Sunday, July 15, 2018



REBEKAH by Orson Scott Card

Rebekah, book two in New York Times bestselling author Orson Scott Card's Women of Genesis series—a unique re-imagining of the biblical tale.

Born into a time and place where a woman speaks her mind at her peril, and reared as a motherless child by a doting father, Rebekah grew up to be a stunning, headstrong beauty. She was chosen by God for a special destiny.

Rebekah leaves her father's house to marry Isaac, the studious young son of the Patriarch Abraham, only to find herself caught up in a series of painful rivalries, first between her husband and his brother Ishmael, and later between her sons Jacob and Esau. Her struggles to find her place in the family of Abraham are a true test of her faith, but through it all she finds her own relationship with God and does her best to serve His cause in the lives of those she loves.

“This playfully speculative novel succeeds in bringing Sarah's oft-overlooked character into vivid relief.”—Publishers Weekly

“This is an inventive and engaging telling of the life of Sarah, the woman who laughed at God’s news (that so old a woman would now bear a child)—and who gives as good as she gets throughout both the book of Genesis and Card’s novel.”—Historical Novel Society

"This series is definitely for those interested in women in the Bible, and in such novels as The Red Tent."—Kliatt

“The story moves swiftly, climaxing at several points, such as Abram and Sarai’s stay in Egypt when the pharaoh wants to take Sarai as his wife. It is a quick and interesting read…. This is an intriguing story.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

ORSON SCOTT CARD is best known for his internationally bestselling science fiction novel Ender’s Game and its many sequels. He has also written contemporary thrillers like Empire and historical novels like the monumental Saints and the bible-based historical novels Sarah and Rachel and Leah and Rebekah.

On Sale July 17, 2018 from Forge Books. 9780765399342. $16.99 USD.

Saturday, July 14, 2018

SKULLSWORN by Brian Staveley



SKULLSWORN by Brian Staveley

Brian Staveley’s new standalone, Skullsworn, returns to the critically acclaimed Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne universe, following a priestess attempting to join the ranks of the God of Death.

Pyrre Lakatur is not, to her mind, an assassin, not a murderer—she is a priestess. At least, she will be once she passes her final trial.

The problem isn’t the killing. The problem, rather, is love. To complete her trial, Pyrre has ten days to kill the seven people enumerated in an ancient song, including “the one who made your mind and body sing with love / who will not come again.”

Pyrre isn’t sure she’s ever been in love. And if she fails to find someone who can draw such passion from her, or fails to kill that someone, her order will give her to their god, the God of Death. Pyrre’s not afraid to die, but she hates to fail, and so, as her trial is set to begin, she returns to the city of her birth in the hope of finding love . . . and ending it on the edge of her sword.

“A lyrical, bloodsoaked, impossible quest that's sure to entertain.—Kevin Hearne, New York Times bestselling author

“Staveley has quickly become one of my favorite fantasy authors, and his latest doesn't disappoint. Skullsworn is a brilliant new chapter in a fabulous series."—V. E. Schwab, New York Times bestselling author

“A warm, funny, character-focused novel which is also darkly charming, bloody, and lethal. It was very, very hard to put down, and had an emotional punch to match its high adrenaline moments.”—Sci Fi and Fantasy Reviews

“Pleasantly grim and emotionally complex.”—Kirkus Reviews

BRIAN STAVELEY is the author of the Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne series, starting with The Emperor's Blades. He has taught literature, religion, history, and philosophy, all subjects that influence his writing, and holds an MA in Creative Writing from Boston University. He works as an editor for Antilever Press, and has published poetry and essays, both in print and on-line. He lives in Vermont with his wife and young son, and divides his time between running trails, splitting wood, writing, and baby-wrangling.

On Sale July 17, 2018 from Tor Books. 9780765389886. $17.99 USD.

Friday, July 13, 2018

THE LAST HARVEST by Kim Liggett




THE LAST HARVEST by Kim Liggett

Kim Liggett draws on her childhood during the Satanic Panic for a chilling tale of magic in The Last Harvest, winner of the 2017 Bram Stoker Award.

"I plead the blood."

Those were the last words seventeen-year-old golden boy quarterback Clay Tate heard rattling from his dad's throat when he discovered him dying on the barn floor of the Neely cattle ranch, clutching a crucifix to his chest.

Now, on the first anniversary of the Midland, Oklahoma, slaughter, the whole town's looking at Clay like he might be next to go over the edge. Clay wants to forget the past, but the sons and daughters of the Preservation Society—a group of prominent farmers his dad accused of devil worship—won't leave him alone. Including Ali, his longtime crush, who suddenly wants to reignite their romance after a year of silence, and hated rival Tyler Neely, who's behaving like they're old friends.

Even as Clay tries to reassure himself, creepy glances turn to sinister stares and strange coincidences build to gruesome rituals, but when he can never prove that any of it happened, Clay worries he might be following his dad down the path to insanity...or that something far more terrifying lies in wait around the corner.

