Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Solaris Press Release


For immediate release
Solaris Books™ is a trademark or registered trademark used by or under the licence of the Rebellion Group or its associated companies.

The James Lovegrove
Collection: Volume 1

By James Lovegrove

UK: 9781781082669 | 4th Dec 2014 | £11.99
US: 9781781082676 | 2nd Dec 2014 | $12.99

Available in paperback and ebook

Experience the early works of NYT best-selling author James Lovegrove, brought together for the first time in a new trilogy volume release from Solaris Books.
Solaris Books is delighted to announce the publication of the first in a three part volume release of bestselling author James Lovegrove’s celebrated early works.

Lovegrove’s early writing saw him hailed as an exciting and distinctive new voice in SF, one which drew comparisons to J.G. Ballard and was quickly to be recognised with an early rush of prominent award nominations.

The James Lovegrove Collection launches December 2014 with Volume 1 featuring Days (Arthur C Clarke Award nominated) and Untied Kingdom (John W Clarke Memorial Award nominated):


Days is a gigastore the size of a small city, whose security are licensed to kill and whose seven owners brood in the penthouse, far removed from the desperate scramble of consumerism. But at what price commerce? Security man Frank has lost his reflection, Books are entering a localised war with Computers, and there is a riot in Third World Instruments. Time for another flash sale...

Untied Kingdom

When the village of Downbourne is raided and schoolmaster Fen Morris’s wife Moira is snatched, there are no authorities to turn to. In the absence of its government – in exile in the Caribbean following the ‘Unlucky Gamble’ – and subject to random bombings and leaflet drops, the UK is lawless and falling apart. Their marriage was a disaster, but Fen sets out to recover her anyway; but does she even want rescuing?

Volume 2 and Volume 3 will publish in 2015 and 2016 respectively.

About the Author

James Lovegrove was born on Christmas Eve 1965 and is the author of more than 50 books. His novels include The Hope, Days, Untied Kingdom, Provender Gleed, the New York Times bestselling Pantheon series – so far The Age Of Ra, The Age Of Zeus, The Age Of Odin, Age Of Aztec, Age Of Voodoo and Age Of Shiva, plus a collection of three novellas, Age Of Godpunk – and Redlaw and Redlaw: Red Eye, the first two volumes in a trilogy about a policeman charged with protecting humans from vampires and vice versa. He has produced two Sherlock Holmes novels, The Stuff Of Nightmares and Gods Of War, with more on the way. His latest series is the Dev Harmer Missions, an outer-space action-adventure series, beginning with World Of Fire.

James has sold well over 40 short stories, the majority of them gathered in two collections, Imagined Slights and Diversifications. He has written a four-volume fantasy saga for teenagers, The Clouded World (under the pseudonym Jay Amory), and has produced a dozen short books for readers with reading difficulties, including Wings, Kill Swap, Free Runner, Dead Brigade, and the 5 Lords Of Pain series.

James has been shortlisted for numerous awards, including the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, the Bram Stoker Award, the British Fantasy Society Award and the Manchester Book Award. His short story “Carry The Moon In My Pocket” won the 2011 Seiun Award in Japan for Best Translated Short Story.

James’s work has been translated into twelve languages. His journalism has appeared in periodicals as diverse as Literary Review, Interzone and BBC MindGames, and he is a regular reviewer of fiction for the Financial Times and contributed features and reviews about comic books to the late, lamented Comic Heroes magazine.

He lives with his wife, two sons and cat in Eastbourne, a town famously genteel and favoured by the elderly, but in spite of that he isn’t planning to retire just yet.

No comments:

Post a Comment