Saturday, July 2, 2011

The End of the Line

Underground horror anthology in line for award

“ excellent sampling of the best writers in this field...”
The Times

Solaris’s unique anthology of horror stories set in and around the underground has been nominated for a British Fantasy Society Award.

It has been announced that The End of the Line, released in October last year, has been nominated in the Best Anthology category for the 2011 awards. Nicholas Royle’s short story from the anthology 'The Lure', has also been nominated for an award.

The End of The Line
collects some of the very best in new horror writing in a themed anthology of stories set on, and around, the Underground, the Metro and other places deep below.

This collection of 19 new stories includes thoughtful, disturbing and terrifying subterranean tales by Ramsey Campbell, Christopher Fowler, Mark Morris, Pat Cadigan, Adam Nevill and Michael Marshall Smith, amongst many others.

The title has received widespread critical acclaim: 'Fallen Boys' by Mark Morris was chosen by Ellen Datlow for Best Horror of the Year Volume 3 and by Stephen Jones for Best New Horror 22. Datlow said of the anthology: 'The variety and quality is admirable... One of the best of the year.'

The end of July is the deadline for voting by members of the BFS, as well as attendees of the annual FantasyCon event – where the winners will be announced in September.

Jonathan Oliver, editor-in-chief of Solaris and The End of the Line’s editor, said:
It's a real honour to be short-listed for this award. FantasyCon was the very first convention I attended back when I was 17 and it's been one of my favourite genre gatherings ever since. I'm so proud of this anthology and to get such recognition for all these fantastic writers is very gratifying indeed.”

£7.99 (UK) 978-1-907519-32-1
$7.99 (US) $9.99 (CAN) 978-1-907519-33-8

No comments:

Post a Comment