Monday, July 6, 2020

Military Life Then (1945) & Now (2020)


1945 - NCO's had a typewriter on their desks for doing daily reports.
2020 - Everyone has an internet access computer, and they wonder why no work is getting done.

1945 - We painted pictures of girls on airplanes to remind us of home.
2020 - They put the real thing in the cockpit.

1945 - Your girlfriend was at home praying you would return alive.
2020 - She is in the same trench praying your condom worked.

1945 - If you got drunk off duty your buddies would take you back to the barracks to sleep it off.
2020 - If you get drunk they slap you in rehab and ruin your career.

1945 - You were taught to aim at your enemy and shoot him.
2020 - You spray 500 bullets into the brush, don't hit anything, and retreat because you're out of ammo.

1945 - Canteens were made of steel, and you could heat coffee or hot chocolate in them.
2020 - Canteens are made of plastic, you can't heat anything in them, and they always taste like plastic.

1945 - Officers were professional soldiers first and they commanded respect.
2020 - Officers are politicians first and beg not to be given a wedgie.

1945 - They collected enemy intelligence and analyzed it.
2020 - They collect your pee and analyze it.

1945 - If you didn't act right, the Sergeant Major put you in the brig until you straightened up.
2020 - If you don't act right, they start a paper trail that follows you forever.

1945 - Medals were awarded to heroes who saved lives at the risk of their own.
2020 - Medals are awarded to people who work at headquarters.

1945 - You slept in barracks like a soldier.
2020 - You sleep in a dormitory like a college kid.

1945 - You ate in a mess hall, which was free, and you could have all the food you wanted.
2020 - You eat in a dining facility, every slice of bread or pad of butter costs, and you better not take too much.

1945 - We defeated powerful countries like Germany and Japan.
2020 - We come up short against Iraq and Afghanistan.

1945 - If you wanted to relax, you went to the rec center, played pool, smoked and drank beer.
2020 - You go to the community center, and you can play pool.

1945 - If you wanted beer and conversation you went to the NCO or Officers' Club.
2020 - The beer will cost you $2.75, membership is required, and someone is watching how much you drink.

1945 - The Exchange had bargains for soldiers who didn't make much money and accepted returned merchandise.
2020 - You can get better and cheaper merchandise at Walmart. But don’t try to return anything until after the pandemic is over.

1945 - We could recognize the enemy by their Nazi helmets.
2020 - We are wearing the Nazi helmets.

1945 - We called the enemy names like "Krauts" and "Japs" because we didn't like them.
2020 - We call the enemy the "opposing force" or "aggressor" because we don't want to offend them.

1945 - Victory was declared when the enemy was defeated and all his things were broken.
2020 - We haven’t a clue as to what victory is or what it takes to achieve it.

1945 - A commander would put his butt on the line to protect his people.
2020 - A commander will put his people on the line to protect his butt.

1945 - Wars were planned and run by generals who knew how to fight and win.
2020 - Wars are planned by politicians who haven’t a clue about fighting or winning.

1945 - We were fighting for freedom, and the country was committed to winning.
2020 - We don't know what we're fighting for, and the government is committed to social programs and political correctness. Now our real enemy is global
warming and politics.

1945 - All you could think about was getting out and becoming a civilian again.
2020 - All you can think about is getting out and becoming a civilian again.

FAIR USE NOTICE: This newsletter may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically
authorized by the copyright owner. The Editor/Publisher of the Bulletin at times includes such material in an effort to advance
reader’s understanding of veterans' and other issues. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for
in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U. S. C. Section 107, the material in this newsletter is
distributed without profit to those who have expressed an interest in receiving the included information for educating themselves
on veteran issues so they can better communicate with their legislators on issues affecting them.

Saturday, July 4, 2020

Stolen from FaceBook, Creator Unknown


Dear Diary 2020 Edition,

In January, Australia caught on fire. I don’t even know if that fire was put out, because we straight up almost went to war with Iran. We might actually still be almost at war with them. I don’t know, because Jen Aniston and Brad Pitt spoke to one another at an awards show and everyone flipped the f--- out, but then there was thing happening in China, then Prince Harry and Megan peaced out of the Royal family, and there was the whole impeachment trial, and then corona virus showed up in the US “officially,” but then Kobe died and UK peaced out of the European Union.

In February, Iowa crapped itself with the caucus results and the president was acquitted and the Speaker of the House took ten years to rip up a speech, but then WHO decided to give this virus a name COVID-19, which confused some really important people in charge of, like, our lives, into thinking there were 18 other versions before it, but then Harvey Weinstein was found guilty, and Americans started asking if Corona beer was safe to drink, and everyone on Facebook became a doctor who just knew the flu like killed way more people than COVID 1 through 18.

In March, shit hit the fan. Warren dropped out of the presidential race and Sanders was like Bernie or bust, but then Italy shut its whole ass down, and then COVID Not 1 through 18 officially become what everyone already realized, a pandemic and then a nationwide state of emergency was declared in US, but it didn’t really change anything, so everyone was confused or thought it was still just a flu, but then COVID Not 18 was like ya’ll not taking me seriously? I’m gonna infect the one celebrity everyone loves and totally infected Tom Hanks, but then the DOW took a shit on itself, and most of us still don’t understand why the stock market is so important or even a thing (I still don’t), but then we were all introduced to Tiger King. (Carol totally killed her husband), and Netflix was like you’re welcome, and we all realized there was no way we were washing our hands enough in the first place because all of our hands are now dry and gross.

In April, Bernie finally busted himself out of the presidential race, but then NYC became the set of The Walking Dead and we learned that no one has face masks, ventilators, or toilet paper, or THE FREAKING SWIFER WET JET LIQUID, but then Kim Jong-Un died, but then he came back to life… or did he? Who knows, because then the Pentagon released videos of UFOs and nobody cared, and we were like man, it’s only April….

In May, the biblical end times kicked off historical locust swarms and then we learned of murder hornets and realized that 2020 was the start of the Hunger Games but people forgot to let us know, but then people legit protested lockdown measures with AR-15s, and then sports events were cancelled everywhere. But then people all over America finally reached a breaking point with race issues and violence. There were protests in every city, but then people forgot about the pandemic called COVID Not One Through 18. Media struggled with how to focus on two important things at once, but then people in general struggle to focus on more than one important thing, and a dead whale was found in the middle of the Amazon rain forest after monkeys stole COVID 1 Through 19 from a lab and ran off with them, and either in May or April (no one is keeping track of time now) that a giant asteroid narrowly missed Earth.

