Friday, November 20, 2020

 

Space opera and military sci-fi combine in the newest from Walter Jon Williams

"Space opera the way it ought to be . . . Bujold and Weber, bend the knee; interstellar adventure has a new king, and his name is Walter Jon Williams."

—George R. R. Martin

 

The Praxis, the empire of now extinct Shaa, has again fallen into civil war, with desperate and outnumbered humans battling several alien species for survival. Leading the human forces are star-crossed lovers Gareth Martinez and Caroline Sula, who must find a way to overcome their own thorny personal history to defeat the aliens and assure humanity’s survival.

 

But even if the human fleet is victorious, the divisions fracturing the empire may be too wide to repair, as battles between politicians, the military, and fanatics who want to kill every alien threaten to further tear the empire apart. While Martinez and Sula believe they have the talent and tactics to defeat an overwhelming enemy, what will prevent their fellow humans from destroying themselves?

 

Fleet Elements will be on sale December 8th, pre-order now!

Thursday, November 19, 2020

The Burning God by R.F. Kuang

 

The Burning God by R.F. Kuang is now on sale!

"Bringing her complex Poppy War trilogy to a poignant conclusion, Kuang shines a searing light on the devastating price and valiant sacrifices that


warfare requires of all involved."
   — Booklist (starred review)

 

After saving her nation of Nikan from foreign invaders and battling the evil Empress Su Daji in a brutal civil war, Fang Runin was betrayed by allies and left for dead. 

 

Despite her losses, Rin hasn’t given up on those for whom she has sacrificed so much. Returning to her roots, Rin meets difficult challenges—and unexpected opportunities. While her new allies in the Southern Coalition leadership are sly and untrustworthy, Rin quickly realizes that the real power in Nikan lies with the millions of common people who thirst for vengeance and revere her as a goddess of salvation. 

 

Backed by the masses and her Southern Army, Rin will use every weapon to defeat the Dragon Republic, the colonizing Hesperians, and all who threaten the shamanic arts and their practitioners. As her power and influence grows, though, will she be strong enough to resist the Phoenix’s intoxicating voice urging her to burn the world and everything in it? 


The Burning God is available now wherever books are sold. 

Wednesday, November 18, 2020

The Rush's Edge by Ginger Smith

 


Halvor Cullen was built to be a hero.

But he's never felt like one.​

As a gene-spliced, tech-enhanced 'VAT' super soldier, Hal was made to fight hard and burn out young, then spend the short remainder of his life forever chasing an elusive adrenaline rush. Thankfully his best friend and former commander is determined to prevent that from happening by keeping Hal busy salvaging crashed spaceships along the Spiral's Edge.

But when a new member joins their crew, and a mysterious sphere they bring aboard the ship unleashes an alien presence, Hal's desires and malfunctions threaten to bring them all to the point of destruction...

Available at Amazon or your favorite bookseller

Monday, November 16, 2020

Refraction by Christopher Hinz


If Aiden Manchester had to have a superpower, why couldn't it be something useful? ​

Like predicting the future? Or Jedi mind tricks? Instead, Aiden is afflicted with 'manifestations', mysterious balls of goo which materialise mid-air while he sleeps.

But then, Aiden learns he was a 'Quiver Kid', one of seven orphaned children drafted for an illicit experiment at Tau Nine-One. Setting out to find the perpetrators and his fellow victims, Aiden's quest quickly turns lethal when he's kidnapped by a maniacal Quiver Kid with a dark agenda.

As he uncovers the dangerous truth about his past, Aiden's very essence is called into question. Will a hellish confrontation at Tau Nine-One reveal the ultimate purpose of the Quiver Kids?

Available at Amazon.com or your favorite bookseller.

Saturday, November 7, 2020

Husbands and Wives (2)

THE PHONE 

A young man wanted to get his beautiful blonde wife something nice for their first wedding anniversary. So he decided to buy her a cell phone. 

He showed her the phone and explained to her all of its features. 

Meg was excited to receive the gift and simply adored her new phone. The next day Meg went shopping. Her phone rang and, to her astonishment, it was her husband on the other end. 

“Hi Meg," he said, "How do you like your new phone?” 

Meg replied, "I just love it! It's so small and your voice is clear as a bell, but there's one thing I don't understand though..." 

"What's that, sweetie?" asked her husband. “How did you know I was at Woolies?” 

HE MUST PAY 

Husband and wife had a tiff. 

Wife called up her mom and said, "He fought with me again, I am coming to live with you." 

Mom said, "No darling, he must pay for his mistake. I am coming to live with you. 

REMEMBER 

An army first sergeant and his wife were in a busy shopping center getting things for their youngest child’s upcoming engagement announcement. 

The wife suddenly noticed that her husband was missing and as they had a lot to do, she called him on his cell and said " 

Where are you, you know we have lots to do." 

He said "You remember the jewelers we went into when we were stationed here about 10 years ago, and you fell in love with that diamond necklace? I could not afford it at the time, and I said that one day I would get it for you?" 

Little tears started to flow down her cheek and she got all choked up… "Yes, I do remember that shop." she replied.

"Well, I’m in the gun shop next door to that." 

TODAY'S SHORT READING FROM THE BIBLE 

From Genesis: "And God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the earth." Then he made the earth round... and 

He laughed and laughed and laughed!

Thursday, November 5, 2020

Husbands and Wives (1)

SHOPPING

A wife asks her husband, "Could you please go shopping for me and buy one carton of milk and if they have avocados, get 6. 

A short time later the husband comes back with 6 cartons of milk. 

The wife asks him, "Why did you buy 6 cartons of milk?" He replied, "They had avocados." 

If you're a woman, I'm sure you're going back to read it again! Men will get it the first time.  

WATER IN THE CARBURETOR 

WIFE: "There is trouble with the car. It has water in the carburetor." 

 HUSBAND: "Water in the carburetor? That's ridiculous” 

WIFE: "I tell you the car has water in the carburetor." 

 HUSBAND: "You don't even know what a carburetor is. I'll check it out. Where's the car? 

WIFE: "In the pool".  

STATISTIC 

THIS IS A FRIGHTENING STATISTIC, PROBABLY ONE OF THE MOST WORRISOME IN RECENT YEARS. 

25% of the women in this country are on medication for mental illness. 

That's scary. It means 75% are running around untreated...

Tuesday, November 3, 2020

Military Maxims

o 101st Airborne Division -- "When it comes to Combat, we care enough to send the very best" 

o "When in doubt, empty the magazine" 

o "Sniper - You can run, but you'll just die tired!" 

o "Machine Gunners - Accuracy By Volume" 

 o "Except For Ending Slavery, Fascism, Nazism and Communism, WAR has Never Solved Anything" 

 o " U.S. Marines - Certified Counselors to the 72 Virgins Dating Club" 

o " U.S Air Force - Travel Agents To Allah" 

o "The Marine Corps - When It Absolutely, Positively Has To Be Destroyed Overnight" 

o "Death Smiles  At Everyone - Marines Smile Back" 

o "What Do I Feel When I Kill A Terrorist? A Little Recoil" 

o "Marines - Providing Enemies of America an Opportunity To Die For their Country Since 1775" 

o "Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Anyone Who Threatens It" 

o "Happiness Is A Belt-Fed Weapon" 

o "It's God's Job to Forgive Bin Laden - It was Our Job To Arrange The Meeting"(Gen H. Norman Schwarzkopf ) 

 o "Artillery Brings Dignity to What Would Otherwise Be Just A Vulgar Brawl" 

o "One Shot, Twelve Kills - U.S. Naval Gun Fire Support " 

 o "My Kid Fought In Iraq So Your Kid Can Party In College and Protest" 

o "A Dead Enemy Is A Peaceful Enemy - Blessed Be The Peacemakers" 

o "Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But the US Marines doesn't have that problem. 

 The American soldier does not fight because he hates who is in front of him; he fights because he loves who is behind him. Amen? 

AMEN!!

