Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Launching BURN FOR ME, start of #1 NYT Bestselling Ilona Andrews new HIDDEN LEGACY series w/HarperCollins





Ilona Andrews is the pseudonym for an immensely talented writing duo (Ilona and Gordon Andrews), who live near the Austin/San Antonio markets. Ilona is Russian born, and beautifully paints the pointed, take-charge heroine’s POV; while the husband half of the author pair provides the alpha male perspective. And their partnership works so well on paper.



BURN FOR ME
is so good. It’s the perfect urban fantasy for the market right now – with so many series ending, readers are desperate for the start of something new. This is perfect for fans of Kim Harrison, Jeaniene Frost, JR Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Charlaine Harris. Just to prove that I’m not the only one burning up over this book – early reviews are starting to trickle in, from reviewers and bloggers, and I’ve seldom seen such excitement for a new project:



THE BOOK SWARM
: Action, magic, chemistry and plenty of heat — what else could you ask for? I’m hearing that this is only a trilogy, which makes me terribly sad. I want ten books, minimum. Maybe more.

PARAJUNKEE: Fantastic plot, ridiculously meticulous world building and characters that will burrow inside you and take up residence. Don’t miss out on BURN FOR ME.

ANGIEVILLE: Burn for Me is just a cracking good read. The action, mystery, romance, and humor are all entwined in just such a way as to make the reading of it a nonstop pleasure. My interest never flagged, and I liked Neva and Rogan every bit as much as I hoped I would.

BEWITCHED BOOKWORMS:
Burn For Me was an absolutely fantastic kick off into a new series, which I am sure will be one of my favorite series to follow from here on! It comes with an incredible kick ass heroine, which I love to pieces and who is easily to be admired for her strength and awesomeness…If you love Urban Fantasy with action and romance mingled perfectly together – then this is a Must -Read!

GOT FICTION?:
If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. You know what? It’s my blog. I will give this book all the stars! You hear that people? All. The. Stars. Read this book. Read it and you can thank me later.

WICKED SCRIBES:
Bottom Line: Exceptional story, multi-layered plot, intriguing characters that you really want to see more of, add all that to some nice little perks for veterans and you have a story that is hard to beat with enough similarity to our own world to make you feel at home just a bit (well a small bit minus the magic). 5 Stars, highly recommended which is actually more than I think I gave the first Kate Daniels book.

RT BOOK REVIEWS:
Intriguing, multilayered characters and a fresh, imaginative alternate reality based in Houston help round out the heart-stopping, kick-butt action. Seeing Andrews’ name on a book is an iron-clad guarantee of an outstanding reading adventure!

BOOKLIST:
Readers will burn for the next installment.

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY:
This series start from popular author Andrews serves up a refreshing new magical society, excellent world-building, beguiling characters, and strong storytelling… a lively, impressive series debut.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

SOLARIS PRESS RELEASE

A SOLARIS PRESS RELEASE

For immediate release

WWW.SOLARISBOOKS.COM
Solaris Books™ is a trademark or registered trademark used by or under the licence of the Rebellion Group or its associated companies.

Dangerous Games: An anthology of original short stories

Edited by Jonathan Oliver

UK: 9781781082652 | 4th December 2014 | £7.99
US: 9781781082683 | 4th December 2014 | $7.99
Available in paperback and ebook

In recent years, no one publisher has done as much for the short form of speculative fiction
in Britain as Solaris. – tor.com

In a world ruled by chance, one rash decision could bring down the house, one roll of the dice could bring
untold wealth, or the end of everything.

The players have gathered around the table, each to tell their story—often dark, always compelling. Within
you will find tales of the players and the played, lives governed by games deadly, weird, or downright
bizarre.

In this anthology of the weird and the macabre, multi-award-winning editor Jonathan Oliver brings
together a diverse collection of voices from some of today’s finest writers, to create an original and fresh
collection that’s unlike anything you’ve read before.