In June, science and common sense just got thrown straight out the window and somehow wearing masks became a political thing, but then a whole lot of people realized the south was actually the most unpatriotic thing ever and actually lost the civil war, and there are a large amount of people who feel that statues they don’t even know the name of are needed for … history reasons..... but then everyone sort of remembered there was a pandemic, but then decided that not wearing a mask was somehow a God given right (still haven't found that part in the bible or even in the constitution), but then scientists announced they found a mysterious undiscovered mass at the center of the earth, and everyone was like DON’T YOU DARE TOUCH IT, but then everyone took a pause to realize that people actually believed Gone With The Wind was like non-fiction, but then it was also announced that there is a strange radio single coming from somewhere in the universe that repeats itself every so many days, and everyone was like DON’T YOU DARE ATTEMPT TO COMMUNICATE WITH IT, but then America reopened from the shut down that actually wasn’t even a shut down, and so far, things have gone spectacularly not that great, but everyone is on Facebook arguing that masks kill because no one knows how breathing works, but then Florida was like hold my beer and let me show you how we’re number one in all things, including new Not Corona Beer Corona Virus. Trump decides now is a good time to ask the Supreme Court to shut down Obama Care because what better time to do so than in the middle of a pandemic, but then we learned there was a massive dust cloud coming straight at us from the Sahara Desert, which is totally normal, but this is 2020, so the ghost mummy thing is most likely in that dust cloud, but then I learned of meth-gators, and I'm like that is so not on my f-ing 2020 Bingo card, but then we learned that the Congo's worse ever Ebola outbreak is over, and we were all like, there was an Ebola outbreak that was the worse ever?

In July…. Aliens? Zeus? Asteroids? Artificial Intelligence becomes self aware?

Thanks to whoever started this and I have no idea who wrote this; and damn it, I want to know.

Also, why didn't I know about the whale in the Amazon?

I really want this to pop back up in the memories a few years from now.

Definitions


ADULT - A person who has stopped growing at both ends and is now growing in the middle.

BEAUTY PARLOR - A place where women curl up and dye.

CHICKENS - The only animal you eat before they are born and after they are dead.

COMMITTEE - A body that keeps minutes and wastes hours.

DUST - Mud with the juice squeezed out.

EGOTIST - Someone who is usually me-deep in conversation.

HANDKERCHIEF - Cold Storage.

INFLATION - Cutting money in half without damaging the paper.

MOSQUITO - An insect that makes you like flies better.

POLITICAL CORRECTNESS - A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority.

RAISIN - A grape with a sunburn.

SECRET - A story you tell to one person at a time.

SKELETON - A bunch of bones with the person scraped off.

TOOTHACHE - The pain that drives you to extraction.

TOMORROW - One of the greatest labor saving devices of today.

YAWN - An honest opinion openly expressed.

WRINKLES - Something other people have....similar to my character lines.

OLD - I very quietly confided to my friend that I was having an Affair. She turned to me and asked, "Are you having
it catered?"
. . . and that, my friend, is the definition of 'OLD'!!!

FAIR USE NOTICE: This newsletter may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically
authorized by the copyright owner. The Editor/Publisher of the Bulletin at times includes such material in an effort to advance
reader’s understanding of veterans' and other issues. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for
in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U. S. C. Section 107, the material in this newsletter is
distributed without profit to those who have expressed an interest in receiving the included information for educating themselves
on veteran issues so they can better communicate with their legislators on issues affecting them.

Thursday, July 2, 2020

Remember the Real America

Some things have changed in my 72 years on this Earth.
Remember the Real America

When riots were unthinkable
When you left front doors open
When socialism was a dirty word
When ghettos were neighborhoods
When the Flag was a sacred symbol
When criminals actually went to jail
When you weren't afraid to go out at night
When taxes were only a necessary nuisance
When a boy was a boy and dressed like one
When a girl was a girl and dressed like one
When the poor were to proud to take charity
When the clergy and repairmen tried to please you
When college kids swallowed goldfish, not acid
When songs had a tune, and the words made sense
When young fellows tried to join the Army or Navy
When people knew what the Fourth of July stood for.
When you never dreamed our country could ever lose
When a Sunday drive was a pleasant trip, not an ordeal.
When you bragged about your hometown and home state.
When everybody didn't feel entitled to a college education.
When people expected less and value what had more.
When politicians proclaimed their patriotism and meant it.
When everybody knew the difference between right and wrong.
When things weren't perfect - but you never expected them to be.
When you weren't made to feel guilty for enjoying dialect comedy.
When our Government stood up for Americans, anywhere in the world.
When you knew that the law would be enforced and your safety protected.
When you considered yourself lucky to have a good job, and proud to have it.
When the law meant justice, and you felt a shiver of awe at the sight of a policeman.
When you weren't embarrassed to say that this is the best country in the world.
When America was a land filled with brave, proud, confident, hardworking people!

FAIR USE NOTICE: This newsletter may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically
authorized by the copyright owner. The Editor/Publisher of the Bulletin at times includes such material in an effort to advance
reader’s understanding of veterans' and other issues. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for
in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U. S. C. Section 107, the material in this newsletter is
distributed without profit to those who have expressed an interest in receiving the included information for educating themselves
on veteran issues so they can better communicate with their legislators on issues affecting them.

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Speeding Ticket

A police officer pulls over a speeding car. The officer says, "I clocked you at 80 miles per hour, sir."

The driver says, "Goodness, officer, I had it on cruise control at 60; perhaps your radar gun needs calibrating."

Not looking up from her knitting the wife says: “Now don't be silly, dear -- you know that this car doesn't have cruise control"

As the officer writes out the ticket, the driver looks over at his wife and growls, "Can't you please keep your mouth shut for once!!”

The wife smiles demurely and says, "Well dear you should be thankful your radar detector went off when it did or your speed would have been higher."

As the officer makes out the second ticket for the illegal radar detector unit, the man glowers at his wife and says through clenched teeth, "Woman, can't you keep your mouth shut?"

The officer frowns and says, 'And I notice that you're not wearing your seat belt, sir. That's an automatic $75 fine.'

The driver says, “Yeah, well, you see, officer, I had it on, but I took it off when you pulled me over so that I could get my license out of my back pocket.”