Wednesday, October 28, 2020

The Phlebotomist by Chris Panatier

In a near future where citizens are subject to the mandatory blood draw, government phlebotomist Willa Wallace witnesses an event that makes her question her whole world…​ To recover from a cataclysmic war, the Harvest was instituted to pass blood to those affected by radiation. But this charitable act has led to a society segregated entirely by blood type. Government blood contractor, Patriot, rewards your generous gift based on the compatibility of your donation, meaning that whoever can give the most, gets the most in return. While working as a reaper taking collections for the Harvest, Willa chances upon an idea to resurrect an obsolete technique that could rebalance the city. But in her quest to set things into motion, she uncovers a horrifying secret that cuts to the heart of everything. AVAILABLE FROM AMAZON OR YOUR FAVORITE BOOKSELLER

Monday, October 26, 2020

Captain Moxley and the Embers of the Empire by Dan Hanks

In the post-war peace of 1952, ex-Spitfire pilot Captain Samantha Moxley should be done fighting bad guys. ​ Instead, she finds herself dragged into a clash with a mysterious US government agency known as The Nine, when they take an interest in the work of Jess, her archaeologist sister. Pursued by The Nine, former Nazis, and a host of otherworldly monsters, Sam must fight to protect her sister and uncover two hidden keys which promise to unlock the greatest archaeological find in history: the fabled Hall of Records. From the skies over New York, to the catacombs of Paris, and finally to the ruins of Ancient Egypt, her quest takes her into the ashes of the past in search of the dying embers of an empire....and a discovery that could transform the world, or bring it to a terrible end. AVAILABLE FROM AMAZON OR YOUR FAVORITE BOOKSELLER

Saturday, October 24, 2020

Night Terrors by Tim Waggoner

In a world where dreams can cross into reality what would it take for you to team up with your childhood nightmare? Meet Detective Audra and her partner Mr Jinx, the clown who haunted her childhood dreams. Together they are working to protect the real world from Maelstrom, the world of dreams, but then things start to go sideways and they find themselves in disgrace. It doesn’t take long for Audra and Jinx to realise that there is something sinister afoot, more dreams are escaping to the real world than ever before and it’s up to them to save both worlds before it’s too late. AVAILABLE FROM AMAZON OR YOUR FAVORITE BOOKSELLER

Thursday, October 22, 2020

The Sensation by Amanda Bridgeman

A series of brutal murders has the homicide division of San Francisco's Hub 9 working overtime. But as the bodies mount, they begin to question whether the attacks are random or somehow connected. When one of their own falls victim, Detective Salvi Brentt and her team join forces with the narcotics and cyber divisions to track down those responsible. They soon discover that a volatile new drug-tech experience, involving black market neural implants, has hit the streets, causing the epidemic of violence and missing persons. With the clock ticking and the death toll rising, Salvi must go deep undercover in the seedy Sensation club scene to find out who is behind the deadly drug-tech. But in the secretive playgrounds of the rich and powerful, some will stop at nothing to protect their empire... AVAILABLE FROM AMAZON OR YOUR FAVORITE BOOKSELLER

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Keep Those Grey Cells Active 2

See if you can figure out what these seven words all have in common? 1. Banana 2. Dresser 3. Grammar 4. Potato 5. Revive 6. Uneven 7. Assess Give it another try.. Look at each word carefully. You'll kick yourself when you discover the answer. No, it is not that they all have at least 2 double letters.... Look below IMPOSSIBILITIES IN THE WORLD for the answer. IMPOSSIBILITIES IN THE WORLD 1) You can't count your hair. 2) You can't wash your eyes with soap. 3) You can't breathe through your nose when your tongue is out. Put your tongue back in your mouth, you silly person. Answer: In all of the words listed, if you take the first letter, place it at the end of the word, and then spell the word backwards, it will be the same word.

Sunday, October 18, 2020

Keep Those Grey Cells Active 1

Ten (10) Things that are known about you. 1) You are reading this. 2) You are human. 3) You can't say the letter ''P'' without separating your lips. 4) You just attempted to do it. 6) You are laughing at yourself. 7) You have a smile on your face and you skipped No. 5. 8) You just checked to see if there is a No. 5. 9) You laugh at this because you are a fun loving person & everyone does it, too. 10) You are probably going to send this to see who else falls for it.

Saturday, October 17, 2020

CONPLAN 8888 | Counter Zombie Dominance Plan

DoD Training CONPLAN 8888 | Counter Zombie Dominance Plan 

So if a zombie were to come lumbering up your block right now, what would you do? Reach for your weapon? Bolt the doors and windows and stay inside? Rush to your nearest gun shop? Maybe try to make it on post? 

If you've watched even one episode of The Walking Dead, or if you're a fan of any of the jokey zombie movies that have come out in the last few years, you and your buddies have probably spent at least one evening over beers talking about what you would do if zombies suddenly decided to rush you. It turns out that you're not the only one thinking about these plans. 

In fact, the DoD has been considering what the military should do if a zombie apocalypse were to take place. "This plan was not actually designed as a joke." So starts out CONPLAN 8888, better known as the Counter Zombie Dominance Plan (CZDP), unveiled by the Joint Combined Warfighting School back in 2009. It's easy to make fun of, for sure, but there might be some real training gems nestled inside this strange idea. The plan's overall purpose isn't to actually train and prepare for zombies, but what the military should do to "preserve non-zombie humans" from the very significant threats posed by a zombie horde. 

It's also endearing that the DoD is thinking outside the box when it comes to training. Even more comforting is knowing that even if an army of the undead were to attack civilization, there's no chance they'd win. 

Here's why: 

o Aircraft -- No matter if we get attacked by fast or slow zombies, they're no match for modern aircraft. Fighter jets have serious destructive potential, and they're incredibly accurate. And since we're pretty sure zombies never got the training on how to shelter in place, they'd probably just stand out in the open with fighter jets zipping overhead. 

o Body Armor -- This goes without saying but putting on your gear will definitely help prevent you and your buddies from being bitten by zombies. In most zombie scenarios, they're limited to human strength, so we're pretty sure they can't chew through your IOTV. 

o Landmines -- Landmines are nothing to mess with, but fortunately, most humans know to stay away from minefields once the first device is detonated. We're counting on zombies not being so smart and would expect them to continue navigating the field, even while the mines exploded all around them. And since zombies are fairly easy to predict, herding them into minefields could be an effective way to deal with them. 

o Machine Guns -- Mass charges are all zombies really do. They overrun their target and bite them until they become zombies too. Machine gun fire would put a stop to that quickly. 

o Tanks -- This one is pretty obvious, but so often overlooked in a takeover of the undead scenario. The truth is that the explosive firepower of tanks means that very few zombies could survive an attack. Even if ammo was low, tanks could easily just run over swarms of zombies, fixing the problem.  

Training against fake nations and fake enemies is nothing new CZDP explores what would happen after a political fallout, a broken chain of command, and a target-rich environment, as would happen if zombies were to suddenly take over the earth. It's just like when the military issues training guides to combat fictional nations like the "Pineladians" or the "Krasnovians," both fictional countries the military trains to fight against. Fictional countries the military trains to fight aren't new. In fact, it's a standard part of lots of military training. Zombies aside, the military does this by design – in part to ensure that they don't set off any political red flags by having our service members train against nation-states, and because it helps things stay light in the face of what could be some really dark scenarios. 

Of course, the Pentagon doesn't actually believe that a zombie takeover is likely, but the training for battling the undead is remarkably useful for other training events. And, since the training manual is so absurd, students at the Joint Warfighters College actually paid attention, were engaged in the lesson, and explored the basic concepts of planning and order development – all very important things for the future leaders of the military. 

