring to the table. When you see and treat us as equals, it allows us to be the best women we can be for you, ourselves, and the world. We’re all in this together.

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Batwoman TV Series in Development


Batwoman TV Series in Development, Will Feature Out Lesbian Kate Kane

By Andy Swift / July 17 2018, 7:59 AM PDT

Previously announced as the special guest for this fall’s four-way crossover event, Batwoman is now being developed as a series for The CW by Warner Bros. Television and Berlanti Productions, TVLine has learned.

Slated for a potential 2019 premiere, Batwoman would follow the adventures of Kate Kane — the second incarnation of the Batwoman character in DC Comics lore, introduced in 2006 — who is described as “an out lesbian and highly trained street fighter.”

Batwoman‘s official logline is as follows:

Armed with a passion for social justice and a flair for speaking her mind, Kate Kane soars onto the streets of Gotham as Batwoman, an out lesbian and highly trained street fighter primed to snuff out the failing city’s criminal resurgence. But don’t call her a hero yet. In a city desperate for a savior, Kate must overcome her own demons before embracing the call to be Gotham’s symbol of hope.

Caroline Dries (The Vampire Diaries) will write the project, executive-producing alongside Greg Berlanti, Sarah Schechter and Geoff Johns.

Batwoman’s introduction into the Arrowverse was first announced at The CW Upfront in May, where Stephen Amell revealed that she would be fighting alongside characters from Arrow, The Flash, DC’s Legends of Tomorrow and Supergirl in the network’s next major crossover. (And here’s a fun, though potentially unrelated, fact: In the comics, one of Kate’s main love interests is Maggie Sawyer, formerly portrayed on Supergirl by Floriana Lima.)

COPYRRIGHT BY ANDY SWIFT 2018

REBEKAH by Orson Scott Card



REBEKAH by Orson Scott Card

Rebekah, book two in New York Times bestselling author Orson Scott Card's Women of Genesis series—a unique re-imagining of the biblical tale.

Born into a time and place where a woman speaks her mind at her peril, and reared as a motherless child by a doting father, Rebekah grew up to be a stunning, headstrong beauty. She was chosen by God for a special destiny.

Rebekah leaves her father's house to marry Isaac, the studious young son of the Patriarch Abraham, only to find herself caught up in a series of painful rivalries, first between her husband and his brother Ishmael, and later between her sons Jacob and Esau. Her struggles to find her place in the family of Abraham are a true test of her faith, but through it all she finds her own relationship with God and does her best to serve His cause in the lives of those she loves.

“This playfully speculative novel succeeds in bringing Sarah's oft-overlooked character into vivid relief.”—Publishers Weekly

“This is an inventive and engaging telling of the life of Sarah, the woman who laughed at God’s news (that so old a woman would now bear a child)—and who gives as good as she gets throughout both the book of Genesis and Card’s novel.”—Historical Novel Society

"This series is definitely for those interested in women in the Bible, and in such novels as The Red Tent."—Kliatt

“The story moves swiftly, climaxing at several points, such as Abram and Sarai’s stay in Egypt when the pharaoh wants to take Sarai as his wife. It is a quick and interesting read…. This is an intriguing story.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

ORSON SCOTT CARD is best known for his internationally bestselling science fiction novel Ender’s Game and its many sequels. He has also written contemporary thrillers like Empire and historical novels like the monumental Saints and the bible-based historical novels Sarah and Rachel and Leah and Rebekah.

On Sale July 17, 2018 from Forge Books. 9780765399342. $16.99 USD.

Saturday, July 14, 2018

SKULLSWORN by Brian Staveley



SKULLSWORN by Brian Staveley

Brian Staveley’s new standalone, Skullsworn, returns to the critically acclaimed Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne universe, following a priestess attempting to join the ranks of the God of Death.

Pyrre Lakatur is not, to her mind, an assassin, not a murderer—she is a priestess. At least, she will be once she passes her final trial.

The problem isn’t the killing. The problem, rather, is love. To complete her trial, Pyrre has ten days to kill the seven people enumerated in an ancient song, including “the one who made your mind and body sing with love / who will not come again.”

Pyrre isn’t sure she’s ever been in love. And if she fails to find someone who can draw such passion from her, or fails to kill that someone, her order will give her to their god, the God of Death. Pyrre’s not afraid to die, but she hates to fail, and so, as her trial is set to begin, she returns to the city of her birth in the hope of finding love . . . and ending it on the edge of her sword.