The wife says, "Now, dear, you know very well that you didn't have your seat belt on. You never wear your seat belt when you're driving."

And as the police officer is writing out the third ticket, the driver turns to his wife and barks, “WILL YOU PLEASE SHUT UP?”

The officer looks over at the woman and asks, "Does your husband always talk to you this way, Ma'am?

She replies, "Only when he's been drinking."

Monday, May 25, 2020

Earth Corners


Today's Short Reading from the Bible...


From Genesis: "And God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the earth."

Then he made the earth round...and He laughed and laughed and laughed!

Saturday, May 23, 2020

Marriage 10 Commandments


 Commandment 1 - Marriages are made in heaven. But then again, so is thunder and lightning.

 Commandment 2 - If you want your wife to listen and pay strict attention to every word you say, talk in
your sleep.

 Commandment 3 - Marriage is grand -- and divorce is at least a 100 grand!

 Commandment 4 - Married life is very frustrating. In the first year of marriage, the man speaks and the
woman listens -- in the second year, the woman speaks and the man listens--and in the third year, they both
speak and the neighbors listen.

 Commandment 5 - When a man opens the door of his car for his wife, you can be sure of one thing: Either
the car is new or the wife is.

 Commandment 6 - Marriage is when a man and woman become as one; the trouble starts when they try to
decide which one.

 Commandment 7 - Before marriage, a man will lie awake all night thinking about something you said. After
marriage, he will fall asleep before you finish.

 Commandment 8 - Every man wants a wife who is beautiful, understanding, economical, and a good cook.
But the law allows only one wife.

 Commandment 9 - Marriage and love are purely a matter of chemistry. That is why one treats the other like
toxic waste.

 Commandment 10 - A man is incomplete until he is married. After that, he is finished.

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Ambidextrous


A group of men live and die for their Saturday morning golf game. One transfers to another city and they're lost without him.

A new woman joins their Club. When she hears the guys talking about their golf round, she says, "I played on my college's golf team. I was pretty good. Mind if I join you next week? "

No one wants to say 'yes', but they're on the spot. Finally, one man says. Okay, but we start at 6:30 a.m. He figures the early tee-time will discourage her.

The woman says this may be a problem, and asks if she can be up to 15 minutes late. They roll their eyes, but say, "Okay".

She's there at 6:30 a.m. sharp, and beats all of them with an eye-opening 2-under par round. She's fun and pleasant, and the guys are impressed. They congratulate her and invite her back the next week.

She smiles, and says, "I'll be there at 6:30 or 6:45."

The next week she again shows up at 6:30 sharp. Only this time, she plays left-handed. The three guys are incredulous as she still beats them with an even par round, despite playing with her off-hand. They're totally amazed. They can't figure her out. She's very pleasant and a gracious winner. They invite her back again, but each man harbors a burning desire to beat her.

The third week, she's 15 minutes late, which irritates the guys. This week she plays right-handed, and narrowly beats all three of them. The men grumble that her late arrival is petty gamesmanship on her part. However, she's so charming and complimentary of their strong play, they can't hold a grudge.

This woman is a riddle no-one can figure out. They have a couple of beers in the Clubhouse, and finally, one of the men ask her, "How do you decide if you're going to golf right-handed or left-handed?"

The lady blushes, and grins. "When my Dad taught me to play golf, I learned I was ambidextrous," she replies. "I like to switch back and forth.

When I got married after college, I discovered my husband always sleeps in the nude. From then on, I developed a silly habit. Right before I leave in the morning for golf practice, I pull the covers off him. If his Willie points to the right, I golf right-handed; if it points to the left, I golf left-handed."

The guys think this is hysterical. Astonished at this bizarre information, one of the guys says, "What if it's pointing straight up?"

She says, "Then, I'm fifteen minutes late."

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

State Fair Exhibit


My wife and I went to the state fair and one of the first exhibits we stopped at was the breeding bulls.

We went up to the first pen and there was a sign attached that said, ‘THIS BULL MATED 50 TIMES LAST YEAR’.

My wife playfully nudged me in the ribs, smiled and said, ‘He mated 50 times last year.’

We walked to the second pen which had a sign attached that said, ‘THIS BULL MATED 150 TIMES LAST YEAR’.

My wife gave me a healthy jab and said, ‘WOW! That’s more than twice a week! You could learn a lot from him.’

We walked to the third pen and it had a sign attached that said, ‘THIS BULL MATED 365 TIMES LAST YEAR’.

My wife was so excited that her elbow nearly broke my ribs, and said, ‘That’s once a day. You could REALLY learn something from this one.’

I looked at her and said, “Go over and ask him if it was with the same old cow.”

My condition has been upgraded from critical to stable and I should eventually make a full recovery

Sunday, May 10, 2020

Retirement Destination Guide

As we get older, some of us are thinking about retiring, so I've looked around to see what might be available to us.

Retire to Phoenix, Arizona where...
1. You are willing to park 3 blocks away because you found shade.
2. You've experienced condensation on your bottom from the hot water in the toilet bowl.
3. You can drive for 4 hours in one direction and never leave town.
4. You have over 100 recipes for Mexican food.
5. You know that "dry heat" is comparable to what hits you in the face when you open your oven door.
6. The 4 seasons are: tolerable, hot, really hot, and ARE YOU KIDDING ME??!!

OR You can retire to California where...
1. You make over $250,000 and you still can't afford to buy a house.
2. The fastest part of your commute is going down your driveway.
3. You know how to eat an artichoke.
4. You drive your rented Mercedes to your neighborhood block party.
5. When someone asks you how far something is, you tell them how long it will take to get there rather than how many miles away it is.
6. The 4 seasons are: Fire, Flood, Mud, and Drought.

OR You can retire to New York City where...
1. You say "the city" and expect everyone to know you mean Manhattan.
2. You can get into a four-hour argument about how to get from Columbus Circle to Battery Park, but can't find Wisconsin on a map.
3. You think Central Park is "nature."
4. You believe that being able to swear at people in their own language makes you multi-lingual.
5. You've worn out a car horn.
6. You think eye contact is an act of aggression.

OR You can retire to Minnesota where...
1. You only have four spices: salt, pepper, ketchup, and Tabasco.
2. Halloween costumes fit over parkas.
3. You have more than one recipe for casserole.
4. Sexy lingerie is anything flannel with less than eight buttons.
5. The four seasons are: winter, still winter, almost winter, and construction.