[Source: We Are The Mighty | Jessica Evans | October 07, 2020 ++]

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

Bennett R. Coles' Dark Star Rising

The misfit crew of HMSS Daring is back in Bennett R. Coles' Dark Star Rising Exuberant after scoring a major victory against enemy pirates, the star sailing ship HMSS Daring eagerly embarks on its new mission. Until the pirate network is dismantled and its mysterious leader Dark Star brought to justice, the safety of the empire remains in jeopardy. Supported by the ship’s misfit crew, Subcommander Liam Blackwood and Quartermaster Amelia Virtue go undercover, following leads that take them deep into the pirate network. Yet the closer they get to its center and the elusive Dark Star, the clearer it becomes that all is not what it seems. Pirates aren’t the only danger the duo face. Empowered by imperial decree, an old enemy is murdering noble families and taking their property—an enemy that has a personal grudge against Daring and her crew. And now he is on his way across the galaxy to exact revenge. Caught between ruthless pirates, a vengeful enemy, and their own increasingly intense feelings, Liam and Amelia must use all their cunning, charm, and daring to get out this alive. Dark Star Rising is now available in paperback.

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

The Burning God by R.F. Kuang

Get exclusive content from R.F. Kuang with pre-order of The Burning God! The epic Poppy War series is nearing its stunning conclusion. As a special treat for fans, receive exclusive bonus content from R.F. Kuang, with three key scenes from the trilogy presented from Nezha's point of view when you submit your proof of pre-order for The Burning God! Despite her losses, Rin hasn’t given up on those for whom she has sacrificed so much. Returning to her roots, Rin meets difficult challenges—and unexpected opportunities. While her new allies in the Southern Coalition leadership are sly and untrustworthy, Rin quickly realizes that the real power in Nikan lies with the millions of common people who thirst for vengeance and revere her as a goddess of salvation. Backed by the masses and her Southern Army, Rin will use every weapon to defeat the Dragon Republic, the colonizing Hesperians, and all who threaten the shamanic arts and their practitioners. As her power and influence grows, though, will she be strong enough to resist the Phoenix’s intoxicating voice urging her to burn the world and everything in it? On sale November 17th, The Poppy War is available for pre-order.

Monday, October 12, 2020

The Neil Gaiman Reader

A Must-Have for Your Bookshelf: The Neil Gaiman Reader The Neil Gaiman Reader goes on sale October 20th, and we've created social media accounts dedicated to all things Neil and his upcoming book. In celebration of Neil's literary genius and legacy, these pages will feature exclusive quotes, excerpts, photographs, and videos that you can't find anywhere else. Follow The Neil Gaiman Reader on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook. The Neil Gaiman Reader is the definitive collection of Neil Gaiman’s vast body of work—52 short stories and excerpts that span his career, selected by his most devoted readers. Pre-order your copy from your favorite bookstore today.

Sunday, October 11, 2020

The Bladebone by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The fourth and final novel in Ausma Zehanat Khan's powerful fantasy quartet is now on sale "Bringing such a complex series to a satisfying end is no small feat, and Zehanat Khan pulls it off with grace." — Publishers Weekly (starred review) Armed with the powerful sorcery of the Bloodprint and supported by the Talisman, the oppressive One-Eyed Preacher is on the verge of conquering Ashfall, the Black Khan’s capital in the west. Yet not all is lost for Arian, Sinnia and the Council of Hira. If these brave female warriors can uncover the secrets of an ancient magic weapon known as the Bladebone, they can defeat the Preacher and crush his cruel regime. Neither Arian and Sinnia, nor their allies, the Mages of Khorasan, know the Bladebone’s whereabouts, and not all may survive the search to uncover it. Pursued by a nefarious enemy aligned with the Preacher, they become separated, each following a different path. Then, in their darkest hour, unexpected help appears. But is the Khanum of Black Aura a friend or foe? Arian may discover the answer too late. The Bladebone is now available in paperback.

Saturday, October 10, 2020

Military Q&A, Part 2

How Do They Separate the Men From the Boys in the Navy? With a crowbar! How Do You Knock Out a Marine Drinking Water? Slam the toilet lid on his head. How Many American Officers Does It Take to Screw in a Light Bulb? Only one, but they do it from 30 miles away using laser targeting at a cost of $8.3 million. What Do You Call a Marine with an Open Head Wound? Ajar head. What Branch of the Military Do Babies Join? The infantry! What Did One Sailor Say to the Other When They Had the Same Problem? "We're in the same boat." Have You Heard about the Karate Champion Who Joined the Military? He nearly killed himself the first time he saluted! Why Was the Sergeant Upset That His Son Got an A in Math? Because he spent more time dividing than conquering! What Don't You Say to a Marine? I thought you had to be in relatively good physical condition to join the Marine Corps. What's the Difference Between Aeroflot & The Scud Missile? Aeroflot has killed more people.

Friday, October 9, 2020

Welcome to issue #105 of the Donald M. Grant Newsletter

Welcome to issue #105 of the Donald M. Grant Newsletter 6 October 2020 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 1. PHIL HALE - KICKSTARTER - USE MUSIC TO KILL 2. STEPHEN KING ARTIST/GIFT EDITIONS AVAILABLE ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 1. PHIL HALE - KICKSTARTER - USE MUSIC TO KILL We are publishing a new Phil Hale art book - USE MUSIC TO KILL - which showcases the last fifteen years of Phil Hale’s art and are initially selling it through a Kickstarter project. USE MUSIC TO KILL is a collection of over two hundred paintings, photographs, drawings and collages in Phil's distinctive style, from a career that has spanned fine art, portraiture, illustration, fashion photography, film and music. It is a full color 11” x 11”, 272 page hardcover book. For Donald M. Grant, Phil illustrated THE DARK TOWER II: THE DRAWING OF THE THREE and A MONSTER AT CHRISTMAS as well as three books of art - GOAD, MOCKING BIRDS/RELAXEDER and LIFE WANTS TO LIVE - as well as the collaborative DOUBLE MEMORY: ART AND  COLLABORATION with Rick Berry, This new book will be available on our website after the Kickstarter project is over but at a higher price. If you have friends who like Phil’s art please let them know about this. The Kickstarter information is here: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/philhale/phil-hales-use-music-to-kill 2. STEPHEN KING ARTIST/GIFT EDITIONS AVAILABLE Still available are the Artist Editions of THE DARK TOWER VII: THE DARK TOWER (signed by Michael Whelan) and THE  WIND THROUGH THE KEYHOLE (signed by Jae Lee). Please note that these two Artist Editions were released prior to the Trade Editions and so are First Editions of these books. Links to the specific pages are at: https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/wind-through-keyhole-artist/ https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/dark-tower-vii-artist/ Thank you. Robert K. Wiener, President Donald M. Grant, Publisher, Inc.

Thursday, October 8, 2020

Military Q&A, Part 1

Military Q&As How Do You Play Air Force Bingo? B-52...F-16...A-10. What Do You Call a Soldier Who Survived Mustard Gas & Pepper Spray? A seasoned veteran. What Do You Call a Marine with an IQ of 160? A platoon! What's the Difference Between the Army and the Boy Scouts? The Boy Scouts have adult supervision. Which Month Do Soldiers Hate? March! What's the Main Mission of the Marines? To make sure the Army never get their feet wet. What's the Difference Between a Fighter Pilot and a Fighter Jet? The jet stops whining when the engines are shut off. What's Long, Hard, and Full of Seamen? A submarine! Did You Hear about the Accident at the Army Base? A tank ran over a box of popcorn and killed two kernals!

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 10

Joke #10 A soldier and a marine were walking through the woods one day when they came upon a bear. The soldier immediately sat down and began digging through his rucksack. He pulled out a pair of running shoes and started putting them on. The Marine said “Are you crazy? You know you can’t outrun a bear, right?” The soldier said, “The way I see it, I just have to outrun you.”

Monday, October 5, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 9

Joke #9 A Soldier and a Marine were sitting next to each other on a plane. The Marine took off his boots and began to stretch out. The soldier swore under his breath at the Marine and told him he wanted to get up and get a drink. The Marine insisted that since he was in the aisle seat he would get it for him. The Soldier agreed, and when the Marine went to get his drink he started spitting in the Marine’s boots. When the Marine came back the Soldier nodded and thanked him for the drink, very pleased he pulled one ver on the Marine. This happened several times times throughout the flight. When the plane was descending for the landing, the Marine put his boots back on and quickly realized the Soldier had been spitting in his boots. To the Soldiers surprise, the Marine was laughing about it. He looked over at the Soldier and said “when are we going to stop playing these games, spitting in each other’s boots and pissing in each other’s drinks, it’s so juvenile!”