“A lyrical, bloodsoaked, impossible quest that's sure to entertain.—Kevin Hearne, New York Times bestselling author

“Staveley has quickly become one of my favorite fantasy authors, and his latest doesn't disappoint. Skullsworn is a brilliant new chapter in a fabulous series."—V. E. Schwab, New York Times bestselling author

“A warm, funny, character-focused novel which is also darkly charming, bloody, and lethal. It was very, very hard to put down, and had an emotional punch to match its high adrenaline moments.”—Sci Fi and Fantasy Reviews

“Pleasantly grim and emotionally complex.”—Kirkus Reviews

BRIAN STAVELEY is the author of the Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne series, starting with The Emperor's Blades. He has taught literature, religion, history, and philosophy, all subjects that influence his writing, and holds an MA in Creative Writing from Boston University. He works as an editor for Antilever Press, and has published poetry and essays, both in print and on-line. He lives in Vermont with his wife and young son, and divides his time between running trails, splitting wood, writing, and baby-wrangling.

On Sale July 17, 2018 from Tor Books. 9780765389886. $17.99 USD.

Friday, July 13, 2018

THE LAST HARVEST by Kim Liggett




THE LAST HARVEST by Kim Liggett

Kim Liggett draws on her childhood during the Satanic Panic for a chilling tale of magic in The Last Harvest, winner of the 2017 Bram Stoker Award.

"I plead the blood."

Those were the last words seventeen-year-old golden boy quarterback Clay Tate heard rattling from his dad's throat when he discovered him dying on the barn floor of the Neely cattle ranch, clutching a crucifix to his chest.

Now, on the first anniversary of the Midland, Oklahoma, slaughter, the whole town's looking at Clay like he might be next to go over the edge. Clay wants to forget the past, but the sons and daughters of the Preservation Society—a group of prominent farmers his dad accused of devil worship—won't leave him alone. Including Ali, his longtime crush, who suddenly wants to reignite their romance after a year of silence, and hated rival Tyler Neely, who's behaving like they're old friends.

Even as Clay tries to reassure himself, creepy glances turn to sinister stares and strange coincidences build to gruesome rituals, but when he can never prove that any of it happened, Clay worries he might be following his dad down the path to insanity...or that something far more terrifying lies in wait around the corner.

“An eerie new take on the classic Satan-worshipping horror story....With vivid and terrifying characters and events, this novel is chilling, emotional, and full of nightmarish surprises.” - TeenReads

"An utterly terrifying tale that's impossible to put down. It will haunt you long after you've turned the last page. Prepare to be transfixed.”—Jasmine Warga, author of My Heart and Other Black Holes

"The writing is vivid and gorgeous, and the atmosphere is eerie and unnerving and tense. I love it."—April Genevieve Tucholke, author of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea on The Last Harvest

“This book had me laughing at the same time goose bumps crawled up my arm. Kim has a talent of balancing humor and horror. Inventive, chilling, immersive, and above all terrifying. I love this book.”—Virginia Boecker, author of The Witch Hunter

At sixteen, KIM LIGGETT left her rural midwestern town for New York City to pursue a career in music. Along with lending her voice to hundreds of studio recordings, she was a backup singer for some of the biggest rock bands in the 80s. She is the author of Blood and Salt, Heart of Ash, and The Last Harvest.

On Sale July 24, 2018 from Tor Teen. 9780765380999. $10.99 USD.

Don’t Miss Kim Liggett’s newest novel, THE UNFORTUNATES, on sale July 10, 2018!

Sunday, July 8, 2018

Lost Gods by Micah Yongo



Lost Gods by Micah Yongo

In this extraordinary fantasy debut, a young assassin finds himself hunted by the brothers and sisters he has trained alongside since birth

Neythan is one of five young warriors trained and raised together by a mysterious brotherhood of assassins known as the Shedaím. When Neythan is framed for the murder of his closest friend, he pursues his betrayer – and in so doing learns there’s far more to the Brotherhood, and the machinations of the rulers of the warring kingdoms, than he’d ever thought possible. His journey will lead him across the five realms, from the Forest of Silences to the Ash Plains of Calapaar, and reveal the breaches that lie beneath the world, and the hidden truths of his oath.

A July release from Angry Robot Books.