OR You can retire to the Deep South where....
1. You can rent a movie and buy bait in the same store.
2. "Y'all" is singular and "all y'all" is plural.
3. "He needed killin" is a valid defense.
4. Everyone has 2 first names: Billy Bob, Jimmy Bob, Mary Ellen, Betty Jean, Mary Beth, etc. etc.
5. Everything is either "in yonder," "over yonder" or "out yonder." It's important to know the difference, too.

OR You can retire to Colorado where....
1. You carry your $3,000 mountain bike atop your $500 car.
2. You tell your husband to pick up Granola on his way home and so he stops at the day care center.
3. A pass does not involve a football or dating.
4. The top of your head is bald, but you still have a pony tail.

OR You can retire to the Midwest where...
1. You've never met any celebrities, but the mayor knows your name.
2. Your idea of a traffic jam is ten cars waiting to pass a tractor.
3. You have had to switch from "heat" to "A/C" on the same day.
4. You end sentences with a preposition: "Where's my coat at?"
5. When asked how your trip was to any exotic place, you say, "It was different!"

OR FINALLY you can retire to Florida where...
1. You eat dinner at 3:15 in the afternoon.
2. All purchases include a coupon of some kind -- even houses and cars.
3. Everyone can recommend an excellent dermatologist.
4. Road construction never ends anywhere in the state.
5. Cars in front of you often appear to be driven by headless people

Friday, May 8, 2020

Muslim Terrorists Suicides


Everyone seems to be wondering why Muslim Terrorists are so quick to commit suicide. Let's have a look at the evidence:

 No Christmas

 No television

 No nude women

 No football

 No pork chops

 No nude women

 No hot dogs

 No burgers

 No nude women

 No beer

 No bacon

 No nude women

 Rags for clothes

 Towels for hats

 Constant wailing from some guy in a tower

 More than one wife

 More than one mother in law

 You can't shave

 Your wife can't shave

 You can't wash off the smell of donkey

 You cook over burning camel dung

 Your wife is picked by someone else for you and smells worse than your donkey

Then they tell you that "when you die, it all gets better. Well no sh*t Sherlock!.... It's not like it could get much worse

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

WORDS HAVE MORE THAN ONE MEANING


1. The meaning of opaque is unclear.

2. I wasn't going to get a brain transplant but then I changed my mind.

3. Have you ever tried to eat a clock? It's very time consuming.

4. A man tried to assault me with milk, cream and butter. How dairy!

5. I'm reading a book about anti-gravity. I can't put it down.

6. If there was someone selling marijuana in our neighborhood, weed know about it.

7. It's a lengthy article about ancient Japanese sword fighters but I can Sumurais it for you.

8. It's not that the man couldn't juggle, he just didn't have the balls to do it.

9. So what if I don't know the meaning of the word 'apocalypse'? It's not the end of the world.

10. Police were called to the daycare center. A 3-year old was resisting a rest.

11. The other day I held the door open for a clown. I thought it was a nice jester.

12. Need an ark to save two of every animal? I Noah guy.

13. Alternative facts are aversion of the truth.

14. I used to have a fear of hurdles, but I got over it.

15. Atheism is a non-prophet organization.

16. Did you know they won't be making yardsticks any longer?

17. I used to be allergic to soap but I'm clean now.

18. The patron saint of poverty is St. Nickeless.

19. What did the man say when the bridge fell on him? The suspension is killing me.

20. Do you have weight loss mantras? Fat chants!

21. My tailor is happy to make a new pair of pants for me. Or sew it seams.

22. What is a thesaurus's favorite dessert? Synonym buns.

23. A relief map shows where the restrooms are.

24. There was a big paddle sale at the boat store. It was quite an oar deal.

25. How do they figure out the price of hammers? Per pound.

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

Tax Advice on Your Corvid-19 Stimulus Money


Just received this from Peter Horwath, Baryon Cover artist, and just had to share it.


Subject: Important Tax Advice/Economic Stimulus



Sometime this year, we taxpayers will likely receive another economic stimulus.

It is indeed a very exciting program, and I’ll explain it by using a Q&A format:

Q: What is an Economic Stimulus?

A: It is money that the federal government will send to taxpayers.


Q: Where will the government get this money?

A: From taxpayers.


Q: Is the government simply giving me back my own money, then?

A: No, only a smidgen of it.


Q: What is the purpose of this payment?

A: The plan is for you to use the money to purchase a high definition television set, a new iPad, or a new SUV, thus stimulating the economy.


Q: Isn’t that stimulating the economy of China?

A: Shut up.


Below is some helpful advice on how to best help the U. S. Economy with your stimulus check. Use it wisely:


* If you spend the stimulus money at Walmart the money will go to China or Sri Lanka.

* if you spend it on gasoline, it money will go to the Arabs.

* if you purchase a computer, it goes to India, Taiwan or China.

* if you purchase fruits and vegetables, it will go to Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala.

* if you buy an efficient car, it will go to Japan or Korea.

* if you purchase useless stuff, it goes to Taiwan.

* if you pay your credit card off, or buy stock, it will go to management bonuses and they will hide it offshore.


Instead, keep the money in America by:


(1) Spending it at a yard sale, or

(2) Going to a ballgame, or

(3) Spending it on prostitutes, or

(4) Beer, or

(5) Tattoos

(These are the only American businesses still operating in the U.S.)


CONCLUSION: Go to a ballgame with a tattooed prostitute that you met at a yard sale and drink beer all day.

No need to thank me, I’m just glad I could be of help.

Sunday, March 29, 2020

Military terms / sayings to reflect on


I Jest You Not…
by pdoggbiker

Maybe you've already seen this. I know we lived it while in the military.
I remember seeing this back in the 80's but couldn't find it again...until recently.

Murphy's thoughts: Military terms / sayings to reflect on:

Friendly fire - isn't.

Recoil-less rifles - aren't.

Suppressive fires - won't.

You are not Superman; Marines and fighter pilots take note.

A sucking chest wound is Nature's way of telling you to slow down.

If it's stupid but it works, it isn't stupid.

Try to look unimportant; the enemy may be low on ammo and not want to waste a bullet on
you.

If at first you don't succeed, call in an air strike.

If it isn't broke, don't mess with it.

If you are forward of your position, your artillery will fall short.

Never share a foxhole with anyone braver than yourself.