Sunday, October 4, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 8

Joke #8 As we stood in formation at the Pensacola Naval Air Station, our Flight Instructor said, “All right! All you dummies fall out.” As the rest of the squad wandered away, I remained at attention. The instructor walked over until he was eye-to-eye with me, and then just raised a single eyebrow. I smiled and said, “Sure was a lot of ‘em, huh sir?”

Saturday, October 3, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 7

Joke #7 Army Says: “HOOOOOAH!” Marines Say “OOOOORAH!” Navy and Coast Guard Say “HOOOOOYAH!” Air Force Says “OKEY DOKEY?”

Friday, October 2, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 6

Joke #6 An Army Drill Sergeant took some recruits to the mess hall. After everyone had made it through the chow line, he sat them down and told them “There are three rules in this mess hall - Shut up! Eat up! Get up!” Checking to see that he had everyone’s attention, he asked, “What is the first rule?” Much to the amusement of the other instructors, 60 privates yelled in unison, “Shut up, Drill Sergeant!”

Thursday, October 1, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 5

Joke #5 US Air Force: Birds US Army: Choppers US Navy: Helos US Marine Corps: OHH! OHH OHOH! (pointing at the sky)

Wednesday, September 30, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 4

Joke #4 An Airman, Soldier, and Marine are sitting around talking about hardships they faced on their last deployment. Airman: “The worst was when the air conditioner in our tent broke and it was 110 outside!” Soldier: “WTF, you had air conditioners?” Marine: “Wait, stop. You had tents?”

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 3

Joke #3 A visitor, returning to Kuwait for the first time since the Gulf War, was impressed by a sociological change. On previous visits, she noted that women customarily walked about 5 paces behind their husbands. She observed that the men now walked over 20 paces BEHIND their wives! She approached one of the women for an explanation: “What enabled women here to achieve this marvelous reversal of roles?” “Land mines,” replied the Kuwaiti woman.

Monday, September 28, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 2

Person 1 - Hey Buddy, have you got change for a $5? Person 2 - Yeah, sure. Person 1 - Is that any way to talk to an Offier? Let's try this again; have you got change for a $5? Person 2 - No Sir!

Sunday, September 27, 2020

Ten Days of Military Jokes, Day 1

Joke #1  Ask the Army to secure a building and they will set up a perimeter around it and make sure nobody gets out.  Ask the Marines to secure a building and they will charge in, kill everybody inside, and then set up defenses to make sure nobody gets in.  Ask the Navy to secure a building and they will turn off all the lights and lock all the doors at 1700.  Ask the Air Force to secure a building and they will sign a 10 year lease with an option to buy.

Friday, September 25, 2020

Some Days It Doesn't Pay to Read the Paper

Today was one of those days. Treatment and care for our Veterans is spotty at best and it is sad to find out that they were treated this way. Hopefully, the Veterans will haunt these folks and the legal system will give them double what I think the deserve. Two former leaders of a Massachusetts veterans’ home were indicted on charges of criminal neglect in connection to a coronavirus outbreak that contributed to the deaths of at least 76 residents, the state’s attorney general said on Friday. Bennett Walsh, 50, and Dr. David Clinton, 71, were indicted Thursday by a state grand jury on charges related to their work at the facility, the Holyoke Soldiers’ Home in Holyoke, Mass. Mr. Walsh had been the superintendent of the facility, and Dr. Clinton its medical director. “We began this investigation on behalf of the families who lost loved ones under tragic circumstances and to honor these men who bravely served our country,” the state attorney general, Maura Healey, said in a statement. “We allege that the actions of these defendants during the Covid-19 outbreak at the facility put veterans at higher risk of infection and death and warrant criminal charges.” Each man was indicted on five counts for two charges; the specific charges were for caretakers who “wantonly or recklessly” permit or cause bodily injury and abuse, neglect or mistreatment of an older or disabled person. Lawyers for Mr. Walsh and Dr. Clinton, of Springfield and South Hadley, Mass., could not immediately be reached. The Soldiers’ Home in Holyoke, A STATE RUN FACILITY, that provides health care, hospice care and other assistance to veterans, has been under investigation since early April, when the attorney general’s office said it learned of “serious issues with Covid-19 infection control procedures.” By then, the authorities were growing increasingly worried about the facility, which was established in 1952 and housed frail veterans of World War II and other conflicts. Within five days, eight veterans had died, others were sick with the coronavirus, and staff members were also falling ill. Investigators focused on the events of late March, when staff members combined two dementia wards with infected veterans and healthy residents, “increasing the exposure of asymptomatic veterans to the virus,” the attorney general’s office said. Because of staffing shortages, the facility consolidated the units, which had a total of 42 residents who had different Covid-19 statuses, the office said. Residents who were positive or symptomatic were placed six in a room that typically held four veterans, it said. Residents believed to be asymptomatic were placed in nine beds in the dining room, where they were “a few feet apart from each other” and next to the room where the infected patients were, it said. One employee of the facility told investigators that the decision to merge wards was “the most insane thing I ever saw in my entire life,” according to a report released months later. “The residents in the consolidated unit were allegedly mingling together, regardless of Covid-19 status,” the office said, adding that this decision was reckless from an infection-control perspective, and placed the asymptomatic veterans at “an increased risk of contracting Covid-19.” In June, investigators released a 174-page report that depicted a facility in chaos, excoriated the decision to combine crowded wards and described conditions in nightmarish terms. In addition to cataloging a series of errors in protecting residents, the report quoted people who worked at the facility, including one who said it “felt like it was moving the concentration camp, we were moving these unknowing veterans off to die.” The office said that Mr. Walsh and Dr. Clinton, who were not taken into custody, would be arraigned in Hampden County Superior Court but did not specify a date. Dr. Clinton resigned in the aftermath of the investigators’ report, and Mr. Walsh was placed on administrative leave on March 30.

Thursday, September 17, 2020

Only in Florida?


An elderly Floridian called 911 on his cell phone to report that his car has been broken into.

He is hysterical as he explains his situation to the dispatcher:'

They've stolen the stereo, the steering wheel, the brake pedal and even the accelerator!' he cried.

The dispatcher said, 'Stay calm... An officer is on the way.'

A few minutes later, the officer radios in 'Disregard.' He says. 'He got in the back-seat by mistake.'

Tuesday, September 15, 2020

Hearing Aides Optional...


Three sisters, ages 92, 94 and 96, lived in a house together. One night the 96-year-old draws a bath. She puts her foot in and pauses. She yells to the other sisters, 'Was I getting in or out of the bath?'

The 94-year-old yells back, 'I don't know. I'll come up and see.' She starts up the stairs and pauses 'Was I going up the stairs or down?'

The 92-year-old is sitting at the kitchen table having tea listening to her sisters, she shakes her head and says, 'I sure hope I never get that forgetful, knock on wood...'

She then yells, 'I'll come up and help both of you as soon as I see who's at the door.'

#######

Three retirees, each with a hearing loss, were playing golf one fine March day.
One remarked to the other, 'Windy, isn't it?'

'No,' the second man replied, 'it's Thursday.'

And the third man chimed in, 'So am I. Let's have a beer.'

#######

A little old lady was going up and down the halls in a nursing home.

As she walked, she would flip up the hem of her nightgown and say 'Supersex’.

'She walked up to an elderly man in a wheelchair and flipping her gown at him, she said, 'Supersex’.

'He sat silently for a moment or two and finally answered, 'I'll take the soup.'

#######

Two elderly gentlemen had been friends for many decades. Over the years, they had shared all kinds of activities and adventures. Lately, their activities had been limited to meeting a few times a week to play cards. One day, they were playing cards when one looked at the other and said, 'Now don't get mad at me .... I know we've been friends for a long time, but I just can't think of your name!'