Saturday, July 7, 2018

Space Unicorn Blues by TJ Berry




Space Unicorn Blues by TJ Berry

A misfit crew race across the galaxy to prevent the genocide of magical creatures, in this unique science fiction debut

Humanity joining the intergalactic community has been a disaster for Bala, the magical creatures of the galaxy: they’ve been exploited, enslaved and ground down for parts. Now the Century Summit is approaching, when humans will be judged by godlike aliens.

When Jenny Perata, disabled Maori shuttle captain, is contracted to take a shipment to the summit, she must enlist half-unicorn Gary Cobalt, whose horn powers faster-than-light travel. But he’s just been released from prison, for murdering the wife of Jenny’s co-pilot, Cowboy Jim… When the Reason regime suddenly enact laws making Bala property, Jenny’s ship becomes the last hope for magic.

A July release from Angry Robot.

Monday, July 2, 2018

Walking With Ghosts by Brian James Freeman



WALKING WITH GHOSTS
, Brian James Freeman, PS Publishing, 308 pages, £20, 9781786363237, reviewed by Barry Hunter.

This is a fantastic volume that gathers together the majority of Brian James Freeman’s short stories. If you have never read any of Brian’s stories, getting this volume will make your reading cup overflow with goodness.

After a forward by William Peter Blatty (yes, that Peter Blatty), the book is divided into four parts: Weak and Wounded, More Than Midnight, Dreamlike States and Lost and Lonely. You can be sure that the stories fit the description and will possibly leave you weak, lost, lonely, having strange dreams, and up after midnight because you want to finish this volume.

Favorites are “Mama’s Sleeping” is the kind of story that most cable installers might shy away from. “The Final Lesson” is one that when learned, will stick with you for a while. “Not Without Regrets” might just be a saying you hear, but after reading this story you might look at stormy nights differently. “Ice Cold Dan the Ice Cream Man” is an Afghan veteran with PTSD who keeps a rifle on his truck in case the enemy comes back. “One Way Flight” is one of those stories that you do not want to read before you have to fly. “The Last Beautiful Day” is the one story that hit too close to home and helped bring a good cry that had been long in coming.

This a volume that should definitely find a place on your horror shelf, especially if you prefer that psychologic horror that sneaks up behind you and slaps you in the back of your head. Dan is one of the folk that come into my office every day looking for help and I try to help them resolve the problem before it gets out of hand. Beautiful days are hard to come by, especially after reading this story and knowing exactly the feelings evoked. Brian James Freeman is a force to be reckoned with. He writes extremely well and his stories pack a punch to the gut. And to the heart.

This will be available in August, but you need to pre-order it now so you won’t be disappointed. www.pspublishing.co.uk is the link to use.

Thursday, June 28, 2018

Goodbye Harlan



I was not able to get onto social media until tonight. When I got on Twitter, the first one I read was by Joe Lansdale saying that Harlan Ellison had passed over in his sleep. Harlan was 84 and although he had been sick, I would have expected him to go out giving the Grim Reaper a critique on his style.

It has been said that just about everyone in fandom has a "Harlan story". I have heard a lot of them. Many from Harlan himself. I can think of the letters I received over the course of Baryons life span. All of them marked "not for publication". One of the reasons was that it ruin his reputation as an angry, hard to get along with curmudgeon.

When we finally met in person, he yelled across the DragonCon Auditorium "Hey Susan, It's Barry". I was surprised that Susan had any idea who I was. All of our times together were too short, but at least they happened.

All my memories of Harlan are good ones. I cherish them, I am amazed at some of them, and tonight, I feel them in my heart and it is hurting.

My sympathy to Susan, I share your pain.

Goodbye Harlan, my friend.

Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Veteran sets himself on fire in front of Georgia Capitol, protesting treatment by VA



An Air Force veteran set himself on fire in front of Georgia’s state Capitol in Atlanta on Tuesday morning, reportedly in an act of protest against the Department of Veterans Affairs.

What happened?


The 58-year-old man parked his vehicle next to the Capitol around 10:45 a.m., then walked toward the building according to police.

Georgia State Patrol Capt. Mark Perry said, “He was strapped with some homemade incendiary devices, some firecrackers, and doused himself with some kind of flammable liquid and attempted to set himself on fire.”

An off-duty trooper happened to be driving by in his patrol car and realized what was happening. He rushed toward the veteran with a fire extinguisher “and was able to douse him pretty quickly” Capt. Perry said.