Never go to bed with anyone crazier than yourself.

Never forget that your weapon was made by the lowest bidder.

If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.

The enemy diversion you're ignoring is their main attack.

The enemy invariably attacks on two occasions: when they're ready and when you're not.

No OPLAN ever survives initial contact.

There is no such thing as a perfect plan.

Five-second fuses always burn three seconds.

There is no such thing as an atheist in a foxhole.

A retreating enemy is probably just falling back and regrouping.

The Ol' Ranger's addendum: Or else they're trying to suck you into a serious ambush!

The important things are always simple; the simple are always hard.
The easy way is always mined.

Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at.

Don't look conspicuous; it draws fire. For this reason, it is not at all uncommon
for aircraft carriers to be known as bomb magnets.

Never draw fire; it irritates everyone around you.

If you are short of everything but the enemy, you are in the combat zone.

When you have secured the area, make sure the enemy knows it too.

Incoming fire has the right of way.

No combat-ready unit has ever passed inspection.

No inspection ready unit has ever passed combat.

If the enemy is within range, so are you.

The only thing more accurate than incoming enemy fire is incoming friendly fire.

Things which must be shipped together as a set, aren't.

Things that must work together, can't be carried to the field that way.

Radios will fail as soon as you need fire support.

Radar tends to fail at night and in bad weather, and especially during both.)

Anything you do can get you killed, including nothing.

Make it too tough for the enemy to get in, and you won't be able to get out.

Tracers work both ways.

If you take more than your fair share of objectives, you will get more than your
fair share of objectives to take.

When both sides are convinced they're about to lose, they're both right.

Professional soldiers are predictable; the world is full of dangerous amateurs.

Military Intelligence is a contradiction.

Fortify your front; you'll get your rear shot up.

Weather ain't neutral.

If you can't remember, the Claymore is pointed toward you.

Air defense motto: shoot 'em down; sort 'em out on the ground. 'Flies high, it dies;
low and slow, it'll go.

The Cavalry doesn't always come to the rescue.

Napalm is an area support weapon.

Mines are equal opportunity weapons.

B-52s are the ultimate close support weapon.

Sniper's motto: reach out and touch someone.

Killing for peace is like screwing for virginity.

The one item you need is always in short supply.

Interchangeable parts aren't.

It's not the one with your name on it; it's the one addressed "to whom it may
concern "you've got to think about.

When in doubt, empty your magazine.

The side with the simplest uniforms wins.

Combat will occur on the ground between two adjoining maps.

If the Platoon Sergeant can see you, so can the enemy.

Never stand when you can sit, never sit when you can lie down, never stay awake when
you can sleep.

The most dangerous thing in the world is a Second Lieutenant with a map and a compass.

Exceptions prove the rule and destroy the battle plan.

Everything always works in your HQ, everything always fails in the Colonel's HQ.

The enemy never watches until you make a mistake.

One enemy soldier is never enough, but two is entirely too many.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Should you have a question or comment
about this article, then scroll down to the comment section below to leave your response.

If you want to learn more about the Vietnam War and its Warriors, then subscribe to
this blog and get notified http://cherrieswriter.com


Monday, March 23, 2020

Korean Veterans Ceremony

The ceremony honoring our Korean War Heroes has been postponed from the April 9 date until a date to be determined after the CORVID19 problem has run its' course.

Apologies.

Politics...


Unbelievable, There is a politician that actually gets it...

Summing it all up was Sen. John Neely Kennedy (R-La.), who took his turn on the Senate floor, shaking his head before declaring: “This country was founded by geniuses but it’s being run by a bunch of idiots.”

“You know what the American people are thinking right now?” Kennedy inquired rhetorically. “They’re thinking that the brain is an amazing organ. It starts working in a mother’s womb and it doesn’t stop working til you get elected to Congress.”

Thursday, March 19, 2020

GDVS Coronavirus (COVID-19) Operations Update



For immediate release


GDVS Coronavirus (COVID-19) Operations Update

Keeping Georgia’s veterans, their families, and our staff healthy and secure is of the utmost
importance to us.

The GDVS is following recommendations from public health authorities on social distancing to
mitigate any potential spread of the virus at any of our Veterans Field Service Offices,
veterans homes, and memorial cemeteries.

All GDVS Veterans Field Service Offices will suspend in person meetings, effective
immediately. Offices remain open for business, but veterans must call or email their local office for
assistance (https://veterans.georgia.gov/field-offices).

Veterans who need to submit physical evidence for a claim should call and arrange a time to
drop off paperwork with a field officer.

Veterans in need of assistance with an appeal should email their assigned Appeals Officer
directly (https://veterans.georgia.gov/contact-appeals).

Visitation at our veterans nursing homes in Augusta and Milledgeville is suspended, with
exceptions on a case by case basis for compassionate care. Daily operations will continue with
modifications to ensure the safety and health of all residents. Our staff is closely monitoring the
situation and continues to monitor for updates from federal and state authorities.

Both veterans memorial cemeteries in Glennville and Milledgeville have temporarily suspended
committal services. Burial operations and interments will continue and families are permitted
to visit grave sites after daily burials have been completed. Families may schedule committal
services to be held in the future.

Additional changes to operations may be made as this public health crisis continues to evolve.
We will continue to monitor the situation and update as necessary.

For accurate and reliable information about COVID-19,
visit https://dph.georgia.gov/novelcoronavirus or https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/index.html
.

For more information on the contents of this news release, please contact the GDVS Public
Information Division at gavetsvc@vs.state.ga.us.

Monday, March 9, 2020

REVIVAL Deluxe Limited Edition Artwork Portfolio


We’re pleased to tell you before anyone else that Brian Freeman over at LetterPress Publications has arranged with Fran├žois Vaillancourt to collect all of his artwork from the LPP special edition of REVIVAL by Stephen King into a beautiful oversized artwork portfolio!

The REVIVAL Deluxe Limited Edition Artwork Portfolio will feature twenty pieces of artwork, including the alternative version of the car accident (which only appeared in the Lettered Edition), the frontispieces for both editions, and a brand new painting for the signature page. The art will be printed on 11 inch by 14 inch sheets of a fine 100# Linen cover stock, which is archival quality and acid free.

Each set of prints will be housed in a deluxe hand-made portfolio that is covered with the same material as the Limited Edition’s slipcase, making this the perfect companion to your book. There will be two colors of hot foil color stamping on the cover. The interior of the portfolio will be lined with an elegant material that combines the luxury of suede and the richness of velvet.