I've thought and thought, but I can't remember it. Please tell me what your name is.'

His friend stared at him for at least three minutes -- he just stared and stared at him. Finally he said, 'How soon do you need to know?'

Sunday, September 13, 2020

Elderly drivers


As a senior citizen was driving down the freeway, his car phone rang.

Answering, he heard his wife's voice urgently warning him, 'Herman, I just heard on the news that there's a car going the wrong way on Interstate 77. Please be careful!

''Heck,' said Herman, 'It's not just one car. It's hundreds of them!'

#######

Two elderly women were out driving in a large car - both could barely see over the dashboard. As they were cruising along, they came to an intersection. The stoplight was red, but they just went on through. The woman in the passenger seat thought to herself ' I must be losing it. I could have sworn we just went through a red light.'

After a few more minutes, they came to another intersection and the light was red. Again, they went right through. The woman in the passenger seat was almost sure that the light had been red but was really concerned that she was losing it. She was getting nervous.

At the next intersection, sure enough, the light was red and they went on through. So, she turned to the other woman and said, 'Mildred, did you know that we just ran through three red lights in a row? You could have killed us both!'

Mildred turned to her and said, 'Oh, crap, am I driving?'

Friday, September 11, 2020

Fourth Wedding, Guess the Dress Color


A woman who had been married three times walked into a bridal shop and told the sales clerk that she was looking for a wedding gown for her fourth wedding.

"Of course, madam," replied the sales clerk, "exactly what type and color dress are you looking for?"

The bride-to-be said, "A long frilly white dress with a veil."

"Please don't take this the wrong way, madam, but such dresses are usually more fitting for the first time bride who is more innocent in the ways of life, if you get my meaning."


"WELL!", replied the customer, a little peeved at the clerk's directness. "I can assure you that a white gown would be quite appropriate. Believe it or not, despite all my marriages, I remain as innocent as a first-time bride.

You see, my first husband was so excited about our wedding, he had a heart attack due to an unknown congenital condition as we were checking into our honeymoon hotel.

My second husband and I got into such a terrible fight in the limo on our way to our honeymoon hotel that we had that wedding annulled immediately and never spoke to each other again."

"What about your third husband?"

"That one was a Democrat," said the woman, "and every night for four years, he just sat on the edge of the bed and told me how good it was going to be, but nothing ever happened."

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

ReV by Madeline Ashby

The long-awaited third book in the acclaimed Machine Dynasty series

The rapture for which the vN, self-replicating humanoids, were engineered, has finally come to pass. Now that the failsafe that once kept vN from harming humans has been hacked, all vN are discovering the promise – and the peril – of free will.

With her consciousness unleashed across computer systems all across the world, the vicious vN Portia stands poised to finally achieve her lifelong dream of bringing humanity to its knees. The old battle between her and her granddaughter Amy comes to an epic conclusion in the war for the very systems that keeps the planet running. Can Amy get her family to the stars before Portia destroys every opportunity for escape and freedom?

Available from your favorite book seller.

Monday, September 7, 2020

Red Noise by John P. Murphy


Call her Jane if you need a name.

Just remember: She's not here to make friends.

Broke and out of fuel, a wildcat asteroid miner comes to Station 35 looking to sell her cargo and get back to the life of solitude that she craves. Instead, the cheating thieves who run the place leave her deep in debt.

Desperate to get away, she finds herself swept up in a three-way standoff between gangs and crooked cops. Faced with the decision to take sides or clean out the Augean Stables, she breaks out the grenades...

"Stylish, funny, action-packed, cinematic, Red Noise is the gravity-defying, bullet-lasering, Yojimbo-in-space you've been waiting for!" - Ken Liu, award-winning author of The Grace of Kings.

Available from your favorite book seller.

Saturday, September 5, 2020

The Machine Dynasty Omnibus by Madeline Ashby


The Machine Dynasty Omnibus by Madeline Ashby

For the first time, the complete epic sci-fi masterwork from the visionary mind of Madeline Ashby is collected in a single digital omnibus!​

The Machine Dynasty Omnibus includes the complete text of vN, iD, and ReV, as well as an exclusive foreword from Patrick Thaddeus Jackson, and an introduction from Anne Lauppe-Dunbar.

Available now at your favorite book store.

Thursday, September 3, 2020

Triumff by Dan Abnett

Vivat Regina!

It is the year 2010, and Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth XXX sits upon the throne of the Anglo-Hispanic Empire. Fuelled by alchemy and superstition, the Elizabethan era has endured unchallenged for almost 450 years. But now, a shadowy conspiracy threatens to bring it to a violent end…

Unfortunately for roguish adventurer Sir Rupert Triumff, lately fallen from favour at court, he makes the perfect scapegoat. If Triumff is to uncover the plot, save the Queen, and clear his name, he’ll need all his wit, skill, and charm, and every tool in his magical Swiss Army Knife. Even the nail buffer.

From the madcap mind of multi-million bestselling author Dan Abnett comes a furious maelstrom of incredible swordfights, wild invention, and truly awful puns.

Available at your favorite book store.

Bystander 27 by Rik Hoskin

Who will save you from the heroes?

For ex-Navy SEAL Jon Hayes, the super-powered ‘costumes’ are just part of ordinary life in New York City, until the day his pregnant wife Melanie is senselessly killed in a clash between Captain Light and The Jade Shade.

But as Hayes struggles to come to terms with his loss, and questions for the first time who the costumes are and where they come from, the once sharp lines of his reality begin to blur…If Hayes wants to uncover the shocking truth about the figures behind the costumes, and get justice for his fallen family, he’ll have to step out of the background, and stop being a bystander.

Available from your favorite bookstore.

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Check out these other titles from Harper Collins


Be sure to check out these titles on amazon.com or your favorite bookseller.

Sunday, August 30, 2020

Pre-order your copy of Prime Deceptions


Pre-order your copy of the next hilariously quirky and outrageously fun science-fiction novel from critically acclaimed author Valerie Valdes

Captain Eva Innocente and the crew of La Sirena Negra find themselves once again on the fringe of populated space—and at the center of a raging covert war. When Eva’s sister asks for help locating a missing scientist, promises of a big paycheck and a noble cause convince Eva to take the job despite lingering trust issues.

With reluctant assistance from her estranged mother, Eva and her crew follow the missing scientist’s trail across the universe, from the costume-filled halls of a never-ending convention to a dangerous bot-fighting arena. They ultimately find themselves at the last place Eva wants to see again—Garilia—where she experienced her most shameful and haunting failure.

To complete her mission and get paid, Eva must navigate a paradise embroiled in a rebellion, where massive forests and pristine beaches hide psychic creatures and pervasive surveillance technology. Can she find her quarry while avoiding the oppressive local regime, or will she be doomed to repeat past mistakes when her dark deeds come to light?

Pre-order your copy of Prime Deceptions before it goes on sale September 8th!

Friday, August 28, 2020

A new wondrous tale of space travel, adventure, and humanity.

Deep in the heart of an alien mountain range, I.C.C. has lain dormant, its ships silent, for eons. Now, after one hundred thousand years, the AI is awakening. Someone is roaming the convoy's halls—someone that isn't human.

This planet, Noumenon—created by the megastructure known as the Web—is too young and brutal to have evolved intelligent life. Its surface is bombarded by unusual meteors. Crystal trees abruptly and violently arise from its bedrock. Its solar system is surrounded by a frightening space-time anomaly. So where did these visitors come from? What do they want? And do the people of Earth, whose ancestors launched Convoy Seven, know they are here?

I.C.C. reaches out to the descendants of its convoy crew to help decipher this primordial riddle. Noumenon was created and seeded by ancient aliens, and clearly their plans for it are unfinished. Together, the AI, the new lifeforms who have awakened it, and the humans will embark on an epic adventure of discovery billions of years in the making.

Noumenon Ultra is on sale now.