Dangerous Games
features new works from Hugo award-winners, brilliant new talents and best-selling
authors, including: Chuck Wendig, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Lavie Tidhar, Benjanun Sriduangkaew, Paul
Kearney, Libby McGugan, Yoon Ha Lee, Gary Northfield, Melanie Tem, Hillary Monahan, Tade Thompson,
Rebecca Levene, Ivo Stourton, Gary McMahon, Robert Shearman, Nik Vincent, Helen Marshall, and Pat
Cadigan.
Roll the bones at your own risk December 2014…
Table of Contents:
Introduction, Jonathan Oliver
Big Man, Chuck Wendig
The Yellow Door, Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Die, Lavie Tidhar
Chrysalises, Benjanun Sriduangkaew
South Mountain, Paul Kearney
The Game Changer, Libby McGugan
Distinguishing Characteristics, Yoon Ha Lee
Captain Zzapp!!! – Space Hero from 3000 AD, Gary Northfield
Death Pool, Melanie Tem
The Bone Man’s Bride, Hillary Monahan
Honourable Mention, Tade Thompson
Loser, Rebecca Levene
Two Sit Down, One Stands Up, Ivo Stourton
Ready or Not, Gary McMahon
The Monogamy of Wild Beasts, Robert Shearman
The Stranger Cards, Nik Vincent
All Things Fall Apart and Are Built Again, Helen Marshall
Lefty Plays Bridge, Pat Cadigan

About the Editor

Jonathan Oliver is the multi-award winning editor of The End of The Line, Magic,
House of Fear, End of the Road and Dangerous Games. He’s also written a couple of
novels and a bunch of short stories. He lives in Abingdon with his family and their
cat.

Monday, October 13, 2014

Ellison In Hospital Following Stroke

This is taken from FILE 770 by Mike Glyer. I take no credit for it.


Ellison In Hospital Following Stroke
Posted on October 12, 2014

Harlan Ellison suffered a stroke on Thursday, October 9 and is hospitalized. Harlan’s right side is paralyzed, his wife Susan told readers of his forum.

Mark Evanier adds he has been told Susan says Harlan’s mind is sharp and the rest of him seems unaffected.

Josh Olson commented on The Harlan Ellison Facebook Fan Club that a specialist visited Harlan on Friday: “She’s checking for slurring and loss of memory, and he’s being quintessential Harlan – talking a mile a minute, and throwing out more obscure references per minute than anyone can possibly keep up with.”

Sunday, October 12, 2014

Ashley Monroe conceert at The Brewhouse in Rome

Ashley Monroe put on a fantastic show in Rome Friday Night at The Brewhouse in Rome, Georgia. Thanks go to Jay Shell for going out of his way to bring top rated talent to Rome.






Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Baryon129

If you have not received your copy of Baryon 129, please drop me an email and I'll get one out to you.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Heads begin to roll at VA Hospitals

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
September 25, 2014

Carl Vinson VA Medical Center Director Proposed for Removal Interim Director Named as Search for Permanent Director Begins


Dublin, Ga. – Yesterday, the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) proposed removal of the Director of the Carl Vinson VA Medical Center (CVVAMC) in Dublin, Georgia, following an investigation by the VA Office of Inspector General, and a follow-up review by the Office of Accountability Review (OAR), in which allegations of data manipulation were substantiated.

The proposed removal of the director underscores VA’s commitment to hold leaders accountable and get Veterans off waiting lists and into the care they deserve. Relying on new statutory authority, the Deputy Secretary took this action in coordination with OAR, which reports directly to the Secretary of Veterans Affairs and assists VA facilities in accelerating leadership accountability actions and ensuring that such actions are applied consistently across the Department.
To ensure continuity of care for Veterans and leadership for VA employees, Dr. Shirley Warren, RN, is designated acting director of the CVVAMC until Monday, September 29, when Thomas Grace, associate director for the Atlanta VA Medical Center, will assume the duties. The CVVAMC is actively recruiting for a new permanent director.