Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Press Release from Solaris Books

Cloneworld by Andy Remic, 3rd March 2011 • £7.99 (UK), ISBN 978-1-906735-57-9, 22nd February 2011 • $7.99/$9.99 (US & CAN), ISBN 978-1-906735-58-6

Also Available as an eBook

The fourth novel in the rock-hard Combat K series!

Junks, an evil alien scourge, are flooding Quad-Gal with terror. Combat K are sent on a mission to find an alien artifact which could win the war all at once.

SLAM-dropped to Cloneworld – a planet ravaged by violent civil war – Combat K get caught in a global conflict between augmented mechanized war machines and genetically-modified humans who have the ability to clone themselves. Combat K must fight their way to victory to save the Four Galaxies.

But how can they possibly succeed, when their main foes are their own elite, deadly clones?

The hardest man in science fiction has done it again! Pippa and Franco, the last surviving members of the gun-toting, sword-swinging, no-holds-barred Combat K squad, are sent down to the war-torn, TV-obsessed planet of Cloneworld, in search of an artifact that may bring peace to the Four Galaxies. They will find pain. They will find betrayal. They will find a seemingly endless supply of CubeSausage, PreCheese and horseradish. But will they find the truth?

“Loud, brash and so in-your-face that it’s actually gone right through and is stood behind you, giving you a good kicking when you least expect it.”
– Graeme’s Fantasy Book Review on Biohell

About the Series

Described by the Guardian as “hard-hitting, galaxy-spanning, no-holds-barred, old-fashioned action adventure,” the Combat K novels follow the adventures of three of the toughest, coldest, hardest human beings in the Four Galaxies: Keenan, hard-bitten and cynical mercenary; Pippa, tortured and merciless killer; and Franco, who seems to be able to lose his trousers and locate a pint of Guinness on even the wildest and most dangerous of worlds. Together they make up the elite Combat K squadron, whose usefulness to the Quad-Gal Military machine is matched only by their expendability. They may be the Four Galaxies’ only hope for the future.

Cloneworld is the fourth Combat K book. A fifth book, Theme Planet, is due to explore the Anarchy, a new thread in the same universe, in 2011.

About the Author

When kicked to describe himself, Remic claims to have a love of extreme sports, kickass bikes and happy nurses. Once a member of an elite Combat K squad, he has retired from military service and claims to be a cross between an alcoholic Indiana Jones and a bubbly Lara Croft, only without the breasts. Remic lives in Lincolnshire and likes to think lewdly about zombies.


Loss of Separation by Conrad Williams, 3rd March 2011 • £7.99 (UK)
ISBN 978-1-906735-55-5, 26th April 2011 • $7.99/$9.99 (US & CAN) ISBN 978-1-906735-56-2

A new book from the three-time winner of the British Fantasy Society Award!

Commercial pilot Paul Roan is in command of a Boeing 777 when it is involved in a near miss. Nerves shot, he resigns and re-launches his life running a small hotel in a coastal village with his girlfriend, Tamara.

On the day they move to their new home, Paul is hit by a speeding car. Emerging six months later from a coma, he discovers that Tamara has left him, and the villagers, astonished by his cheating of death, now see him as a talisman. They bring him secrets too awful to deal with themselves. He burns the things they bring him, wishing he could rid himself of his own darkness. He is suffering from terrible dreams of a crippled black airliner screaming through the night, its pitted engines streaked with carbon and blood. He knows that, somehow, this jet – and it’s terrible cargo – is coming for him.

Conrad Williams, winner of the 2007 International Horror Guild Award for Best Novel and three-time winner of the British Fantasy Society Award, returns with another haunting, darkly atmospheric work.

“Conrad Williams writes dark and powerful prose balancing the poetic and elegant with needle-sharp incision.”
– Keith Brooke, The Guardian

About the Author

Conrad Williams was born in Cheshire in 1969. He is the author of three novels, four novellas and a collection of his best short fiction. His most recent book, One, won the British Fantasy Society Award for Best Novel; previous books have earned him the International Horror Guild Award and the Littlewood Arc Prize.

No comments:

Post a Comment