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Urban fantasy fans shouldn’t miss the newest Sandman Slim adventure!

As the battle between warring angels continues, James Stark is focused on seemingly simpler matters now that he’s resurfaced on earth: an invasion of ghosts. L.A.’s Little Cairo neighborhood has suddenly been overrun by violent spirits, and Thomas Abbott knows if anyone can figure out why they’ve appeared—and how to get rid of them—it’s Stark.

Armed with the Room of Thirteen Doors, Stark quickly learns that the answer may reach back to the 1970s and the unsolved murder of small-time actor, Chris Stein. As he begins to dig into the cold case, another area of Stark’s life takes an unexpected turn when he becomes entangled with Janet, a woman he saved during the High Plains Drifter zombie attack.

Janet’s brush with the living dead hasn’t quenched her thirst for danger. She’s an adrenaline junkie and a member of The Zero Lodge—a club that promises “there’s zero chance you’ll get out alive.” The Lodge attracts thrill seekers who flock to perilous events such as night walks through the LA Zoo—with its deadliest animals uncaged. Joining the lodge to be with Janet, Stark makes a pair of crucial discoveries that could decide the fate of LA and Heaven itself.

To prevent the Little Cairo haunting from consuming the city, Stark must piece together the connections between the Lodge and a missing angel last seen in a Hollywood porn palace. But while he may dispatch the ghosts, Stark knows that without his help, the bloody war in Heaven could rage forever.

Ballistic Kiss is available now wherever books are sold.

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Senior Citizens , You ill Be One Soon


An elderly couple had dinner at another couple's house, and after eating, the wives left the table and went into the kitchen.

The two gentlemen were talking, and one said, 'Last night we went out to a new restaurant and it was really great. I would recommend it very highly.'

The other man said, 'What is the name of the restaurant?'

The first man thought and thought and finally said, 'What’s the name of that flower you give to someone you love? You know, the one that's red and has thorns.'

'Do you mean a rose?'

'Yes, that's the one,' replied the man. He then turned towards the kitchen and yelled, 'Rose, what's the name of that restaurant we went to last night?'

#########

Hospital regulations require a wheel chair for patients being discharged. However, while working as a student nurse, I found one elderly gentleman already dressed and sitting on the bed with a suitcase at his feet, who insisted he’d didn't need my help to leave the hospital.

After a chat about rules being rules, he reluctantly let me wheel him to the elevator.

On the way down I asked him if his wife was meeting him.

'I don't know,' he said. 'She's still upstairs in the bathroom changing out of her hospital gown.'

#########

A senior citizen said to his eighty-year old buddy: 'So I hear you're getting married?'

'Yep!'

'Do I know her?'

'Nope!'

'This woman, is she good looking?'

'Not really.'

'Is she a good cook?'

'Naw, she can't cook too well.'

'Does she have lots of money?'

'Nope! Poor as a church mouse.'

'Well, then, is she good in the house

'I don't know.'

'Why in the world do you want to marry her then?'

'Because she can still drive!'

#########

A man was telling his neighbor, 'I just bought a new hearing aid. It cost me four thousand dollars, but it's state of the art. It's perfect.'

'Really,' answered the neighbor. 'What kind is it?'

'Twelve thirty.'

#########

Morris , an 82 year-old man, went to the doctor to get a physical.

A few days later, the doctor saw Morris walking down the street with a gorgeous young woman on his arm.

A couple of days later, the doctor spoke to Morris and said, 'You're really doing great, aren't you?'

Morris replied, 'Just doing what you said, Doc: 'Get a hot mamma and be cheerful.''

The doctor said, 'I didn't say that.. I said, 'You've got a heart murmur; be careful.'

#########

A little old man shuffled slowly into an ice cream parlour and pulled himself slowly, painfully, up onto a stool...

After catching his breath, he ordered a banana split.

The waitress asked kindly, 'Crushed nuts?'

'No,' he replied, 'Arthritis.'


FAIR USE NOTICE: This newsletter may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner.

The Editor/Publisher at times includes such material in an effort to advance reader’s understanding of veterans' and other issues. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law.

In accordance with Title 17 U. S. C. Section 107, the material in this newsletter is
distributed without profit to those who have expressed an interest in receiving the included information for educating themselves on veteran issues so they can better communicate with their legislators on issues affecting them.

Sunday, August 23, 2020

7 Reasons Not to Mess With Children

ONE

A little girl was talking to her teacher about whales.

The teacher said it was physically impossible for a whale to swallow a human because even though it was a very large mammal its throat was very small.

The little girl stated that Jonah was swallowed by a whale.

Irritated, the teacher reiterated that a whale could not swallow a human; it was physically impossible.

The little girl said, 'When I get to heaven I will ask Jonah'.

The teacher asked, 'What if Jonah went to hell?'

The little girl replied, 'Then you ask him'.

TWO

Kindergarten teacher was observing her classroom of children while they were drawing. She would occasionally walk around to see each child's work.

As she got to one little girl who was working diligently, she asked what the drawing was.
The girl replied, 'I'm drawing God.'

The teacher paused and said, 'But no one knows what God looks like.'

Without missing a beat, or looking up from her drawing, the girl replied, 'They will in a minute.'

THREE


A Sunday school teacher was discussing the Ten Commandments with her five and six year olds.
After explaining the commandment to 'honor' thy Father and thy Mother, she asked, 'Is there a commandment that teaches us how to treat our brothers and sisters?'

From the back, one little boy (the oldest of a family) answered, 'Thou shall not kill.'

FOUR

One day a little girl was sitting and watching her mother do the dishes at the kitchen sink. She suddenly noticed that her mother had several strands of white hair sticking out in contrast on her brunette head.

She looked at her mother and inquisitively asked, 'Why are some of your hairs white, Mum?'
Her mother replied, 'Well, every time that you do something wrong and make me cry or unhappy, one of my hairs turns white.'

The little girl thought about this revelation for a while and then said, 'Mummy, how come ALL of grandma's hairs are white?'

FIVE


The children had all been photographed, and the teacher was trying to persuade them each to buy a copy of the group picture.

'Just think how nice it will be to look at it when you are all grown up and say, 'There's Jennifer, she's a lawyer,' or 'That's Michael, He's a doctor.'

A small voice at the back of the room rang out, 'And there's the teacher, she's dead.'

SIX

A teacher was giving a lesson on the circulation of the blood. Trying to make the matter clearer, she said, 'Now, class, if I stood on my head, the blood, as you know, would run into it, and I would turn red in the face.'

'Yes,' the class said.

'Then why is it that while I am standing upright in the ordinary position the blood doesn't run into my feet?'

A little fellow shouted, 'Cause your feet ain't empty.'

SEVEN

The children were lined up in the cafeteria of a Catholic elementary school for lunch. At the head of the table was a large pile of apples.

The nun made a note, and posted on the apple tray: 'Take only ONE . God is watching.'

Moving further along the lunch line, at the other end of the table was a large pile of chocolate chip cookies.

A child had written a note, 'Take all you want. God is watching the apples..'


FAIR USE NOTICE: This newsletter may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner.

The Editor/Publisher at times includes such material in an effort to advance reader’s understanding of veterans' and other issues. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law.

In accordance with Title 17 U. S. C. Section 107, the material in this newsletter is
distributed without profit to those who have expressed an interest in receiving the included information for educating themselves on veteran issues so they can better communicate with their legislators on issues affecting them.