The veteran was rushed to Grady Memorial Hospital with burns covering 85 to 90 percent of his body. His identity has not been released.

Officials closed off streets surrounding the Capitol, evacuated the building as well as judiciary buildings and a nearby day care. They also searched the vet’s vehicle (as well as the Capitol grounds) for any possible additional explosives.

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, the Atlanta Police, and the George Bureau of Investigation all worked in coordination following the incident.

Why?

Commissioner Mark McDonough of the Georgia Department of Public Safety told reporters, “It looks like a veteran that was disgruntled with the VA did a personal protest in front of the Capitol which involved gasoline and some fireworks.”

Captain Perry confirmed that the vet was able to speak after the incident, saying, “He did indicate that he is disgruntled with the V.A. system and was seeking attention for that.”

Anything else?

This is the second time in just a few years that a veteran has publicly set themselves on fire in protest of the VA. A 51-year-old vet died in March of 2016, after fatally burning himself outside a New Jersey Veterans Affairs clinic out of protest for not receiving the care he needed.

For several years, the VA has been plagued by scandals. President Trump has vowed to clean up the Department, signing last year’s VA accountability act into law, firing secretary of veterans affairs David Shulkin in March, and donating one quarter of the president’s own first quarter salary to the Department of Veterans Affairs in May.

COPYRIGHT 11ALIVE, ATLANTA 2018

Photos from Vietnam, all those years ago


Photo of Vietnamese fisherman on the Mekong Delta where Agent Orange killed all the trees.


Some of the bugs that Raid couldn't kill.

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

The VA’s latest betrayal of Vietnam veterans



Opinion


The VA’s latest betrayal of Vietnam veterans

By Betsy McCaughey

President Trump just signed the Mission Act, which is supposed to help ailing US veterans get prompt care, including the ability to see a civilian doctor on Uncle Sam’s tab.

Don’t count on it.

The fine print shows that vets are guaranteed nothing. The Veterans Affairs secretary is simply empowered to make rules for who gets civilian care. Though Trump and his pick for secretary, Robert Wilkie, favor making it easy for vets, Wilkie’s rules could last only as long as Wilkie remains in office. Worse, they don’t go into effect for two and a half years.

That’s too late for the hundreds of Vietnam vets, now in their 60s and early 70s, who are carrying a dangerous parasite picked up in Asia called liver fluke. Many don’t know it, but it’s a ticking time bomb likely to kill them.

Scandalously, the VA is doing zip to identify and treat these infected vets, even though an ultrasound test can detect liver-fluke infection in minutes and medicine can slow its progression into lethal bile-duct cancer. If there were ever an example of vets needing to be in the driver’s seat about getting outside care, this is it. But the Mission Act requires them to get their VA doctor’s permission first.

Remember the nation’s shock in 2014 when 40 vets died on secret waitlists concocted by VA bureaucrats? That toll is miniscule compared with the deaths being caused right now by the VA’s neglect of vets with liver fluke.

In January, researchers at the Northport, NY, VA found that one out of every five vets tested who remembers eating raw fish in Vietnam — a common practice when rations ran out — is carrying the parasite. More than 100,000 vets could be infected. The parasite lingers in the body for decades, and then — wham — can suddenly cause deadly bile-duct cancer. Some 80-90 percent of them will develop the cancer if their infection goes untreated, according to New York physician Dr. John Cahill, an expert on parasites.

“It’s a huge number,” says Dr. Devi Nampiaparampil, associate professor at New York University Langone Medical Center.

Cahill says he’d like to see every vet who ate raw fish while in Vietnam contacted for an ultrasound.

Instead, the VA is serving up gibberish, claiming “there is currently no evidence that vets have higher infection rates than the general population.”

That’s ridiculous. You can’t get infected with liver fluke in the US. The parasite doesn’t exist here. Cahill calls bile-duct cancer “extremely rare” among the US population. The other highest-risk group is Asian-Americans who travel or once resided in Southeast Asia.

Here’s another whopper. The VA is telling vets if they don’t have jaundice or other symptoms, “they don’t need screening.” In fact, Nampiaparampil stresses that by the time those symptoms appear, the cancer has often progressed too far.