If you’d like to support Brian directly and reserve this Deluxe Artwork Portfolio without prepayment required, you can visit the product page on his company’s website for details:

https://letterpresspublications.com/store/revival-artwork-portfolio-limited/

*** OR you can read more and place your order through our website while our supplies last:

https://www.cemeterydance.com/revival-artwort-portfolio.html

(If the page says Out of Print, that means all of our available copies have sold, unfortunately.)

Thank you, as always, for your continuing support!

Cemetery Dance Publications
132-B Industry Lane, Unit #7
Forest Hill, MD 21050

410-588-5901 [phone]
410-588-5904 [fax]

http://www.cemeterydance.com.





Thursday, March 5, 2020

Earthling Publications Newsletter HOT TOPIC

Earthling Publications Newsletter


Lettered HAUNTED FOREST TOUR going into production!

I’m pleased to announce that the lettered edition of THE HAUNTED FOREST TOUR by James A. Moore and Jeff Strand, illustrated by Glenn Chadbourne, is going into production! Like our other lettered books, it will be hand sewn and enclosed in a handmade traycase. Features include:

Hand-crumpled, hand-dyed paper made in Nepal that has a dimensional forest-like terrain.
Premium Tiziano endpapers.
Quarter bound in goatskin leather.
Signed by Moore and Strand.
Each book features a unique full-page original illustration by Chadbourne.
Housed in a cloth covered, ultra-suede lined clamshell traycase.
Only 15 lettered copies.


The price is $500; half upon reservation and half at time of shipping (the latter will be a few months from now; postage tacked onto second payment). Please email me at earthlingpub@yahoo.com by end of day Friday March 6 if you would like a copy. I will attempt to reach out to folks who have previously expressed interest and own previous Halloween Series titles as they’ll get first dibs. However, now that price and design details have been finalized, I wanted to send a fresh notice as there is a decent chance that copies will be available to anyone.

Cover art is from the original 2007 release. Copyright 2007 b Glen Chadbourne and Earthling Publications.

Tuesday, March 3, 2020

RADICALIZED by Cory Doctorow

From New York Times bestselling author Cory Doctorow, Radicalized is four urgent SF novellas of America's present and future within one book.

Told through one of the most on-pulse genre voices of our generation, Radicalized is a timely collection consisting of four SF novellas connected by social, technological, and economic visions of today and what America could be in the near, near future.

Unauthorized Bread is a tale of immigration, the toxicity of economic and technological stratification, and the young and downtrodden fighting against all odds to survive and prosper.

In Model Minority, a Superman-like figure attempts to rectifiy the corruption of the police forces he long erroneously thought protected the defenseless...only to find his efforts adversely affecting their victims.

Radicalized is a story of a darkweb-enforced violent uprising against insurance companies told from the perspective of a man desperate to secure funding for an experimental drug that could cure his wife's terminal cancer.

The fourth story, Masque of the Red Death, harkens back to Doctorow's Walkaway, taking on issues of survivalism versus community.

CORY DOCTOROW is a special consultant to the Electronic Frontier Foundation, an MIT Media Lab Research Associate and a visiting professor of Computer Science at the Open University. His award-winning novel Little Brother and its sequel Homeland were New York Times bestsellers. Born and raised in Canada, he lives in Los Angeles.

On sale March 3, 2020 by Tor Books. 9781250229250. $16.99 USD.

Monday, March 2, 2020

A LABYRINTH OF SCIONS AND SORCERY by Curtis Craddock

The Three Musketeers meets Jules Verne in A Labyrinth of Scions and Sorcery, the masterful second novel in Curtis Craddock's critically-acclaimed high fantasy Risen Kingdoms series, continuing the engrossing tale of courtly intrigue and breathtaking magic.

Isabelle des Zephyrs has always been underestimated throughout her life, but after discovering the well of hidden magic within her, unveiling a centuries-long conspiracy, and stopping a war between rival nations, she has gained a newfound respect amongst the cutthroat court.

All that is quickly taken away when Isabelle is unfairly convicted of breaking the treaty she helped write and has her political rank and status taken away. Now bereft, she nevertheless finds herself drawn into mystery when her faithful musketeer Jean-Claude uncovers a series of gruesome murders by someone calling themselves the Harvest King.

As panic swells, the capital descends into chaos, when the emperor is usurped from the throne by a rival noble. Betrayed by their allies and hunted by assassins, Isabelle and Jean-Claude alone must thwart the coup, but not before it changes l’Empire forever.

CURTIS CRADDOCK lives in Sterling, CO, where he teaches English to inmates in a state penitentiary. A Labyrinth of Scions and Sorcery is the second in The Risen Kingdoms trilogy, following his acclaimed debut An Alchemy of Masques and Mirrors.

“A gripping tale of a woman who refuses to be defined by her physical and magical limitations, thwarting both assassins and all who see her as a pawn. A great read!”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, on An Alchemy of Masques and Mirrors

The Risen Kingdom series
#1 An Alchemy of Masques and Mirrors
#2 A Labyrinth of Scions and Sorcery

On sale March 24, 2020 by Tor Books. 9780765389633. $18.99 USD.

Sunday, March 1, 2020

WASTE TIDE by Chen Qiufan, translated by Ken Liu

Award-winning author Chen Qiufan's Waste Tide is a thought-provoking vision of the future.

Translated by Ken Liu, who brought Cixin Liu's Hugo Award-winning The Three Body Problem to English-speaking readers.

Mimi is drowning in the world's trash.

She’s a waste worker on Silicon Isle, where electronics -- from cell phones and laptops to bots and bionic limbs — are sent to be recycled. These amass in towering heaps, polluting every spare inch of land. On this island off the coast of China, the fruits of capitalism and consumer culture come to a toxic end.

Mimi and thousands of migrant waste workers like her are lured to Silicon Isle with the promise of steady work and a better life. They're the lifeblood of the island’s economy, but are at the mercy of those in power.

A storm is brewing, between ruthless local gangs, warring for control. Ecoterrorists, set on toppling the status quo. American investors, hungry for profit. And a Chinese-American interpreter, searching for his roots.

As these forces collide, a war erupts -- between the rich and the poor; between tradition and modern ambition; between humanity’s past and its future.

