Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Solaris scores a win at The Shirley Jackson Awards

Solaris scores a win at The Shirley Jackson Awards
Monday 12th July 2010

Oxford, UK: Solaris Books are happy to confirm that Poe: 19 New Tales Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe, edited by Ellen Datlow, won the coveted Shirley Jackson Award for ‘Edited Anthology 2009’ announced at Readercon 20 last night.
The Shirley Jackson Awards are given in recognition of the best imaginative fiction work published in the preceding year. They are named after Shirley Jackson, author of The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous American short stories ‘The Lottery.’ Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.
Poe: 19 New Tales Inspired by Edgar Allen Poe coincided with the 200th anniversary of the birth of Edgar Allan Poe. This anthology celebrates the depth and diversity of one of the most important figures in literature. Compiled by multi-award winning editor, Ellen Datlow, it presents some of the foremost talents of the genre, who have come together to re-imagine tales inspired by Poe.

Sharyn McCrumb, Lucius Shepard, Pat Cadigan, M. Rickert, Gregory Frost, Kim Newman and more, have leant their craft to this anthology, retelling such classics as ‘The Fall of the House of Usher’, ‘The Tell-Tale Heart’ and ‘The Masque of the Red Death.’

"Frost demonstrates his mastery of the short story form..."
- Publishers Weekly on Gregory Frost

"Newman's prose is a delight."
- Time Out on Kim Newman

"McCrumb provides fresh evidence that there is no one quite like her among present day writers."
- San Diego Tribune on Sharyn McCrumb
Poe: 19 New Tales Inspired by Edgar Allen Poe –Edited by Ellen Datlow
978-1-84416-652 £7.99 R.R.P (UK)
978-1844165-957 $15.00 (US) / $17.50 (CAN) R.R.P