“An eerie new take on the classic Satan-worshipping horror story....With vivid and terrifying characters and events, this novel is chilling, emotional, and full of nightmarish surprises.” - TeenReads

"An utterly terrifying tale that's impossible to put down. It will haunt you long after you've turned the last page. Prepare to be transfixed.”—Jasmine Warga, author of My Heart and Other Black Holes

"The writing is vivid and gorgeous, and the atmosphere is eerie and unnerving and tense. I love it."—April Genevieve Tucholke, author of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea on The Last Harvest

“This book had me laughing at the same time goose bumps crawled up my arm. Kim has a talent of balancing humor and horror. Inventive, chilling, immersive, and above all terrifying. I love this book.”—Virginia Boecker, author of The Witch Hunter

At sixteen, KIM LIGGETT left her rural midwestern town for New York City to pursue a career in music. Along with lending her voice to hundreds of studio recordings, she was a backup singer for some of the biggest rock bands in the 80s. She is the author of Blood and Salt, Heart of Ash, and The Last Harvest.

On Sale July 24, 2018 from Tor Teen. 9780765380999. $10.99 USD.

Don’t Miss Kim Liggett’s newest novel, THE UNFORTUNATES, on sale July 10, 2018!

Sunday, July 8, 2018

Lost Gods by Micah Yongo



Lost Gods by Micah Yongo

In this extraordinary fantasy debut, a young assassin finds himself hunted by the brothers and sisters he has trained alongside since birth

Neythan is one of five young warriors trained and raised together by a mysterious brotherhood of assassins known as the ShedaĆ­m. When Neythan is framed for the murder of his closest friend, he pursues his betrayer – and in so doing learns there’s far more to the Brotherhood, and the machinations of the rulers of the warring kingdoms, than he’d ever thought possible. His journey will lead him across the five realms, from the Forest of Silences to the Ash Plains of Calapaar, and reveal the breaches that lie beneath the world, and the hidden truths of his oath.

A July release from Angry Robot Books.

Saturday, July 7, 2018

Space Unicorn Blues by TJ Berry




Space Unicorn Blues by TJ Berry

A misfit crew race across the galaxy to prevent the genocide of magical creatures, in this unique science fiction debut

Humanity joining the intergalactic community has been a disaster for Bala, the magical creatures of the galaxy: they’ve been exploited, enslaved and ground down for parts. Now the Century Summit is approaching, when humans will be judged by godlike aliens.

When Jenny Perata, disabled Maori shuttle captain, is contracted to take a shipment to the summit, she must enlist half-unicorn Gary Cobalt, whose horn powers faster-than-light travel. But he’s just been released from prison, for murdering the wife of Jenny’s co-pilot, Cowboy Jim… When the Reason regime suddenly enact laws making Bala property, Jenny’s ship becomes the last hope for magic.

A July release from Angry Robot.

Monday, July 2, 2018

Walking With Ghosts by Brian James Freeman



WALKING WITH GHOSTS
, Brian James Freeman, PS Publishing, 308 pages, £20, 9781786363237, reviewed by Barry Hunter.

This is a fantastic volume that gathers together the majority of Brian James Freeman’s short stories. If you have never read any of Brian’s stories, getting this volume will make your reading cup overflow with goodness.

After a forward by William Peter Blatty (yes, that Peter Blatty), the book is divided into four parts: Weak and Wounded, More Than Midnight, Dreamlike States and Lost and Lonely. You can be sure that the stories fit the description and will possibly leave you weak, lost, lonely, having strange dreams, and up after midnight because you want to finish this volume.

Favorites are “Mama’s Sleeping” is the kind of story that most cable installers might shy away from. “The Final Lesson” is one that when learned, will stick with you for a while. “Not Without Regrets” might just be a saying you hear, but after reading this story you might look at stormy nights differently. “Ice Cold Dan the Ice Cream Man” is an Afghan veteran with PTSD who keeps a rifle on his truck in case the enemy comes back. “One Way Flight” is one of those stories that you do not want to read before you have to fly. “The Last Beautiful Day” is the one story that hit too close to home and helped bring a good cry that had been long in coming.

This a volume that should definitely find a place on your horror shelf, especially if you prefer that psychologic horror that sneaks up behind you and slaps you in the back of your head. Dan is one of the folk that come into my office every day looking for help and I try to help them resolve the problem before it gets out of hand. Beautiful days are hard to come by, especially after reading this story and knowing exactly the feelings evoked. Brian James Freeman is a force to be reckoned with. He writes extremely well and his stories pack a punch to the gut. And to the heart.

This will be available in August, but you need to pre-order it now so you won’t be disappointed. www.pspublishing.co.uk is the link to use.

Thursday, June 28, 2018

Goodbye Harlan



I was not able to get onto social media until tonight. When I got on Twitter, the first one I read was by Joe Lansdale saying that Harlan Ellison had passed over in his sleep. Harlan was 84 and although he had been sick, I would have expected him to go out giving the Grim Reaper a critique on his style.

It has been said that just about everyone in fandom has a "Harlan story". I have heard a lot of them. Many from Harlan himself. I can think of the letters I received over the course of Baryons life span. All of them marked "not for publication". One of the reasons was that it ruin his reputation as an angry, hard to get along with curmudgeon.

When we finally met in person, he yelled across the DragonCon Auditorium "Hey Susan, It's Barry". I was surprised that Susan had any idea who I was. All of our times together were too short, but at least they happened.

All my memories of Harlan are good ones. I cherish them, I am amazed at some of them, and tonight, I feel them in my heart and it is hurting.

My sympathy to Susan, I share your pain.

Goodbye Harlan, my friend.