Mimi, and others like her, must decide if they will remain pawns in this war or change the rules of the game altogether.

Chen Qiufan is an award-winning science fiction writer. He grew up near Guiyu, China, home to the world’s largest e-waste recycling center, an area the UN called an “environmental calamity.” His experiences there inspired the Waste Tide. He currently lives in Shanghai and Beijing and works as the founder of Thema Mundi Studio.

Ken Liu (translator) is the author of The Grace of Kings and The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories.

"An accomplished eco-techno-thriller with heart and soul as well as brain. Chen Qiufan is an astute observer, both of the present world and of the future that the next generation is in danger of inheriting." – David Mitchell, New York Times bestselling author of Cloud Atlas

On sale March 10, 2020 by Tor Books. 9780765389336. $17.99 USD.

Saturday, February 29, 2020

DRAGON AGE: TEVINTER NIGHTS by David Gaider

An anthology of original stories based on the dark fantasy, role-playing video game series from Bioware.

Ancient horrors. Marauding invaders. Powerful mages. And a world that refuses to stay fixed.

Welcome to Thedas.

From the stoic Grey Wardens to the otherworldly Mortalitasi necromancers, from the proud Dalish elves to the underhanded Antivan Crow assassins, Dragon Age is filled with monsters, magic, and memorable characters making their way through dangerous world whose only constant is change.

On sale March 10, 2020. 9780765337221.$18.99 USD.

Friday, February 28, 2020

CHAPEL OF EASE by Alex Bledsoe

Chapel of Ease, first time in trade paperback: Alex Bledsoe's critically-acclaimed Tufa series about musically-talented fae in rural Tennessee, a series Kirkus Reviews calls "powerful, character-driven drama...a sheer delight." (starred review)

When Matt Johansson, a young New York actor, auditions for Chapel of Ease, an off-Broadway musical, he is instantly charmed by Ray Parrish, the show's writer and composer. They soon become friends; Matt learns that Ray's people call themselves the Tufa and that the musical is based on the history of his isolated home town. But there is one question in the show's script that Ray refuses to answer: what is buried in the ruins of the chapel of ease?

As opening night approaches, strange things begin to happen. A dreadlocked girl follows Ray and spies on him. At the press preview, a strange Tufa woman warns him to stop the show. Then, as the rave reviews arrive, Ray dies in his sleep.

Matt and the cast are distraught, but there's no question of shutting down: the run quickly sells out. They postpone opening night for a week and Matt volunteers to take Ray's ashes back to Needsville. He also hopes, while he's there, to find out more of the real story behind the play and discover the secret that Ray took to his grave.

Matt's journey into the haunting Appalachian mountains of Cloud County sets him on a dangerous path, where some secrets deserve to stay buried.

ALEX BLEDSOE is the critically-acclaimed author of the Tufa novels The Hum and the Shiver, Wisp of a Thing, Long Black Curl, Chapel of Ease, Gather Her Round, and Sadieville as well as the Eddie LaCrosse series: The Sword-Edged Blonde, Dark Jenny, Burn Me Deadly, and He Drank, and Saw the Spider.

“Beautifully written, surprisingly moving, and unexpected in the best of ways.” —Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author

"With his subtle, character-driven approach, Bledsoe skillfully fuses music, legend, and regional atmosphere to create something that feels like an unexplored corner of American mythology." – Publishers Weekly

On sale March 17, 2020 by Tor Books. 9780765376572. $17.99 USD.

Thursday, February 27, 2020

MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE by Arkady Martine

A fascinating space opera debut novel, Arkady Martine's A Memory Called Empire is an interstellar mystery adventure.

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare arrives in the center of the multi-system Teixcalaanli Empire only to discover that her predecessor, the previous ambassador from their small but fiercely independent mining Station, has died. But no one will admit that his death wasn't an accident—or that Mahit might be next to die, during a time of political instability in the highest echelons of the imperial court.

Now, Mahit must discover who is behind the murder, rescue herself, and save her Station from Teixcalaan's unceasing expansion—all while navigating an alien culture that is all too seductive, engaging in intrigues of her own, and hiding a deadly technological secret—one that might spell the end of her Station and her way of life—or rescue it from annihilation.

"A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All around brilliant space opera, I absolutely love it."—Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

"The most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love."—Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

Arkady Martine is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and a city planner. Under both names, she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda, and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada, and Sweden, lives in New Mexico with her wife, the author Vivian Shaw. You can find her online at arkadymartine.net and on Twitter as @ArkadyMartine.

On sale February 25, 2020 by Tor Books. 9781250186447. $18.99 USD.

Wednesday, February 26, 2020

CITY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT by Charlie Jane Anders

Charlie Jane Anders, the nationally bestselling author of All the Birds in the Sky delivers a brilliant new novel set in a hauntingly strange future with #10 LA Times bestseller The City in the Middle of the Night.

*The Verge's Science Fiction and Fantasy Book We're Looking Forward to in 2019
*Amazon's Best Books February 2019
*Book Riot's Most Anticipated Books of 2019
*Kirkus Reviews's 30 Speculative Fiction Books You Should Read in February 2019
*Bookish's Winter's 10 Hottest Sci-Fi & Fantasy Reads
*Bookbub's Best Science Fiction Books Coming Out in 2019
*YA Books Central's Buzzworthy Books of Winter 2019

WOULD YOU GIVE UP EVERYTHING TO CHANGE THE WORLD?

Humanity clings to life on January—a colonized planet divided between permanently frozen darkness on one side, and blazing endless sunshine on the other.

Two cities, built long ago in the meager temperate zone, serve as the last bastions of civilization—but life inside them is just as dangerous as the uninhabitable wastelands outside.

Sophie, a young student from the wrong side of Xiosphant city, is exiled into the dark after being part of a failed revolution. But she survives—with the help of a mysterious savior from beneath the ice.

Burdened with a dangerous, painful secret, Sophie and her ragtag group of exiles face the ultimate challenge—and they are running out of time.

WELCOME TO THE CITY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT.