The VA claims there’s “no definitive link” between the parasite and cancer. In truth, there’s a pile of research linking the two. Researchers at Tulane and George Washington University proved the link in 2007 in an article “Liver Fluke Induces Cholangiocarcinoma.” So did findings in the journal Cancer Science in 2010, calling liver-fluke infection “the strongest risk factor” for cancer of the bile duct.

The VA double talk is typical. They did the same thing with service-linked ailments from the Gulf War. This time the VA is launching a “large-scale epidemiological study” that will be ready in about two years.

Pile up reports and do nothing. You could pave over Washington, DC, with the reports produced by the VA.

Meanwhile, Facebook and local newspapers are chronicling the deaths of Vietnam vets from liver-fluke-related cancer.

Time is running out. Vietnam vets need to be contacted, tested if they ate raw fish and treated if they have the infection. The Mission Act isn’t going to save them or other sick vets, any more than previous VA “reform” laws, all hailed by self-congratulating Washington pols when they were passed.


Betsy McCaughey is a senior fellow at the London Center for Policy Research.

© 2018 NYP Holdings, Inc. All Rights Reserved | Terms of Use | Privacy | Your Ad Choices | Sitemap
Powered by WordPress.com VIP


Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Trump Signs VA MISSION ACT OF 2018


PRESIDENT DONALD J. TRUMP PROVIDES RESOURCES FOR VETERANS TO GET THE CARE THEY DESERVE FROM THE DOCTORS THEY WANT
“My pledge to you, our noble warriors, is that my Administration will support you, and your loved ones, and your amazing families every single day, now and always.” – President Donald J. Trump



FUNDING HEALTHCARE FOR OUR VETERANS: Today, the President signed legislation providing our veterans with the funding they have earned through their sacrifices for our country.

· President Trump signed S. 2372, the John S. McCain III, Daniel K. Akaka, and Samuel R. Johnson VA Maintaining Internal Systems and Strengthening Integrated Outside Networks Act of 2018, or the VA MISSION Act of 2018.

· America’s veterans deserve timely access to the highest quality of care possible and funding for the programs that keep them healthy and well.

o That is why President Trump and the Department of Veterans Affairs worked closely with Congress and Veterans Service Organizations to create draft legislation to support our veterans.

· The VA MISSION Act provides $5.2 billion in mandatory funding for the Veterans Choice program until a new consolidated program is implemented, which provides veterans with flexibility to receive care at both Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) and private health facilities.

· Since its creation in 2014, more than two million veterans have used the Veterans Choice program and have scheduled more than 41 million appointments in their communities.

STREAMLINING VETERANS CHOICE: The VA MISSION Act consolidates the VA’s community care programs, creating a new, single program for veterans care.

· The VA MISSION Act takes the long-overdue step of consolidating the complex, bureaucratic web created by seven different veterans community care programs into one unified program, simplifying and strengthening healthcare opportunities for America’s veterans.

o The new program is projected to take effect one year from enactment.

· The new consolidated program will increase transparency and accountability, and ensure that veterans receive the right care at the right time with the right provider.

· The bill also accelerates the processing of claims by community providers so that they are addressed in a prompt and timely manner.

· The bill authorizes access to walk-in community clinics, so that veterans have immediate, local access to non-emergency convenience care.

· The new program strengthens the process between the VA and the community healthcare providers who prescribe opioids to veterans.

IMPROVING AND EXPANDING CARE: The VA MISSION Act provides new resources and creates new programs to build on and improve the care our veterans receive.

· The VA MISSION Act expands eligibility for the Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers program, allowing caregivers for all veterans to access.

· The bill removes barriers for telemedicine, provides additional resources for hiring and retaining healthcare professionals, and establishes mobile deployment teams to support underserved facilities, among other important steps to improve veterans’ care.

· The bill further allows the VA to modernize its assets and infrastructure to serve our veterans in the best possible way.

Sunday, May 27, 2018

Flight or Fright, edited by Stephen King & Bev Vincent


Flight or Fright, edited by Stephen King & Bev Vincent, Cemetery Dance, $27.95, reviewed by Jim Brock.

Back when I worked for a living, I took quite a few airplane rides around this country. One night on a flight from Memphis to Chattanooga, Tennessee on Southern Airlines, we experienced quite a bit of turbulence because of a storm and upon landing I heard a boom and saw flames shooting out the front of an engine. I wasn't scared, but I was concerned.

The last flight I took was well before 9/11. Since then I haven't found anywhere I wanted to go that would make me undergo the hassles of airports and airline travel. Flight or Fright has given me seventeen other reasons to avoid airplanes - much more so than just the hassle.