Friday, August 21, 2020

Lessons learned during a long life:


I've learned that I like my teacher because she cries when we sing "Silent Night". Age 5

I've learned that our dog doesn't want to eat my broccoli either. Age 7

I've learned that when I wave to people in the country, they stop what they are doing and wave back. Age 9

I've learned that just when I get my room that way I like it, Mom makes me clean it up again. Age 12

I've learned that if you want to cheer yourself up, you should try cheering someone else up. Age 14

I've learned that although it's hard to admit it, I'm secretly glad my parents are strict with me. Age 15

I've learned that silent company is often more healing that words of advice. Age 24

I've learned that brushing my child's hair is one of life's great pleasures. Age 26

I've learned that wherever I go, the world's worst drivers have followed me there. Age 29

I've learned that if someone says something unkind about me, I must live so that no one will believe it. Age 30

I've learned that there are people who love you dearly but just don't know how to show it. Age 42

I've learned that you can make someone's day be simply sending them a little note. Age 44

I've learned that the greater a person's sense of guilt, the greater his or her need to cast blame on others. Age 46

I've learned that children and grandparents are natural allies. Age 47

I've learned that no matter what happens, or how bad it seems today, life does go on and it will be better tomorrow. Age 48

I've learned that singing "Amazing Grace" can lift my spirits for hours. Age 49

I've learned that motel mattresses are better on the side away from the phone. Age 50

I've learned that you can tell a lot about a man by the way he handles these three things: a rainy day, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights. Age 51

I've learned that keeping a vegetable garden is worth a medicine cabinet full of pills. Age 52

I've learned that regardless of your relationship with your parents, you miss them terribly after they die. Age 53

I've learned that making a living is not the same thing as making a life. Age 58

I've learned that life sometimes gives you a second chance. Age 62

I've learned that you shouldn't go through life with a catcher's mitt on both hands. You need to be able to throw something back. Age 64

I've learned that if you pursue happiness, it will elude you. But if you focus on your family, the needs of others, your work, meeting new people … and doing the very best you can, happiness will find you. Age 65

I've learned that whenever I decide something with kindness, I usually make the right decision. Age 66

I've learned that everyone can use a prayer. Age 72

I've learned that even when I have pains, I don't have to be one. Age 74

I've learned that every day you should reach out and touch someone. People love that human touch, holding hands, a warm hug, or just a friendly pat on the back. Age 76

I've learned that I still have a lot to learn. Age 78

If Things Get Better With Age Then I'm Approaching Excellent.

FAIR USE NOTICE: This newsletter may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner.

The Editor/Publisher at times includes such material in an effort to advance reader’s understanding of veterans' and other issues. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law.

In accordance with Title 17 U. S. C. Section 107, the material in this newsletter is
distributed without profit to those who have expressed an interest in receiving the included information for educating themselves on veteran issues so they can better communicate with their legislators on issues affecting them.

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Haircut


One day a florist went to a barber for a haircut. After the cut, he asked about his bill, and the barber replied, 'I cannot accept money from you, I'm doing community service this week.’

The florist was pleased and left the shop.

When the barber went to open his shop the next morning, there was a 'thank you' card and a dozen roses waiting for him at his door.

Later, a cop comes in for a haircut, and when he tries to pay his bill, the barber again replied, 'I cannot accept money from you, I'm doing community service this week.’

The cop was happy and left the shop.

The next morning when the barber went to open up, there was a 'thank you' card and a dozen donuts waiting for him at his door.

Then a Congressman came in for a haircut, and when he went to pay his bill, the barber again replied, 'I cannot accept money from you. I'm doing community service this week.’

The Congressman was very happy and left the shop.

The next morning, when the barber went to open up, there were a dozen Congressmen lined up waiting for a free haircut.

And that, my friends, illustrates the fundamental difference between the citizens of our country and the politicians who run it.

As Ronald Reagan said: "Both politicians and diapers need to be changed often and for the same reason.”

Monday, August 10, 2020

Rogue Report


• The Washington Redskins yielded to advertiser pressure and dropped their Redskins name, bowing to claims it's insensitive. And it didn't stop there. Hershey's announced Tuesday they are changing the name of Payday candy bars because it is offensive to people who don't want to work.

• Jeffrey Epstein's pimp Ghislaine Maxwell was denied bail Tuesday and will stay in jail. It was a year ago the nation was surprised to hear that Epstein had committed suicide while in federal custody in New York. If you think you were surprised by Epstein's suicide, how do you think HE felt?

• President Trump acknowledged in his press conference Tuesday that a federal execution took place Tuesday. The U.S. government executed its first convicted prisoner in seventeen years, a white supremacist. CNN said it just shows that under Trump, white people get to go to the front of every line.

• Portland protesters expressed a desire to destroy all vestiges of white privilege. The next day, the first inmate the feds executed since 2013 was a white supremacist. The executioner showed the Neo-Nazi a selfie of his daughter with an NBA player, and he died before they could strap him in.

• Joe Biden dismissed Trump's charges about his mental capacity and pointed out his excellent physical shape. Like many people getting up there in years, he periodically suffers some stiffness in his lower back. So last week Joe Biden went to a chiropractor, who referred him to a paleontologist.

• The London Daily Mail quoted Swedish teen climate activist Greta Thunberg saying preserving ocean life is just as important as defeating the virus. I think ocean life is adapting just fine. Modern sea gulls wouldn't know what a fish looks like, but they know what time McDonald's opens.

Thursday, August 6, 2020

Freedom Isn’t Free


Have you ever wondered what happened to the 56 men who signed the Declaration of Independence?


o Five signers were captured by the British as traitors, and tortured before they died.

o Twelve had their homes ransacked and burned.

o Two lost their sons serving in the Revolutionary Army; another had two sons captured.

o Nine of the 56 fought and died from wounds or hardships of the Revolutionary War.

o They signed and they pledged their lives, their fortunes, and their sacred honor.

What kind of men were they?


o Twenty-four were lawyers and jurists.

o Eleven were merchants, nine were farmers and large plantation owners; men of means, well-educated, but
they signed the Declaration of Independence knowing full well that the penalty would be death if they were captured.

o Carter Braxton of Virginia, a wealthy planter and trader, saw his ships swept from the seas by the British Navy. He sold his home and properties to pay his debts and died in rags.

o Thomas McKeam was so hounded by the British that he was forced to move his family almost constantly. He
served in the Congress without pay, and his family was kept in hiding. His possessions were taken from him, and poverty was his reward.

o Vandals or soldiers looted the properties of Dillery, Hall, Clymer, Walton, Gwinnett, Heyward, Ruttledge, and Middleton.

o At the battle of Yorktown, Thomas Nelson, Jr., noted that the British General Cornwallis had taken over the Nelson home for his headquarters. He quietly urged General George Washington to open fire. The home was destroyed, and Nelson died bankrupt.

o Francis Lewis had his home and properties destroyed. The enemy jailed his wife, and she died within a few months.

o John Hart was driven from his wife's bedside as she was dying. Their 13 children fled for their lives. His fields and his grist-mill were laid to waste. For more than a year he lived in forests and caves, returning home to find his wife dead and his children vanished.

So, take a few minutes and silently thank these patriots. Remember: freedom is not and was never free! We need to thank these early patriots, in prayers, words, and deeds, as well as those patriots that are now still fighting to keep our freedom! We owe it to them to proclaim our patriotism now.

Saturday, August 1, 2020

TO ALL THE KIDS WHO SURVIVED THE 1930’s, 40’s and 50’s!!


 First, we survived being born to mothers who may have smoked and/or drank - While they were pregnant.
They took aspirin, ate blue cheese dressing, tuna from a can, and didn't get tested for diabetes. Then, after that trauma, we were put to sleep on our tummies in baby cribs covered with bright colored lead-based paints.

 We had no childproof lids on medicine bottles, locks on doors or cabinets, and, when we rode our bikes, we had baseball caps, not helmets, on our heads.

 As infants and children, we would ride in cars with no car seats, no booster seats, no seat belts, no air bags, bald tires and sometimes no brakes. Riding in the back of a pick-up truck on a warm day was always a special treat.

 We drank water from the garden hose and not from a bottle.

 We shared one soft drink with four friends, from one bottle, and no one actually died from this.

 We ate cupcakes, white bread, real butter and bacon. We drank Kool-Aid made with real white sugar. And
we weren't overweight. WHY? Because we were always outside playing...that's why!

 We would leave home in the morning and play all day, as long as we were back when the streetlights came
on. Unless you lived in the country, then you came home when the stars came out.

 No one was able to reach us all day…and we were OKAY.