“A breathtaking work of imagination and storytelling… making the case for Anders as this generation’s Le Guin.” —Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Less

"An intimate portrait of people as much as it is a piece of culturally aware social scifi — a look at our moment in history through a distorting lens of aliens and spaceships." —NPR

"Tragic, brave, and so very human...Anders dares to imagine something different, a better way forward." —Den of Geek

CHARLIE JANE ANDERS is the former editor-in-chief of io9.com, the extraordinarily popular Gawker Media site devoted to science fiction and fantasy. Her SF and fantasy debut novel, All the Birds in the Sky, won the 2017 Nebula Awards for Best Novel and was a finalist for the 2017 Hugo Award's Best Novel category. Her Tor.com story "Six Months, Three Days" won the 2013 Hugo Award. She has also had fiction published by McSweeney's, Lightspeed, and ZYZZYVA. Her journalism has appeared in Salon, the Wall Street Journal, Mother Jones, and many other outlets.

On sale February 11, 2020 by Tor Books. 9780765379979. $18.99.

Monday, February 24, 2020

LENT by Joe Walton

From Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Award-winning author Jo Walton comes Lent, a magical re-imagining of the man who remade fifteenth-century Florence—in all its astonishing strangeness.

Young Girolamo’s life is a series of miracles.

It’s a miracle that he can see demons, plain as day, and that he can cast them out with the force of his will. It’s a miracle that he’s friends with Pico della Mirandola, the Count of Concordia. It’s a miracle that when Girolamo visits the deathbed of Lorenzo “the Magnificent,” the dying Medici is wreathed in celestial light, a surprise to everyone, Lorenzo included. It’s a miracle that when Charles VIII of France invades northern Italy, Girolamo meets him in the field, and convinces him to not only spare Florence but also protect it. It’s a miracle than whenever Girolamo preaches, crowds swoon. It’s a miracle that, despite the Pope’s determination to bring young Girolamo to heel, he’s still on the loose…and, now, running Florence in all but name.

That’s only the beginning. Because Girolamo Savanarola is not who—or what—he thinks he is. He will discover the truth about himself at the most startling possible time. And this will be only the beginning of his many lives.

"By itself, a fascinating meditation on the choices which alter lives and the course of history; in the context of Walton's other novels, positively mind-bending."—Kirkus, starred review

“Fantasy doing with beautiful assurance what straight historical fiction can't, putting us right inside the gorgeous idea-thrilled, demon-haunted imaginarium of the Renaissance—and making the best case for Savonarola in about 500 years.”—Francis Spufford, Costa Award-winning author of Golden Hill, on Lent

JO WALTON won the Hugo and Nebula Awards in 2012 for her novel Among Others. Before that, she won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, and her novel Tooth and Claw won the World Fantasy Award in 2004. The novels of her Small Change sequence—Farthing, Ha'penny, and Half a Crown—have won acclaim ranging from national newspapers to the Romantic Times Critics' Choice Award. A native of Wales, she lives in Montreal.

On sale February 4, 2020 by Tor Books. 9780765379078. $17.99 USD.

Monday, February 10, 2020

FOR ALL KOREAN WAR VETERANS

UPDATE!!!

This has been postponed due to the CORVID19 problem and will be rescheduled at a later date.

Honoring Our Korean War Veterans A Certificate of Honor & Peace Medal Ceremony

Hosted by the Consulate General of the Republic of Korea in Atlanta, Pleasant Valley South Baptist Church, and the Georgia Department of Veterans Service.

Thursday, April 9, 2020, 2:30 P.M. at the Pleasant Valley South Baptist Church 702 Pleasant Valley Rd SE, Silver Creek (30173).

The Consulate General of the Republic of Korea in Atlanta and the Georgia Department of Veterans Service are partnering to say “Thank You” to Korean War Veterans for their honorable military service and personal sacrifice by hosting a special medal and certificate ceremony. This event will involve the presentation of the Republic of Korea’s Ambassador for Peace Medal and Georgia’s Korean War Veteran Certificate of Honor.

Every Georgia veteran with honorable service during the Korean War (June 25, 1950 to July 27, 1953) is eligible to receive this certificate and peace medal lapel pin (This includes veterans with service in-country and those who were stationed elsewhere in other capacities).

It is also available for veterans who participated in the United Nations Peacekeeping Operations through December 31, 1955. Korean War Veterans may also receive this honor posthumously. The Ambassador for Peace Medal was originally presented as a special memento to those American veterans who returned to Republic of Korea through the “Revisit Program.” The honor was expanded to veterans who have been unable to participate.

The State’s Certificate of Honor is personalized with the Korean War veteran’s name, rank, branch of service, and dates of service printed over the Seal of the State of Georgia and includes the official Korean War logo. These certificates are signed by Governor Brian Kemp and GDVS Commissioner Mike Roby.

Interested in Attending ? Here’s What We Need from You:

Name (as you wish it read): ________________________________

Address: ___________________________________________________

Phone: _____________________________________________________

Branch of Service: _________________________________________

Rank: ______________________________________________________

Dates of Service: __________________________________________

Now, MAIL a copy of this flyer and your “214” to: GA Dept. of Veterans Service (Rome Certificates), 2 MLK Jr. Drive SE, Atlanta, GA 30334 OR EMAIL this flyer and your “214” to GAVetSvc@vs.state.ga.us OR FAX this flyer and your “214” to (404) 656-7006 DEADLINE TO SIGN UP: Thursday, March 26, 2020

For more information about this event call GDVS Public Information at 404-656-5933. You may also contact the Rome GDVS Office at 706-295-6026 or fax 706-802-5520.

Friday, January 17, 2020

Christopher Tolkien, Keeper of His Father’s Legacy, Dies at 95


Christopher Tolkien, the son of the writer J.R.R. Tolkien, who guarded his legacy and brought forth monumental posthumous works, like “The Silmarillion,” based on his father’s writings, died on Wednesday in Provence, France. He was 95.

His death was confirmed by Daniel Klass, his brother-in-law.

For nearly 50 years after his father died in 1973, Mr. Tolkien worked to keep alive the world he had created in “The Hobbit” (1937) and “The Lord of the Rings” (1949) — the spiders of Mirkwood, the Eye of Mordor, the elves of Rivendell and thousands of pages’ worth of other characters, places and plot twists. In all, he edited or oversaw the publication of two dozen editions of his father’s works, many of which became international best sellers.

Mr. Tolkien was his father’s literary executor but played a far more expansive role than that title usually implies. While the elder Tolkien was writing “The Lord of the Rings,” he was also creating a vast world of legends and mythologies that he hoped would accompany the book. But he was a notorious perfectionist and was never able to put this work in publishable form before he died.

His son spent four years organizing and compiling those myths and legends, publishing them in 1977 as “The Silmarillion.”