Stephen King and Bev Vincent have assembled an unusual range of authors and an outstanding group of stories featuring some of the greatest names of the past one hundred years and their contributions to the terrors of the sky.

When you see a list that features Richard Matheson and Ray Bradbury, you know the editors know what they are doing. The title, Flight or Fright tells you exactly what to expect. My favorites include Matheson and Bradbury but also Dan Simmons, E.C. Tubb, John Varley and Arthur Conan Doyle. These writers have given me untold reading adventures and pleasures for years.

This is a great anthology with a great theme and great editors. It is definitely worth the hassles to take these flights.

Friday, May 18, 2018

The Outsider by Stephen King out May 22


THE OUTSIDER - Available May 22nd

An unspeakable crime. A confounding investigation. At a time when the King brand has never been stronger, he has delivered one of his most unsettling and compulsively readable stories.

An eleven-year-old boy's violated corpse is found in a town park. Eyewitnesses and fingerprints point unmistakably to one of Flint City’s most popular citizens. He is Terry Maitland, Little League coach, English teacher, husband, and father of two girls. Detective Ralph Anderson, whose son Maitland once coached, orders a quick and very public arrest. Maitland has an alibi, but Anderson and the district attorney soon add DNA evidence to go with the fingerprints and witnesses. Their case seems ironclad.

As the investigation expands and horrifying answers begin to emerge, King’s propulsive story kicks into high gear, generating strong tension and almost unbearable suspense. Terry Maitland seems like a nice guy, but is he wearing another face? When the answer comes, it will shock you as only Stephen King can.

THE OUTSIDER will be available in hardcover, ebook, and in audiobook read by Will Patton on May 22nd

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Boston Massacre ► Seventy-two Killed Resisting Gun Confiscation in Boston



Boston Massacre ► Seventy-two Killed Resisting Gun Confiscation in Boston

National Guard units seeking to confiscate a cache of recently banned assault weapons were ambushed by elements of a Para-military extremist faction. Military and law enforcement sources estimate that 72 were killed and more than 200 injured before government forces were compelled to withdraw. Speaking after the clash, Massachusetts Governor Thomas Gage declared that the extremist faction, which was made up of local citizens, has links to the radical right-wing tax protest movement. Gage blamed the extremists for recent incidents of vandalism directed against internal revenue offices. The governor, who described the group’s organizers as “criminals,” issued an executive order authorizing the summary arrest of any individual who has interfered with the government’s efforts to secure law and order.

The military raid on the extremist arsenal followed wide-spread refusal by the local citizenry to turn over recently outlawed assault weapons. Gage issued a ban on military-style assault weapons and ammunition earlier in the week. This decision followed a meeting in early this month between government and military leaders at which the governor authorized the forcible confiscation of illegal arms. One government official, speaking on condition of anonymity, pointed out that “none of these people would have been killed had the extremists obeyed the law and turned over their weapons voluntarily.” Government troops initially succeeded in confiscating a large supply of outlawed weapons and ammunition. However, troops attempting to seize arms and ammunition in Lexington met with resistance from heavily-armed extremists who had been tipped off regarding the government’s plans.

During a tense standoff in the Lexington town park, National Guard Colonel Francis Smith, commander of the government operation, ordered the armed group to surrender and return to their homes. The impasse was broken by a single shot, which was reportedly fired by one of the right-wing extremists. Eight civilians were killed in the ensuing exchange. Ironically, the local citizenry blamed government forces rather than the extremists for the civilian deaths. Before order could be restored, armed citizens from surrounding areas had descended upon the guard units. Colonel Smith, finding his forces over matched by the armed mob, ordered a retreat.

Governor Gage has called upon citizens to support the state/national joint task force in its effort to restore law and order. The governor also demanded the surrender of those responsible for planning and leading the attack against the government troops. Samuel Adams, Paul Revere, and John Hancock, who have been identified as “ringleaders” of the extremist faction, remain at large.

And this fellow Americans, is how the American Revolution began, April 20, 1775.

On July 4th, 1776 these same extremists signed the Declaration of Independence, pledging to each other and their countrymen their lives, fortunes, and sacred honor. Many of them lost everything, including their families and their lives over the course of the next few years. Lest we forget… [Source: Frontlines of Freedom Newsletter | May 11, 2018 ++]