Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Fear of Flying?

24th May 2011

No fear of flying? You have now...

Author turns his own fear of the skies into terrifying horror novel
Being afraid of getting on an aeroplane can cripple some people, but an author has decided to confront his own fear of flying head-on by turning it into a chilling horror novel.

Award-winning writer Conrad Williams, who even tried to overcome his dread of flight by taking flying lessons, has channelled his fear in his latest chilling novel, Loss of Separation.

Winner of the International Horror Guild Award and three-times winner of the British Fantasy Society Award, Williams is a master of powerful and emotionally-charged modern horror in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Clive Barker.
In Loss of Separation, commercial pilot Paul Roan is in command of a Boeing 777 when it is involved in a near miss. Nerves shot, he resigns and chooses to re-launch his life running a small hotel in a coastal village with his girlfriend, Tamara.

Hit by a speeding car, Roan emerges six months later from a coma to discover the villagers, astonished by his cheating of death, now see him as a talisman and bring him secrets too awful to deal with themselves. He also suffers from terrible dreams of a crippled black airliner and its terrible cargo, which he knows, somehow, is coming for him.

Conrad said: “I get that flying is, statistically, the safest form of transport, but it's such a dramatic, dangerous form of getting from A to B that I can't relax, no matter how wide the flight attendant's smile. Mechanical things break down from time to time but when you're four miles up in the air and the engine blows, there's no hard shoulder to rely on...

“I wrote Loss of Separation partly as a way to get all that shut-in fear and panic out of me, and to play on a fear that many of us have, but also because I wanted to send Paul, my main character, on a journey from that claustrophobic environment into the wide open spaces of the Suffolk coastline: there's terror in both extremes and I wanted to drag him right through it.

“The title of the novel is relevant on at least three levels of interaction within the book. It's a technical term, of course, for a 'near miss', but it's also hardwired into Paul's change in physicality, and, critically, it's got something to do with what happens at the end of the story.”


£7.99 (UK) - ISBN 978-1-906735-55-5
$9.99/$12.99 (US & CAN) - ISBN 978-1906735-56-2

No comments:

Post a Comment