 We would spend hours building our go-carts out of scraps and then ride them down the hill, only to find out that we forgot about brakes. After running into the bushes a few times, we learned to solve the problem.

 We did not have Play Stations, Nintendo and X-boxes. There were no video games, No 150 channels on
cable, No video movies Or DVDs, No surround-sound or CDs, no cell phones, no personal computers, no
Internet and no chat rooms. WE HAD FRIENDS. - And we went Outside. We rode bikes or walked to a
friend's house and knocked on the door or rang the bell, or just walked in and talked to them.

 Little League had tryouts; And not everyone made the team. Those who didn't had to learn to deal with
Disappointment. Imagine that!!

 The idea of a parent bailing us out if we broke the law was unheard of... They actually sided with the law!

These generations have produced some of the best risk-takers, problem solvers, and inventors ever. The past 60 to 85 years have seen an explosion of innovation and new ideas. We had freedom, failure, success and responsibility, and we learned how to deal with it all.
If you are one of those born between 1925 &1955, CONGRATULATIONS! You might want to share this with others who have had the luck to grow up as kids before the lawyers and the government regulated so much of our lives for our own good. While you are at it, forward this to your kids so they will know how brave and lucky their parents were.
Kind of makes you want to run through the house with scissors, doesn't it?

Friday, July 31, 2020

Groaners, Part 2


 An Indian chief was feeling very sick, so he summoned the medicine man. After a brief examination, the
medicine man took out a long, thin strip of elk rawhide and gave it to the chief, telling him to ! bite off, chew, and swallow one inch of the leather every day. After a month, the medicine man returned to see how the chief was feeling. The chief shrugged and said, ‘The thong is ended, but the malady lingers on.’

 A famous Viking explorer returned home from a voyage and found his name missing from the town register.
His wife insisted on complaining to the local civic official who apologized profusely saying, ‘I must have
taken Leif off my census.’

 There were three Indian squaws. One slept on a deer skin, one slept on an elk skin, and the third slept on a hippopotamus skin. All three became pregnant, and the first two each had a baby boy. The one who slept on the hippopotamus skin had twin boys. This goes to prove that the squaw of the hippopotamus is equal to the sons of the squaws of the other two hides.

 A skeptical anthropologist was cataloging South American folk remedies with the assistance of a tribal brujo who indicated that the leaves of a particular fern were a sure cure for any case of constipation. When the anthropologist expressed his doubts, the brujo looked him in the eye and said, ‘Let me tell you, with fronds like these, who needs enemas?’

Thursday, July 30, 2020

COVID 19, COVID 20, DO I HEAR COVID 21?


OK FOLKS, IT'S GETTING REAL OUT THERE. UP UNTIL TODAY I DID NOT KNOW ANYONE WITH THIS NASTY BUGGER. GOT NEWS OF THREE PEOPLE I KNOW ARE GONE OR WILL BE BY THE WEEKEND. DON'T WANT TO LOSE ANY MORE.

VA Facilities Continue to Hide Doctors' Misconduct, Probes Find


29 Jul 2020
Military.com | By Patricia Kime
Borrowed from Military.com and is copyright by them.

MY COMMENTS ARE IN ALL CAPS

AS A VETERAN THIS REALLY PULLS MY CHAIN. I HAVE TERRIFIC DOCTORS AT THE VA THAT ARE CARING AND GOOD AT THEIR JOBS. I HONESTLY BELIEVE THAT I WOULD NOT BE AROND TODAY WITHOUT THEM.

THE THINGS MENTIONED IN THIS ARTICLE SHOULD BE A SLAP IN THE FACE TO ALL AMERICANS (VETERANS FOR SURE) ABOUT THE KIND OF CARE THAT IS GIVEN TO VETERANS. SPEAK OUT. IT IS NOT A RACIAL THING, IT IS NOT A FINANCIAL THING, IT IS THE APATHY AND UNCARING, UNEDUCATED MANAGEMENT THAT DO NOT FOLLOW PROCEDURES.

DO WE NEED ANOTHER GROUP OUT IN THE STREET SHOUTING "VETERANS LIVES MATTER"? I THINK THERE IS A BETTER WAY. OUR LIVES ARE NOT SO FULL AND BUSY THAT WE CAN'T TAKE THE TIME TO WRITE, EMAIL OR CALL OUR ELECTED OFFICIALS TO TELL THEM TO DO BETTER.

A Department of Veterans Affairs hospital in Richmond, Virginia, rehired a pathologist who had been previously fired for failing to diagnose or misdiagnosing cancer in at least a dozen patients, the VA Office of Inspector General reported Wednesday.

None of the incidents were reported as adverse events to patient safety officials at the facility, the Hunter Holmes McGuire VA Medical Center, including one involving a patient whose misdiagnosis caused their condition to worsen, later requiring advanced medical treatment.

The report is the second in two days from the VA OIG to expose physician failures at VA hospitals that went unchecked by administrators. On Tuesday, the VA OIG released a report finding that the department took nine months to fire an emergency room contract physician who, after deciding a patient was "malingering" and "ranting," called VA police to have the patient escorted off property and said they could go "shoot [themselves]. I do not care."

The veteran died by suicide six days later from a self-inflicted gunshot wound.


In 2017, the Government Accountability Office reported that VA medical center officials regularly failed to investigate complaints lodged against providers or waited months to look into allegations.

The report also found that when the VA revoked doctors' privileges, officials often failed to inform state licensing boards or a national database, allowing the doctors to practice elsewhere. The VA also sometimes reached settlements with physicians that allowed them to resign in exchange for not reporting their errors.

In subsequent congressional hearings on the issue, VA officials pledged to address the problems, including reporting adverse actions at the state and national levels.

But the OIG report released Wednesday indicates that hospital officials continue to engage in cover-ups.

According to the report, the hospital's Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Services chief wasn't even aware of the VA's requirement to report the misdiagnoses to higher-ups. Senior officials also weren't aware they were supposed to participate in a state licensing review board process following the incidents.

The physician was fired but appealed the termination. In March 2019, the doctor was rehired, and clinical privileges were restored. As of last September, the physician continued to work at Hunter Holmes McGuire as an investigation was ongoing into his or her ability to turn around surgical readings in a timely manner.

Likewise, at the Washington, D.C., VA Medical Center, officials failed to dismiss the physician, a contractor, who verbally abused the suicidal veteran even though other employees reported the incident and the doctor had been the subject of other reports of "verbal misconduct."

The report noted that the doctor remained as a physician at the VA because reviews found his or her care of patients to be sufficient.

The Washington, D.C., VA eventually ended the physician's contract, according to the report.

President Donald Trump frequently touts changes that his administration has made to "fix" the VA, including accountability legislation approved in 2017 that accelerated the process for firing workers for misconduct or poor performance, as well as shortening the time employees have for processing appeals.

"I signed the VA Accountability Act into law, and we've removed more than 9,000 VA workers who were not giving our veterans the care, respect, attention that they've earned. And now that we have accountability -- it's 'accountability;' a very nice word -- if an employee of the government mistreats our veterans in any way, does something wrong, isn't good for the VA, the secretary looks at them and says, "You're fired. Get out," Trump said in a speech June 17 to introduce his plan for reducing veteran suicides.

The OIG reports this week, however, indicate that the VA still struggles to hold physicians accountable and to protect veteran patients or the public, in cases of physicians who go on to practice at civilian facilities after leaving the department.

In Richmond, VA officials failed to conduct a state licensing board review and in Washington, D.C., the doctor was never reported to the state and national boards that record physician misconduct.

"Facility leaders did not report [the Washington, D.C.] physician to the State Licensing Board or National Practitioner Data Bank. Although facility leaders did not conduct a formal investigation, they removed [the physician] from the VA contract ... and therefore, facility leaders had a duty to report," the VA OIG wrote.

"Neither the former Facility Director nor the Chief of Staff completed all elements of a [VA]-required review upon discovery of the subject pathologist's 'egregious performance,'" the VA OIG wrote.